We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Chesscom

Show Prices
#98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Chesscom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Chesscom
 Click to rate
Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I can definitely recommend for staying. The hotel is located close to the metro station and shopping centre (the same building; approx. 3 min walk). The standard it very good - absolutely friendly stuff (even smiling when we arrived 0.30am), they are extremely helpful (answered to all "tourists" questions :) ). The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast were OK...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmarteczka
hotelchesscom, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear Pmarteczka, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and leave us your feedback about your stay with us at Hotel Chesscom. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities and the staff was nothing but helpful during your visit. I will be forwarding your comment to the front desk team....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here, we found it very comfortable. The service was good and the morning buffet was lovely. Great for the price, it located right across the metro station, bus station, shopping centre and tescos. Only one bus journey away from the airport. Ideal! Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiaWanderlust
hotelchesscom, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear MissDilini, Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Chesscom. I am extremely happy that we met your needs and requirements. It is our pleasure to welcome all of our guests into the hotel and all team members in every department work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy a comfortable...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed February 14, 2017

A great place at the nearest to airport metro station, 5 minutes walk to the metro, after that you can reach the city centre in 20-25 minutes. We had an early flight so it was very convenient to get to the airport at the morning by bus. Apart from that, a hotel is a good place to stay, it's clean,...

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank unforgotten_dream
hotelchesscom, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear "Unforgotten_dream", dear our valued guest, Thank you very, very much for your wonderful review and specially for your extremely kind words for our housekeeping and front office team members. I am delighted to know that you found the hotel's location convenient. Once again I thank you for your recommendations and we sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon....

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed January 31, 2017

The hotel is great and comfortable and close to the airport (you take bus 200E to the last stop - 20 min, and you're there). We arrived late and took us a while to find the hotel, because there are no street names, and we didn't have internet to check the map, and there was no one in the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sifath s
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear Sifath S, Thank you for trusting your stay with the Hotel Chesscom, Budapest. I truly appreciate you taking your time to write us a feedback. I am thrilled to read that the check-in procedure was fast and you found our fronk desk officer great. Indeed, we thrive to not only meet expectations but surpass it in every way possible....

Reviewed January 30, 2017

It is our second (and not last) time at the hotel! Family of 2 adults, 2 children & a baby. The location is great (for us)- 20 min. by 200E bus (15 min. by taxi) from the airport, 20 min. my M3 from city center, a 2 min. walk from a huge mall! The room (we asked the same room...

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank reuti77
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear “Reuti77”, dear our valued guest, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your recent city break in Budapest and for your precious time taken to share your experiences in the Hotel Chesscom with the travelers’ community. It is great to see that you were pleased with the service you received from my colleagues from all of...

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a superb location about 20 mins by metro outside the city centre. It is situated beside a large modern shopping centre and the kobanya kispest transport terminal where you may access several rail, metro and bus routes. The 200E bus terminates here from the airport which is approx 20 mins away. The hotel is clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 117kon
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear "117kon", dear our valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with other travellers. I am delighted that you find our staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I can assure you that all of the team members will be made aware of your comments as they...

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Nice clean hotel, convenient distance to bus 200E to the airport. We were happy with our room at the 4th floor. The staff is very helpfull. Beakfast is quite OK , some fruits, yogurt, and fresh salad suitable for our diet. Recommended for transit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 775CRISTINA
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear 775CRISTINA, First of all I would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We are really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. Thank you so much for highlighting our lovely breakfast and our helpfull staff. We would be very happy to host you again in the near future! Sincerely,...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed December 25, 2016

What can anyone say about such a place...Lets start with the positives The hotel has an amazing location. No words for it. The Mall, restaurants, and the metro station are all within minutes not to mention that the airport is also extremely close by. And thats very good when you want to discover a city. Additionaly, the price is definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Στέργιος Σ
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear Stergios S., Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Chesscom Hotel Budapest. I am pleased to read you found our hotel great value for money and you liked the hotel’s location. On the other hand, I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay, particularly your dismay towards the personal. However,...

Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a cozy room at 2nd floor. The room and the bathroom weren't very large but were decent and very clean. The room had a big screen tv, a fridge and the clima system did the job well. At breakfast not a huge selection, but good enough. A big plus for the private parking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrei B
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear "Andrei B”, dear our valued guest, We were happy to read your kind feedback of your recent stay with us in the Hotel Chesscom. Thank you for your nice remarks about our comfort and cleanliness and for complimenting our staff. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate for your feedbacks...

Rychnov nad Kneznou, Czech Republic
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from our 3-day stay at Hotel Chesscom. The price was really low, so we didn't expect much. But we were really pleasantly surprised! Everything was perfect, our room on 5th floor was clean and spacious (also the bathroom was big). There was also a fridge and TV. The biggest advantage was free private parking - very convinient. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristýna D
hotelchesscom, Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review

Dear „Kristýna D”, dear our valued guest, Thank you for your excellent review, it is highly appreciated. We are happy to read that you had a memorable stay with us in the Hotel Chesscom. Thank you very much for your nice feedback regarding the room, I am glad that the quality of services and the helpful attitude of our colleagues...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

544 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (411)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Twin Standard Room (59)
Viewed
Quad Standard Room (66)
Viewed
Quad Standard Room with Terrace (66)
Viewed
Renovated Double Twin Standard Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)
Viewed
Triple Standard Room (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#109 of 342 in Budapest
176 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#114 of 342 in Budapest
645 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 342 in Budapest
552 reviews
Villa Korall
#137 of 342 in Budapest
123 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#107 of 342 in Budapest
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $25 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#93 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Chesscom staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Chesscom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms on top floor are cozy”
 of 5 bubbles 775CRISTINA, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend picking room with separate bathroom. Not much more expensive and always safer and more comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 912mateuszr, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“room with the own bathroom and which includes breakfast is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles toshmukhammads, Jan 1, 2016 | Read review
“There is a busy road at the front ask for a room at the back.Much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles YORKSCLARET09, Jun 8, 2015 | Read review
“Our room faces a street but we hear no traffic noises at all.”
 of 5 bubbles sleepycat69, May 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question