We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Deak Ferenc Utca 25, Balatonfured 8230 Hungary
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$127
View deal
Official Site$127
Expedia.com$127
Hotels.com$127
Travelocity$126
Priceline$127
Trip.com$142
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Pool & Beach (28)
Room & Suite (27)

About

#8 of 22 in Balatonfured
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.6
Value
3.5
If it’s a pleasant getaway in Balatonfüred you’re after, you couldn’t do better than Hotel Annabella, whose building is a landmark as cherished as the town’s marina or promenade! Our centrally located hotel – which opens seasonally at the end of the Tagore promenade – has its own private beach reserved exclusively for our guests, enabling you to relax undisturbed on the shore of Lake Balaton. No more worrying about finding an unoccupied sun lounger or losing your shady spot while you pop off for a cocktail! There are swimming pools, outdoor fitness machines and a variety of other opportunities to enjoy some sport and recreation. Furthermore, guests who arrive with children can soak up the sun at their leisure while the trained entertainers of the Danubius Bubbles Club keep the little ones occupied.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
German
235Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 43
  • 76
  • 67
  • 31
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
VladoV_SK wrote a review Apr 2022
Zvolen, Slovakia74 contributions40 helpful votes
The hotel in "retro" style, equipment and furnishings of rooms and bathrooms is really from the 80s. The hotel would be modernized. The soundproofing of the rooms is insufficient, you can hear everything from the surrounding rooms. However, the bed is very comfortable. The staff try to keep the hotel clean, which they do. The advantage is individual air conditioning, which, however, should be cleaned more often. The dining room is large but the food is very tasty, there is plenty of it and the advantage is free drinks. The beach is in the immediate vicinity, just cross the promenade and is very well maintained and nice with everything the beach needs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about your recent stay at Annabella Hotel. It is amazing to read from your feedback that you found the bed amazing and comfy. Also thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel. We are extremely happy that we could meet all your expectations regarding the stay and the food offer. We hope you will choose us again. Kind regards, Hotel Management
Read more
Ildikó Gizella M wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Good rest, good food, nice environment,wonderful Lake Balaton,appropriate price / value ratio,nice support staff,parking by car is difficult for many guests, The hotel is located next to the magnificent Tagore Promenade.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about your stay in our hotel! We would like to thank you as well for choosing our hotel as your accommodation, and for highlighting the extraordinary location. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, it would be amazing if we could host you again one day. Warm regards, Hotel Management
Read more
noname600 wrote a review Aug 2021
Budapest, Hungary100 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel building is not the newest but generally clean. Staff is kind and really attentive. The private beach is close but not suitable for kids below 4-6 yrs. (There is a great beach nearby). Half board eating was on a good level.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Guest, It is great that you took a few minutes to write a review about Hotel Annabella. It is amazing that you were amazed by our hotel. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about it and highlighting the wonderful staff, the beach area, the location and lots of other amazing aspects. We hope you will return in the future and you will be waited with warm welcome here all the time in the future. Best regards, Hotel Management
Read more
Ernie T wrote a review Aug 2021
Hackettstown, New Jersey5 contributions6 helpful votes
I was afraid of booking here after reading some negative reviews here. There were 8 people in our party and we reserved 3 “superior” rooms. Yes the hotel has a “dated” look and the rooms were a bit on the small side, but it didn’t affect our stay at all. Remember, you don’t go to Balatonfured to stay in a hotel room all day. The staff were friendly, professional and if there was any problems, they tended to them immediately. We requested a daily room cleaning (at no extra cost) and our room was immaculate and we had fresh towels every day. The meals are buffet style. We had breakfast and dinner each day. The food was good and everyone found something every time we sat down to eat. And despite some reviews, they never stopped bringing trays of food out. The beach area was smaller than the pay strand next door, but it was still large enough to accommodate everyone that preferred the lake (as we did) to the hotel pool. There was a good atmosphere with live music in the lobby in the evenings. We just wished the bar would’ve stayed open a bit later. Overall our stay was quite pleasant. The other guests were friendly and courteous. We will defiantly stay here again the next time we visit Balatonfured. viszontlátásra!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms. Don’t move your car when you park.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Guest, Let us say thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review about Hotel Annabella. We are happy to hear that you liked our nice hotel and the wonderful location as well as the food options. It is just lovely to know that you had a pleasant stay and you found the other guests friendly. We would like you to know that you will be waited with warm welcome here all the time in the future and we hope you will return. Best regards, Hotel Management
Read more
Laszlo A wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Despite decent private beach and pool area, hotel is very old and needs serious renovation. Fighting for a parking spot is horror, waiting for elevators takes forever. Rooms are small, carpet is old, furniture is garbage, everything is truly reminiscent of the 1970s era.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Kedves Laszlo A, Let us first express our heartfelt gratitude to you for choosing our hotel recently. Your feedback is highly appreciated, as it helps us to raise our standards even higher in the future. However, we are saddened to read that this time you were not completely pleased with every aspect of your stay. Nevertheless, we heartily hope you were enriched by many magnificent memories during your stay that you remember pleasantly. It would be an honor to host you someday again, you are waited with warm welcome all the time! Warm regards, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
balkanghost wrote a review Sep 2020
Budapest, Hungary70 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
Met expectations classic old socialist hotel design located next to park on Lake Balaton centrally, and everything worked e.g. tv, wifi, pool, bar in lobby, food and location; not too busy after school holidays ended, early September (for those with families, plenty of activities etc. in house and outside). Room was fine in all aspects, think having a Danubius Hotels card helped in getting a front room on 2nd floor. Food selection for both breakfast and dinner was quite good and would also satisfy vegetarians plenty of choices. Bar with snacks too in the lobby, access to strand or Balaton water's edge 50m away and both outside/inside pools good from early a.m.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Join/access Danubius Hotel rewards card if living in or visiting Hungary often.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Danubius Hotels, Agency / Consultant at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Dear Guest, Allow us to say thank you for writing down your honest thoughts and impressions about our Annabella Hotel, it means us a lot. We would like to thank you very much for your appreciative words concerning the comfortable room you stayed in. Moreover, it made us glad that you also complimented the rich buffet breakfast we offer to our visitors, our chefs would be surely really happy to read your kind and appreciative words. We hope you will choose us again. Kind regards, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
Clare K wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I were invited to a wedding in Balatonfüred solooked for a hotel for 2 nights. Admittedly it was high season so one would expect slightly higher prices, but we came across what we thought was a reasonable deal. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is within seconds of a range of bars and restaurants and, most importantly, the lake. The facilities are relatively good and include a restaurant, swimming pool and access to a private ‘beach’, exclusively for use by the hotel guests. The hotel is 3* but be aware that the rooms are extremely basic and do not have what many global travellers would consider to be standard amenities. The bathrooms are poorly designed with handheld shower attachments and nothing short of a Grand Canyon-like leap to get out of the bath. The most offensive aspect of our stay was the treatment we received by the staff, whom I can only describe as aggressive. Had there been any other hotel options upon arrival, we would have moved. It transpired there was an error with our booking and while we had booked a double room, the hotel insisted it was for single occupancy not double. While it was clear that there had been an error at their end, they insisted that we pay an excessive fee for a ‘second’ occupancy and threatened to have me ejected from the hotel if we did not. There was absolutely no suggestion of compromise. The whole experience was excruciating and I cannot recommend strongly enough do not stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DHFrontOfficeManager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Oct 5, 2019
Dear Clare K, We would like to express my thankfulness towards you for taking your time to write down and share your opinion about our hotel. We have to tell you we are absolutely sad to hear that overall we did not manage to meet your expectations. Please know that we really do our best to make improvements on this lovely hotel and your comments are highly appreciated as they help us a lot in better understanding your needs to be able to constantly improve the quality of our product and services. It would be an honor to host you again in our lovely hotel, we will always do our best to provide your perfect comfort. Kind regards, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
kadimre wrote a review Sep 2019
Budapest, Hungary31 contributions56 helpful votes
This huge hotel (around 350 rooms) was constructed over fifty years ago in 1968, in the heady days of communism in Hungary. After the collapse of Communism, as a result of some shady dealing the entire Danubius Hotel Chain it was acquired and is still owned by Bernard Schreier’s family, British property speculators, with no interest or expertise in hotel management. The hotel is basically still run by the same methods as previously. Room cleaning is lackadaisical (our room was not cleaned on two days, and when it was, the same rubbish on the carpet was left untouched). The chambermaids are having coffee and chat merrily for hours in their offices instead of doing their jobs. It is the time-honored communist system: they pretend to pay us, and we pretend to work. The restaurant is huge, and the quality and variety of the meals acceptable for such a huge hotel catering to lots of groups. The waiters in the restaurant are overworked and understaffed, and it takes just a moments’ conversation to hear their complaints about the poor pay and bad working conditions. The rooms are on the small side, but adequate for a resort hotel, with air-conditioning, refrigerator, hair dryer, etc. appropriate for a 3 star hotel. Some rooms marketed as ‘superior’ had reconditioned bathrooms, the rest were still the old equipment from fifty years ago. A charming retro touch is the single tap serving both the basin and the bathtub at the same time, an bizarre economy measure from the 1960s. The hotel has one indoor and a larger outdoor swimming pool as well as male and female saunas. The vinyl-lined pool is on its last legs, the vinyl is coming away from the pool wall in many places. On the whole, an acceptable hotel for a holiday, but hugely overpriced during the summer season, and with generally poor levels of service and management, and the lack of investment is visible in many places.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Superior rooms have renovated bathrooms, but more expensive
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DHFrontOfficeManager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Sep 17, 2019
Dear Kadimre, We would like to express my thankfulness towards you for taking your time to write down and share your opinion about Danubius Hotel Annabella. We are happy to read you were content with the quality of the meals we serve in our restaurant and the room facilities as well. Although, we have to tell you we are absolutely sad to hear that overall we did not manage to meet your expectations. We want you to know that we really do our best to make improvements on this lovely hotel and your comments are highly appreciated as they help us a lot in better understanding your needs to be able to constantly improve the quality of our product and services. It would be an honor to host you again in our lovely hotel, we will always do our best to provide your perfect comfort. Kind regards, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
Eviebabe12 wrote a review Sep 2019
Ashford, United Kingdom59 contributions35 helpful votes
Nice hotel with friendly staff located conveniently close to Lake Balaton. The hotel has a private beach area which is a short, easy walk away. Plenty of sun beds on the beach which was safe and easily accessed. Food was good - typical fare for a three star half board hotel. One downside was the woman who served in the bar in the main lobby - she was surly and dour and did not make us feel welcome at all, But she was the exception amongst a good number of friendly and helpful staff - particularly those on reception. Our room was fine with a decent balcony from which - with a bit of neck stretch - you could see the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DHFrontOfficeManager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Sep 13, 2019
Dear Eviebabe12, May we start with expressing our thankfulness to you for taking your precious time on writing us a lovely feedback about Danubius Hotel Annabella. It is marvellous reading you had such an amazing time here. Thank you for highlighting the convenient location and the friendly staff. Our biggest accomplishment is our dear guests’ satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to return anytime and we will wait you with the warmest welcome. Best regards, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
Ingush wrote a review Aug 2019
Tel Aviv34 contributions54 helpful votes
Hotel is really nice for 3*. Nice pool, Beautiful private beach. Staff is nice and helpful. Food is OK,depends when you come to eat, if you are coming about 40-30 minutes before closure, alot of things are already missing and staff won't fill it again, so sometimes most of the things are already gone. Rooms are very outdated from Soviet period with Bath that you have to climb, never saw anything like that.Towels are thin and not being changed ( we stayed at the hotel for 6 nights).Rooms are noisy from the nightclub nearby. In overall hotel is OK in convenient location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DHFrontOfficeManager, Vezető at Danubius Hotel Annabella
Responded Aug 30, 2019
Dear Ingush, It was so nice of you to take your precious time to share your rating of your recent experience staying at our lovely hotel! It is great to read that you were satisfied with our nice and helpful staff as well as convenient location. We truly hope that you had a great stay in Danubius Hotel Annabella. We are ooking forward very much to seeing and hosting you again, I hope that your visit will be as soon as possible. Best wishes, Hotel Annabella Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
annabella hotel balatonfured
LOCATION
HungaryCentral TransdanubiaVeszprem CountyBalatonfured
NUMBER OF ROOMS
389
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Danubius Hotel Annabella
Which popular attractions are close to Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Nearby attractions include Tagore Promenade (0.2 miles), Kossuth Lajos Drinking Hall (0.3 miles), and Jokai Mor Memorial House (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Conveniently located restaurants include Füredi Ice Cream Parlour, Karolina Kavehaz es Koktelbar, and Halaszkert.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Danubius Hotel Annabella?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bences Apatsag (3.0 miles).