We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galeria River

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Galeria River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Only regret is that we only had one night here. Really spacious room, excellent location and friendly staff that gave us great tips and advice. You have to walk up three flights of stairs as there is no lift but that didn't bother us!

Helpful?
Thank Aodan
Galeria R, Front Office Manager at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Aodan, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with our accommodation, especially our beautiful location and helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon, so that we can try our best to make your future stay even more enjoyable! Kind regards, Galeria River More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a hotel but a B&B. Entrance is trough a wooden door with intercom. No lift to the 3rd floor reception. Rooms are nice and simple. Location is perfect. Tips: Ikea towels and coffee cups is a no-no. No aircon is problem. I know that it is an old building, but no excuse for no aircon. Mattress and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin K
Galeria R, Front Office Manager at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Martin, thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are very happy that our location was convenient for your travels however we regret to hear that your experience in our guesthouse did not meet your expectations. Firstly we would like to clearly emphasize that we never said or promote ourself anywhere that we are a... More 

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay! Spacious rooms with fridge, TV, microwave, couch, great wifi, nice bathroom etc. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is right in the centre of the old town so couldn't be any more convenient. The building is from the 18th century and really beautiful, especially the staircases. We would be happy to come back... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlLovingAus
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed one night in this hotel in Ljubljana, Slovenia. What I did not know before booking was that it was not really a hotel, but rather, just a room on the 4th floor of an old building with no elevator! Having a heavy suitcase, it was nearly impossible for me to climb several flights of stairs to reach the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mkr611
Galeria R, Front Office Manager at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback. We are a guesthouse, as it is clearly stated on our booking sites. As such, we offer an amazing location, spacious, comfortable rooms that are very well equipped (microwave, a fridge, dishes and cutley, large flatsceen TV, etc., and if you book a studio, there is also a big fully equipped kitchen). We are... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is situated right at the start of the pedestrian zone, making it easy to be dropped off and a launching pad to explore the city. Room was simple and modern. Only concern if you have trouble walking, it is on the third floor with no elevator

Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
Galeria R, Front Office Manager at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ryan, thank you for your review, we are happy your stay with us was pleasant and that you liked the location, which is one of our best features. It is true there is no elevator, as this is a historical palace, however, the view and the beautiful accommodation is worth it. We hope you will visit us again... More 

wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

As stated before , it is on the third floor of an apartment building with no lift . You have to gain access through an old well worn door via an intercom system , and yes our shower leaked a little from the bottom of the door . But these things are just incidental hiccups . It's brilliant location the... More 

Helpful?
Thank redskel
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

The stay at the hotel was nice. The room was large, and so was the bed. It was equipped with all the necessary to make the stay comfortable. Unfortunately, I had forgotten a couple of items at the hotel. Sadly, instead of reporting that to the client, the staff has just decided to throw these things away. This experience is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Santa S
Galeria R, Guest Relations Manager at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our rooms. As we explained ourselves, we do our best to store forgotten objects and we didn't ''just decided to throw your things'', we kept them safe for two months before doing that. In case something valuable is left... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

I stayed here with my partner for 3 days, and though we were apprehensive at first because the entrance looked very old and drab, we were so pleased once we got inside. Our room was downstairs away from the main reception, in a totally separate area. Expecting a typical hotel room, we were pleasantly surprised to be given a spacious... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank niamh m
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

The room and whole building was very clean and fresh. The room felt spacey and had a practical design. The staff were exceptional and really made sure we got the most out of our two day visit. The location of the hotel is central and within walking distance of all the major local attractions.

Helpful?
Thank Jasper54321
Sparkill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

The beautiful room over looked the river and Old Town. While we were near the center of Saturday fun, the room was quiet. The stay was lovely. My one gripe is that its tough to find, both by car and on foot.

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
Galeria R, Staff at Galeria River, responded to this review

Dear Beth M, Thank you for the review. We are happy that you have been satisfied with our location and our rooms with its magnificent view of the river & castel. We would like to thank for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Galeria River More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Housed in the 18th century landmark and cultural heritage "Zois Palace", Galeria River offers elegant interiors featuring a minimalistic design. We offer modern and tranquil accommodation in the core of the old town. Galeria is designed to please the most demanding. In its minimalist style it joins history with the contemporary art of living. Rooms are spacious, have high ceilings and original parquet floors. Different types of accommodation are offered: double bedrooms, double bedrooms with river & castle view and studios. They all have extra long beds, spacious wardrobes, working desk, flatscreen digital cable TV, fridge, microwave, safe, large and well equipped bathrooms, with L'Occitanne toiletries. Moreover, studios offer a full kitchen. The building stands on Ljubljana's most prestigious promenade: Breg. Here happens the classical Antique Market on Sundays, Art & Handicrafts market on Saturdays and famous Christmas market in December as well as several events throughout the year. Excellent restaurants, cafes and bars are just a few steps away. We assure a tranquil environment, allowing you to rest and get ready to explore our enchanting city. Public parking is available at a location nearby. The Bus and Train Station is 900m away. Airport shuttle, transfer services and customized tours throughout Slovenia can be organized. Laundry services can also be arranged at the reception. All rooms have free WI-FI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Galeria River

Address: Breg 22, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: $76 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galeria River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay