We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Ljubljana
Post
Inbox
Search

Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels

Save
Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000 Slovenia
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com$120
Trip.com$141
Orbitz.com$131
Expedia.com$131
Hotels.com$131
eDreams$120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (239)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (138)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Price:10% off room rate
Hotel packages
494Reviews8Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 239
  • 176
  • 50
  • 22
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our Honeymoon and it was perfect! The location was great since it is centrally located in the Old Town meaning we could walk to everything in a matter of minutes. Room was surprisingly large, and they even gave us a very sweet fruit basket upon check-in when they realized we were there for our honeymoon. Highly recommend!
Read more
Response from VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, first and foremost, allow us to thank you for allowing us to host you during such a special occasion! We are indeed located in the very heart and sould of the Ljubljana old town center, a location filled with beautiful sights, which we hope you managed to enjoy fully! Now only is everything one might want to visit within a short walk away, the hotel can also arrange for the city's free electric car service to pick you up and take you to the outskirts of the pedestrian area. It is our wholesome aim to make sure that our guests feel welcomed, and we are glad you enjoyed the little surprise at your check in. We hope to see you again to give you more memorable moments such as the ones you had this year, and until then wish you a happy new undertaking!
Read more
Super nice hotel with a pool on the rooftop. Gourmet offer is super good, special wines from the region in the wine cellar. Located near the river it is top location in the Old part of Ljubljana which is basically soul of the whole city.
Read more
Response from VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, first and foremost, allow us to thank you for allowing us to host you during your stay in Ljubljana. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself! The rooftop poolside area is truly a wonderful location, perfect for enjoying the view of the city below you, and the castle above you. Especially while enjoying the wines you mentioned, provided by the best wine makers in the region. The location of the hotel is ideal as well. Located in the pedestrian zone, so there's no traffic, with anything and everything one might want within a mere stone's throw away. Whether you'd like to go to cafes or bars for a drink or have a meal in one of the many restaurants, enjoy some culture and history in the museums, or go enjoy the view from the castle above the hotel. We hope to be able to host you again in the future, and until then wish you happy and safe travels!
Read more
We booked to stay at Vander for three nights. It's a compact property with very small reception and poorly lit corridors. The ambience is extremely dull and dark. Our room (Vander Large) had a dead view from the windows. The room smelt quite weird. Within a couple of hours of check-in, we realised that the room was actually infested with cobwebs on the ceiling, near the bed panelling and other places. We even found four big spiders in the room. On confroting the hotel manager about this issue, she said spiders are pretty common at this time of the year in Ljubljana. She even said spiders are known to bring good luck so they would just leave the webs as it is on cleaning the rooms. It was the most ridiculous response I received from someone working in hospitality. My wife and I had to leave the hotel late in the evening in search for another place to stay because we felt extremely uncomfortable in our room. The hotel manager charged us for full three nights and denied to issue any refund. The hotel has the worst customer service and extremely poor maintenance and shoddy cleanliness. It's definitely not a 4 star. Also, the hotel is situated in a pedestrian only zone which is too much of a walk from where the taxi drops. There are much better properties nearby at probably lower cost.
Read more
Response from VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. The property is indeed somewhat compact, due to the building being from the 18th century, and while we were permitted to adapt the building into a hotel, we were unfortunately prohibited from changing the room templates. The hotel is usually well lit, however, it is true that the lights in the restaurant are set a bit lower in the evening, for the purpose of a nice atmosphere and ambience. When booking our rooms, the room description clearly states that our Deluxe double (River Side) and Junior Suite (River Front) rooms have a partial and direct river view respectively, while Vander Large has street view. As for the spider problem, unfortunately it is true that spiders are common this time of year due to the humidity and climate. When you contacted the reception desk regarding the issue at hand, both the manager and front desk receptionist came to your room and personally soolved the problem. After you still decided to leave, you were not charged the full amount but actually received a special discount on your whole stay. We are a small hotel and due to every lost room meaning a loss in revenue, especially as the high season cools down, our cancellation policy states that any cancellation within 48 hours prior to arrival is charged in full. And indeed, we are located in a pedestrian area, however every taxi drop off location is located less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The city also provides a free electric car service, called Cavaliers, which bring guests from the pick up/drop off locations to the hotel, and which the reception staff is more than willing to arrange for our guests should they wish. We are sorry that you felt the way you did about our hotel, however hope that you still had a pleasant experience in Ljubljana. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to fix your opinion of our hotel in the future. Until then, we wish you happy and safe travels!
Read more
Very disappointed with the lack of flexibility of this hotel and its management team. I recommend to use booking.com or another platform where you will find more flexibility to book your stay. Our flight was cancelled and they didn't want to extand a voucher to come another weekend even if we informed them 40hrs in advance.. I work in hospitality and in unfortunate situations like that we always manage to find win win solutions.
Read more
Response from VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Oct 5, 2019
Dear Guest we are sorry that you couldn’t visit us. Unfortunately we can not influence your itinerary. We hope you understand our cancellation policy is clearly stated on all our channels, that all cancellations within 48 hours prior to arrival are charged in full. The reason for this is that we are a small hotel and every cancelled room is a loss in revenue, with no guarantee that the room will be sold again in the time that's left. We assure you however, that direct reservations with our hotel guarantee you the best rates. In order to somewhat amend the situation we offered you vouchers for our wonderful restaurant for the next time you and your wife are in the area, as you mentioned being frequent travellers to Ljubljana and Slovenia. We hope to be able to fix your opinion of our hotel in the future, and until then wish you happy and safe travels.
Read more
We stayed at the the Vander Hotel for the last two nights of a two-week Croatia & Slovenia trip. Both the hotel and Ljubljana were the highlights of our trip! We stayed in a smaller room but it was still very comfortable and well equipped. But what really stood out to us was the friendliness of the staff - we had wonderful interactions with each and every person we spoke with from check-in to check-out. Polite, helpful, friendly, and responsive. On top of that, the location just can't be beat! Right on the river - close to everywhere you want to be,
Read more
Response from VanderUrbaniResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Dear Guest, We are thrilled to hear that we made the ending to your trip so memorable! As we are a member of the design hotels, we realize that the style of our rooms isn't what most people are used to in other hotels, and are glad to hear you enjoyed it! Our staff really does pride itself in doing their best to make sure our guests feel as welcome as possible, and we are very happy that you could experience that! The hotel's location really is wonderful with a beautiful surrounding and everyone one might want to visit within a short walk's distance. Hopefully we get to host you again and until then wish you happy and safe travels!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SloveniaUpper Carniola RegionLjubljana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Nearby attractions include The Key Escape Room Ljubljana (0.2 miles), MindMaze (0.2 miles), and Ljubljana Old Town (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monstera bistro, Restavracija Strelec, and Vigo Ice Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Ljubljana.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Plecnik House (0.5 miles), Miklosiceva Street (0.4 miles), and Castle Chapel of St George (2.9 miles).
Does Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.