We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Continental Hotel Budapest

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (2479)
Room & Suite (991)
Dining (247)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#71 of 359 hotels in Budapest
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian

Location

Dohány utca 42-44, Budapest 1074 Hungary
Name/address in local language
Continental Hotel Budapest
5,687Reviews186Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,135
  • 1,950
  • 436
  • 100
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ella francis-webb wrote a review Apr 13
Winchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
My partner and I stayed for 4 nights and the hotel and staff were lovely! The reception interior is amazing and upon arrival we were upgraded from a normal room to a junior suite, free of charge, which was very generous! The room was great with only a few fixtures and fittings requiring some attention, and the balcony was a lovely addition. The breakfast was really nice and the bar staff were very kind and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Walkable distance from landmarks / city centre. 100E bus from airport drops you about 10 minutes...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 3 days ago
Dear ella francis-webb, Thank you for your visit in our Continental Hotel Budapest. It is very nice of you to review us and recommend our beloved hotel to TripAdvisor readers. I am thrilled to read your lovely feedback, as it highlights the key aspects that travelers often look for in a hotel: convenience, hospitality, and quality services. Complimentary upgrade is surely a nice perk, however it is always a subject to availability. I am glad that we were able to surprise you and that you found the cozy balcony noteworthy. It is great that you enjoyed rich breakfast and that you were very content with the bar staff. We will look on those small room details to be fixed, thank you for your support and it is fantastic to know that you would choose to stay here again in the future! We cannot wait to be your great host again! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fabian B wrote a review Apr 8
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good service and very polite and caring staff. Clean room and nice spa. Unfortunately, the outdoor pool was out of order at the time we stayed and we had to wait until 3 p. m. to get into the room (arrived at about 8 a. m.) but we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fabian B, Greetings from Budapest! It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay overall and found Continental Hotel to be overall a good choice for your time in the city. Many thanks for sharing the positive aspects of your visit. Both your comfortable room and the cozy wellness must have been a great way to unwind after exploring the city despite the fact that outdoor pool is not opened yet. We very much look forward to the warmer summer weather to be able to open the pool on the roof terrace too. Guaranteed check-in time is really 3 p.m., however our continuous effort is to let our guests to their pre-assigned hotel rooms at the earliest possible time. I am very sorry that in your case we were not able to provide you an early check-in, however it is great that you appreciated luggage storage service. Let me kindly suggest you for the future to indicate your early arrival or even request a guaranteed early check-in at an additional cost for your greater convenience. Thank you for definitely recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in Budapest! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simon A wrote a review Apr 8
Glasgow, United Kingdom49 contributions30 helpful votes
A stunning facade and foyer and adequate rooms, reasonable but not cheap, a huge breakfast choice of good quality food well presented. The hotel is located in one of the most interesting and up and coming (but completely safe) area of Budapest. The staff all have outstanding English language skills, as do most people in Budapest. All staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Well recommended as a base to explore Budapest.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Simon A, Greetings from Budapest and grateful thanks for your time you took to share your recommendation. Your nice feedback about the Continental Hotel being a great choice for a city break is valuable both for us and for fellow guests. Many thanks for your kind support. I was proud to read that you admired the stunning facade and lobby, along with the excellent breakfast with high-quality food presentation. The hotel's location in the heart of the Jewish Quarter makes it an ideal base for exploring the city's famous tourist attractions. It is full of hustle and bustle and nightlife, yet our property is quiet and safe enough to well rest during your discovery. Last but not least, it feels amazing that the staff's exceptional performance and professionalism contributed making you feel welcome and well cared for during your time there. Your feedback can inspire and motivate the staff to continue providing outstanding service to our guests. Thank you for highly recommending our beautiful historical hotel to the traveler’s world. On behalf of the whole hotel team we cannot wait to be at your service again soon. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
leenicolai wrote a review Apr 7
Zeist, The Netherlands2 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was good about this hotel. Beautiful interior. Great room, restaurant and bar. Staff very helpful and knowledgable. Situated in the Jewish quarter a very good place to start exploring Budapest. We really recommend this hotel. Worth 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear leenicolai, Greetings from the Continental Hotel Budapest and grateful thanks for your time you took to share your superb feedback! We are proud of our conveniently situated property which makes exploring much easier and more enjoyable for guests. Famous attractions, cultural hotspots, or fantastic restaurants, cozy ruin pubs are in walking distance. From the beautiful interior to the great room, restaurant, and bar, I am pleased that every aspect of your stay have maximally met your expectations. The staff being helpful and knowledgeable must have added to the overall enjoyment of your time there. Thank you for recommending our beautiful place and considering it worthy of 5 stars! We sincerely hope that you will return to us if your plans take you back to Budapest, will be waiting for you! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Monica V wrote a review Apr 5
Kent, United Kingdom16 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
The building and rooms a clean and modern. We paid for breakfast and worth adding to your stay as the variety was good. The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to most attractions but have the options of trams, buses or metro in every direction and all reasonable priced. From the airport you can catch a bus then it’s a 7 min walk to hotel. Unfortunately didn’t have the time to try the spa facilities. The staff are friendly and there is no noise from the street or within the hotel. Just be aware they charge you a city tax when you check out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Monica V, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Continental Hotel Budapest! It is great to hear that you found the building and rooms to be clean and modern, and that you enjoyed the variety offered at breakfast. The convenient location within walking distance of most attractions, as well as the accessibility of public transportation options, sounds ideal for exploring Budapest. It is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to try the wellness, but it is good to know that the staff were friendly and that you had an impeccable rest in your quiet hotel room. Next time please do not miss to enjoy the cozy ambience of the rooftop relaxation area. The local city tax is a cost to be paid at all hotels and its percentage (4% of the room rate) is determined by the Hungarian state. Naturally this information is included in the booking confirmation to avoid any miunderstandings. Anyhow thank you for mentioning this important detail for future guests to be aware of. Overall, it sounds like you had a pleasant experience with us, and I am sure your insights will be helpful to others considering a stay in Budapest. Hope to welcome you back once in the near future! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ceri S wrote a review Mar 2024
