We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Groove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Groove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

The hostel is set in a beautiful location, central enough to access the city but with enough security and peace to get a great nights sleep. The staff there were extremely helpful and relaxed. The hostel had a really homely vibe, each bunk bed also featured curtains which is a great touch. The rooms also had sofas and hammocks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank blondelady2016
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

This place for me felt like a fifth storey apartment. It was very homely. There are only two or three rooms for guests to stay in. My room had a hammock, sofa, and balcony with an exquisite view of the city. There is a kitchen and fridge for everyone's use, a tour desk promoting lots of parties and activities and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

Such a cosy place, a beautiful apartment with a great location turned into a hostel. Great hangout areas and a fully equipped kitchen. The staff was a bit unclear and did not really provade great service at times but other then that we had a great time at this hostel and met great people.

Helpful?
Thank krissi3
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The hostel was in a pretty cool building and had some hip/cool aspects to it but overall we were not happy with our stay all together. When we arrived (quite late) the woman working there gave us the option to pay in euros or in Hungarian currency but once we said we'll pay in euros she had pulled a face... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, First of all thank you for your review. I would like to point out some things that may clarify your situation. That woman (girl) is one of our most beloved and experienced receptionists who has nothing but positive feedback from guests ever since she works here, so it's hard to imagine she was rude to you. You only... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

On an upper floor through a pass worded door, this meant we felt safe in otherwise pretty scary area! I'd recommend this to anyone travelling around Budapest, it was in a great location, friendly staff and a lovely room. The downside was the shared bathrooms weren't great, hence the 3/5 star review. It was often difficult to get in to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riley1993
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Riley, Thanks for your review, please let me note some things. First of all I don't know why do you think that our area is unsafe, Budapest is among the top safest capitals in Europe and the area where our hostel is situated is even one of the best ones in Budapest..I don't know if you had a bad... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Stayed in a group of 7 - was great! Hostel in a good location, staff very friendly and had a really nice community feel. Facilities were fine, would definitely recommend. We bought our tickets for the baths from the hostel too.

Helpful?
Thank gga14jsd
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

Went here with a group of 8 friends (not a bachelor party) and booked it specifically so we had the dorm to ourselves. Dorm was colorful, high ceilings, clean, spacious. Beware that there are 2 dorms, one is "exclusive", the other serves as hallway to the balcony and another dorm (basically making it a 14 bed dorm). The staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank RVDL91
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

I can definitely recommend this hostel ! Not big, cozy, so you really feel like at home. There is a common kitchen you can use to cook for yourself, they provide you with the towel, sheets and the lockable box for your stuff. The location is perfect, near to the subway and to the Parliament, so it won`t take you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dasha K
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the daylight, we made our way up two flights of pitch black stairs to reception. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachelMT86
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, First of all thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry if you were disappointed. We will discuss this cleanliness issue with the staff, normally everything should be clean, I'm sorry that you didn't mention it when you were there, we would have cleaned your whole room again. Also about the water pressure you are right, we've tried... More 

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

If you decide to stay at this hostel, you need to be aware of the noisy surroundings. People and the staff can make noise, so if you want a good night of sleep, you need to be aware of this. The rooms are big, there is a high space to the ceiling, but the toilets are small, there is three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali h
lilaj84, Manager at The Groove, responded to this review

Dear Ali, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied however I must correct that we have 3 showers and toilets and usually we don't get any complaints about their size, they are actually quite big compare to the standard ones. I'm also apologizing for the noise but I've asked others and nobody complained those... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Home Plus Hostel
Home Plus Hostel
#84 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
District V / Inner City
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Hipster Hostel
#109 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Carpe Noctem Vitae
#3 of 639 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Carpe Noctem Hostel
#2 of 639 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#20 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you want to feel home away from home The Groove is your place. Small, independent hostel (32 beds total, 4 dorm rooms and 3 privates) with everything you need: orthopedic matrasses, fully equipped kitchen, lounge area to meet people and plenty of social activities (bicycle trips - bicycle rent on site, cooking, pub crawl etc) and the friendliest, local, multi-lingual staff who eager to help you with good tips about Budapest and everything you need for a nice stay in this beautiful city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Groove

Address: Szent Istvan koerut 16/II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $12 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Groove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay