We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000 Slovenia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (153)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#6 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Personal trainer
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more
364Reviews7Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 164
  • 137
  • 47
  • 13
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suse49 wrote a review Dec 2019
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom30 contributions28 helpful votes
We are three couples who travelled to Ljubljana at the beginning of December to visit the Christmas markets as well as the lovely old town. The Allegro Hotel was a great find. It was very central, it had lovely staff and a good breakfast. We had room 1 which was spacious with a nice bathroom. Our friends were upstairs and were equally pleased with their rooms. In all a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
katrionajones wrote a review Dec 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom21 contributions16 helpful votes
My husband and I spent the weekend in Ljubljana with our two children (10 &6) to see the Christmas markets. We loved the hotel. It's in a fantastic location, close to the river with lots of restaurants and shops nearby and a short walk to the castle. We asked the hotel to organise a taxi to and from the airport, which went smoothly. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our family suite was a good size, with seperate room for the kids and 2 bathrooms. Kids thought it was very grand! Would happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Receptionist at Allegro Hotel
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Dear Madame, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear that your stay with your family was pleasant and that you liked the Christmas markets. Best Regards Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ohanyo wrote a review Nov 2019
Solomons, Maryland42 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel Allegro is located on the edge of old town Ljubljana, Slovenia, which makes it easy to access and allows for an easy walk to everything we wanted to see and do there - take a River Cruise, take the Funicular up to the Castle, eat at good restaurants and cafes and have nearby parking. The staff, especially Luka at the front desk, were friendly, professional and very helpful. Our room was comfortable with a nice view of the hotel courtyard. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Allegro!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Receptionist at Allegro Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review. We hope to host you again in Allegro Hotel. Regards Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul G wrote a review Oct 2019
Surrey, United Kingdom34 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and modern. Breakfast had a lot of variety. The only thing to note is there's no lift, and one of the steps on the stairs is a little crooked, so if you're not too certain on your feet then you need to take extra care. Very centrally positioned, though - you can walk to anywhere in the centre of the city within about 10 minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Receptionist at Allegro Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2019
Thank you for your nice review .We hope to host you again. Best regards, Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1926yanks wrote a review Sep 2019
Seattle, Washington306 contributions128 helpful votes
This hotel is just past all the shops and restaurants in the old city center. So it is quiet but very close to all that action. And less than a 10-minute walk to the three bridges by the pink church. It is an older, classic building. And the little lobby, as well as the surprisingly large room, are furnished in that older style. The large bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is also surprisingly large. And it is quite modern. The hotel staff is very helpful. The breakfast is served downstairs in a room that doesn’t quite match the feel of the rest of the hotel. This place feels more like a B & B than a “hotel.” Small and intimate. I’d stay here again. In many ways, it has a similar feel to another small hotel across the street, the Lesar Hotel Angel I stayed in the night before. Both excellent
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Front Office Manager at Allegro Hotel
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Thank you for your nice review .We hope to host you again. Regards Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Verdale16 wrote a review Sep 2019
Port Macquarie, Australia37 contributions11 helpful votes
Our accommodation was booked with a travel company and we were relocated only the week before from the original hotel we had booked and paid for to this hotel. We were travelling with another couple who somehow scored the 'so called' best room (room 13) displayed in the photos and we scored room 12 - the attic! We paid the same money and was told we could not change as the hotel was fully booked. It was old, dirty, dingy. There were two old stools that we could sit on which faced the door to the room 1.5 mts away. My partner and I were forced to sleep in separate beds due to the slanting roofline. Sitting up in bed you hit your head, I the bathroom you would hit your head. Breakfast was equally terrible. What topped it off for me, and possibly the only 'highlight was the breakfast waitress blowing bubbles with her chewing gum when she thought no one could see her. It was so disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Owner at Allegro Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2019