Huddersfield, United Kingdom276 contributions175 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel, perfect location to bars, restaurants and the metro, walking distance to a lot of main attractions. Great breakfasts and really friendly staff. They can’t do enough for you. I was so impressed. Thankyou for a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The rooms are very warm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ceri S, Thanks a lot for your visit and for this heartfelt recommendation shared! I am thrilled that you had an absolutely fantastic experience at our Continental Hotel Budapest! It is a delight that the location, amenities, and staff all exceeded your expectations. It is always wonderful to learn if our beloved place contributes positively to the overall great Budapest break. Thank you for your support, and we would be pleased to welcome you back in the future! Safe travels, and we hope you have many more lovely experiences in Budapest and beyond. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kelly M wrote a review Mar 2024
Cork, Ireland14 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights when in Budapest. Great location 10/10 for location so close to shops bars and restaurants and links to the metro station. Szimpla Kert was right down the street. Easy to get to Christmas markets The room was small but perfect. Spotless and had everything we needed. Hotel was nice and warm for the time of year, it was so cold out. Breakfast was great, eggs cooked to order. Cocktails in the bar were great and good value!! Staff all very friendly. Umbrellas available at reception to take out just have to leave a deposit. We had a great time in Budapest. We will recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kelly M, How kind of you to take your valuable time to share this amazing review with us and fellow travelers! I am incredibly glad you had an impeccable Continental Hotel break in the Christmas period. It makes me very proud to learn that we maximally met your expectations with the great location, beautiful and warm milieu, perfect rooms, caring hospitality and the lovely bonuses. It is delightful that the proximity to shops, bars, restaurants, as well as to popular attractions, made it easy for you to enjoy everything Budapest has to offer. Last but not least, many thanks for highlighting great cocktails and the egg station at breakfast. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with plenty of amenities to enjoy. Thank you for recommending Continental Hotel, and we would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future! Safe travels, and we hope you have many more great experiences in Budapest and beyond. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yvonne wrote a review Mar 2024
Wouw, The Netherlands18 contributions12 helpful votes
A very nice hotel in the Pest area. The rooms are pleasant and spacious (the air conditioning a bit loud), the restaurant and catering services excellent. Worthy of a warm compliment is concierge Máti (phonetically), who knows the best restaurants in town and is very helpful. Also, try the lightly salted, delicious chocolate mouse in the restaurant. I will swear confidently that I never ate any better, anywhere. All in all, I’d be happy to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Yvonne, Greetings from Budapest! Thanks a lot for staying with us and for sharing your sincere experiences. It fills me with happiness that you had a pleasant stay at our Continental Hotel. The spacious and cozy rooms, along with excellent restaurant and catering services, surely contributed to a comfortable and enjoyable visit. I am proud to read about the helpfulness of our lovely Concierge, who provided valuable recommendations for restaurants. The exemplary attitude of our Colleague and personalized service like this can greatly enhance your stay. Last but not least, the kind recommendation of the delicious chocolate mousse is much appreciated! It is really a delightful treat. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Budapest! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
claire n wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
The room was lovely and modern, the bar on Friday night had a live pianist which was a lovely touch. I enjoyed my cocktail and great service from Mark. Reception Staff were helpful. The location is near the shops and bars. I would definitely return back .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear claire n, Thank you for sharing your positive experience about your holiday spent in our Continental Hotel Budapest! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the room lovely and modern. The live piano performnace is really a delightful addition to the experience, and I am glad to know that you enjoyed your cocktail and received exceptional service from Mark. I am proud that our efforts and that thoughtful touches are recognized. It is fantastic to hear that you would definitely return, which speaks volumes about your overall satisfaction. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and some photos. I am sure your review will be helpful for other travelers considering a stay at this hotel. Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare P wrote a review Mar 2024
18 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Clean and comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. Beautiful cocktails with nightly happy hour. Staff helpful and knowledgable. Location great for us. Slightly worried when arrived as no air con, but once opened window temperature was manageable. Roof top pool not yet open but indoor pool was lovely after a busy day sight seeing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you arrive on foot the hotel is easy to miss as there isn’t a Sign! Look for The doors
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Clare P, Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your stay at Continental Hotel Budapest! It is great to hear that the location was superb for your needs and your compliments on our helpful staff, as well as the cleanliness of the entire hotel, are appreciated. It feels fantastic that you found the breakfast to be excellent and had the chance to enjoy the happy hour offer. We have not yet started to cool the rooms, this period can easily be managed by frequent window openings, thank you for your understanding attitude. We very much look forward to the warmer summer weather to be able to open the outdoor pool on the roof terrace. Hope that next time you will have the chance to enjoy its benefits, however it sounds wonderful that you loved the indoor wellness facilities during your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel and its great team. Hope to welcome you back! Safe travels, and may your next visit be just as enjoyable as the first! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Budapest area.
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestDistrict VII / Jewish Quarter / Erzsébetváros
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CONTINENTAL HOTEL BUDAPEST $155 ($̶2̶1̶8̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Hungary

Frequently Asked Questions about Continental Hotel Budapest
What are some of the property amenities at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Continental Hotel Budapest have airport transportation?
Yes, Continental Hotel Budapest offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Continental Hotel Budapest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Continental Hotel Budapest?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Hungarian.
Is Continental Hotel Budapest accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.