Dear Sirs, we are sorry to read this review. The Hotel you booked in origin made an overbooking and they asked us to host you in Allegro. The room you stayed was our last room and there is was no chance to change the room. Concerning your personal experience, it is your point of view, most of our guests are happy with their stay with us. We are sure this bad review is due to the disappointing change of Hotel. Best Regards Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally S wrote a review Sep 2019
Tourrettes, France183 contributions78 helpful votes
We stayed here for a two night end of cycling week to look around the city of Ljubljanica. Superb location for the city - you can walk everywhere! Our room was overlooking the courtyard at the back of the hotel with a small balcony, very quiet and great air-con. The beds were very comfortable with a good night's sleep. Bathroom was nice, only hazard was the floor when wet was like an 'ice rink' so watch out! The breakfast was nice and offered everything we required. The staff friendly and attentive and overall a very pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel for a city break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Front Office Manager at Allegro Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2019
Dear Sirs, thank you for your nice review. We hope to host you again in Allegro . Regards STaff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunseeker7981 wrote a review Aug 2019
Great Oxendon, United Kingdom32 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Allegro, which is centrally located near the Castle. Check in and out was smooth and the staff very polite and helpful. Our room was across the courtyard in the slightly less atmospheric newer part of the hotel, but was nonetheless comfortable and cool with good air-con. A couple of changes would have resulted in five stars, the first would be a slightly better range of international TV and movie channels. The second would be a few more hot options at breakfast other than fried and scrambled eggs. A wonderful pleasant stay and we would definitely go again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Allegro Hotel
Responded Aug 25, 2019
Dear Sir or Madame, thank you for your nice review. We will give our best to make the above mentioned things better. We hope we can host you in our hotel again. Best regards, Allegro hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard wrote a review Aug 2019
Chulilla, Spain40 contributions27 helpful votes
Right in the very centre of Ljubljana, Allegro Hotel is charming and characterful. The receptionist met us at a pre arranged spot, took our cases and showed us where we could park. Parking is not cheap and cost us about 20 Euros per day. The hotel was clean but in need of some updating, especially the bathroom, which was a bit mouldy. Breakfast was fine and there is an outdoor courtyard where you can take your breakfast, weather permitting. It did seem a little over priced for what it offers but, as there is so much demand for Ljubljana, this is somewhat understandable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Allegro Hotel
Responded Aug 25, 2019
Dear Sir, thank you for your nice review. We will do our best to correct the above mentioned things. We hope we can host you again. Best regards, Allegro hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RobertJE wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom542 contributions322 helpful votes
My wife and I booked a last minute stay and secured the last room - a twin when we would have preferred a double. Nevertheless it was very comfortable. We arrived just before the hotel locked up for the night (10.00 p.m.) - but once checked in you have a front door key to come and go as you please. The chap on reception was really friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very old building and the decor is slightly "quirky" and the stairs have a "trip" step. The rooms have everything you need - mini fridge, kettle, slippers and dressing gown etc. We had a very comfortable 5 night stay. The breakfast buffet in the vaulted basement is very adequate- cereal, fried, scrambled and boiled eggs, cheese and salad, tea and coffee. The hotel is in a quiet area of the old town but is less than ten minutes walk from everything. The restaurant opposite the hotel is also very good. All in all we had a splendid 5 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AllegroHotel, Front Office Manager at Allegro Hotel
Responded Jul 8, 2019
Thank you for your ncie reivew, We hope to host you again in Ljubljana. Regards Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
SloveniaUpper Carniola RegionLjubljana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Allegro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Allegro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include House of Illusions (0.3 miles), Cankarjevo Nabrežje (0.2 miles), and River Ljubljanica Kanal (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Allegro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Allegro Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Allegro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Allegro Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Allegro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monstera bistro, Restavracija Strelec, and El Patrón Tacos & Store.
Does Allegro Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Allegro Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Allegro Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Ljubljana.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Allegro Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to Allegro Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Plecnik House (0.4 miles), Hauptmann House (0.4 miles), and Miklosiceva Street (0.6 miles).