We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stefanova ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000 Slovenia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/13/22
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$132
View deal
Expedia.com$134
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (94)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (13)

About

#4 of 35 hotels in Ljubljana
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Next to the hustle and bustle of a city intersection and urban part of Ljubljana, a hi-rise building was built in 1938. It offered shelter to many distinguished persons. A prestigious design with peripheral construction attracted the eye of tourists, especially those connoisseurs who noticed the work of architect Jože Šivec. With its tempting constructed ground floor and staircase, it ranks among the most beautiful examples of hi-rise buildings in the capital. The building has preserved its original charm and today hosts the Urban hotel Ljubljana. Just like our doors, our minds are also open. Ever since we thought of opening the hotel, it’s never just been about offering a bed for the night but more than that: providing a place where guests can have an enjoyable stay and feel the pulse of the city for a reasonable price. We try to offer prominent warmth and efficient service. Next to our guests, our team is the most important value of our hotel. The group of individuals who work at the Urban hotel provide exceptional welcoming and warmhearted service to you. We try to create a collaborative work place, where we treat each other with respect. So our whole team is a part of one big "family" and we would like you to feel as if you're part of our "family". We will try to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. Situated only a few hundred meters away from the city center, the Urban hotel Ljubljana offers 36 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms that combine popular bourgeois style with modern facilities, reflecting global trends – a comfortable and relaxing stay for a memorable experience. Hotel Urban is located in the city center, from where you can access the most popular points that represents the essence of Ljubljana. Only 100 meters sets you apart from the world-famous Three Bridges, the old town with Plecnik marketplace, within reach are a number of luxurious galleries, vibrant bars, about which a lot of blogs are written, boutiques, vibrant bars and many hidden points that invite you to explore.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Croatian, German and 2 more
249Reviews6Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 167
  • 67
  • 9
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David S wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom140 contributions56 helpful votes
We originally booked this hotel in November 2020, on the strength of reviews that were probably mostly written pre-pandemic, and eventually got to stay there in May 2022. Whilst this is still a reasonable place to choose, it seems the intervening period has taken its toll on staffing levels and room maintenance (email correspondence when rescheduling our booking suggests the hotel very nearly didn't survive). Occupancy rates seemed quite high the weekend we stayed and I wish them well for the future. The hotel is well located, within easy walking distance both of the Old Town in one direction and Tivoli Park in another. There are six rooms on each floor, 4 facing the front and open ground, the other two facing the unattractive rear of several apartment blocks but slightly bigger with a separate little room that's good for storing luggage. The decor is OK with plenty of wood effect veneer; the bathroom was a bit more elegant with a good quality walk-in shower. Their breakfast buffet was excellent with a notably good selection of pastries and some more unusual items (including something that looked like tapioca pudding served in a glass). Service at reception and in the breakfast area was fine but essentially there are only three client-facing staff so the reception desk is often unmanned. There were some minor negatives: the single lift is rickety and slow; the fridge in our room (101) emitted a foul smell when opened; they no longer have enough TV remote controls for every room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
MihaelaCurea wrote a review Aug 2021
Cluj-Napoca, Romania373 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for just one night, just in transit to Italy. Nice hotel, near the down town. Clean rooms, but small, and the wardrope was only in the bathroom. At least, the bathroom is big, with two sinks and big bath tube. Safe box, comfortable bed. Top cosmetics that I saw in hotels. I was nice surprised. Old fashion elevator, but chic. Stuff from the reception very friendly, they explained us how to get to the parking spot, and tips for visiting the city. Due to Covid situation, we had to pick a time for serving breakfast. Breakfast was a nice surprise. Great variety, served fresh and quickly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Is a quite place, all rooms are ok
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Matija86 wrote a review Jul 2021
Pozega, Croatia49 contributions64 helpful votes
Everything was great. The staff was very kind and willing to help. The room was neat and clean. The hotel is located near the center, a short walk. Breakfast was delicious, we got a list from which we chose what we wanted to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
LPChester wrote a review Jul 2021
Merelbeke, Belgium83 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights during out trip to Ljubljana. Decent hotel with kind staff. Rooms were clean, modern & relatively spacious. Breakfast in the morning was of good quality (no buffet due to Covid). Good central location. Car park is 10' walk from the hotel, but this was not an issue for us. Costs of the parking got reimbursed by the hotel. In front of the hotel there are garbage bins which got emptied rather early in the morning, so if you have a room there this can be an issue. In the end good hotel and we would stay here again when coming back to Ljubljana
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
ONELIFE_LIFE wrote a review Jun 2021
Paris, France79 contributions70 helpful votes
- Clean and in the middle of town, modern no-thrills rooms. - Reception only present for check-in, will leave the hotel immediatly after handing out the room key, never to be seen again. Nobody on site until breakfast. - Promises in the hotel guest manual are outdated / non existant (e.g. free welcome juice in the room, free mobile phone for the stay, etc.) - Breakfast is quite okay - Walls seem to be made of paper, you can hear (and understand) every word your neighbour says - Parking is *FAR* away, expect a really long walk, crossing the main road and railway (both through tunnels) and across a vast park. Expect 15min walk (one way).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If the hotel is not fully occupied, absolutely ask for a room which has NO neighbour, or you...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tatia L wrote a review Jan 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia11 contributions12 helpful votes
I hate leaving negative reviews for any business, especially in the middle of the pandemic, but our experience with the Urban hotel was so terrible that I feel I have to share this information with others. We had booked a room for one night at the Urban hotel for the 17/18th of January (Sunday to Monday night). We had to travel to Ljubljana from Austria for an urgent family issue, and, being aware that Slovenia is under strict quarantine rules, and many hotels may be closed, we made sure to search for hotels that actually showed availability for our specific dates. The Urban hotel clearly appeared as open across many platforms, and most importantly, on their own website, showing room availability for our specific dates. We booked the room 4 days prior to our trip, and received a standard confirmation email within minutes of our booking. We didn’t receive any additional follow up from the hotel after that, so we obviously assumed everything was fine and proceeded to take the 5-hour drive from Vienna to Ljubljana on Sunday. We arrived to the hotel around 7pm on Sunday, January 17th. When I rang the hotel buzzer, a woman answered, and when I told her we were there to check in, she simply said ‘Oh, we are closed madam’. I proceeded to explain to her that we had made the reservation directly through their website, we had a confirmation email, and we hadn’t heard a single word from them for the previous 4 days about them being closed. Without a single word of apology, she simply repeated that they were closed because the government had been forcing hotels to close due to the lockdown. I then became completely panicked and asked her what we were supposed to do, in nearly -11 Celsius cold on a Sunday night, and she simply told me she didn’t know, and perhaps we could call the Slon hotel nearby and inquire with them. And then, while I was still talking and pleading with her for at least some information or help, she simply hung up on me. Yes, in hindsight I of course wish we had called the hotel and triple-checked with them in advance that they were in fact open, but I simply assumed that they wouldn’t show themselves as open and available across multiple platforms (including booking.com, expedia.com, and their own website), for those specific dates, and wouldn’t accept our reservation and send us a confirmation email with all the details, if they were in fact closed. Btw, as of the time of writing this review their website still provides zero information about them being closed, and they still appear available for booking, for today’s date for example, across all of these platforms. In the end, we had to call many hotels, and only one appeared open in Ljubljana that evening – the Radisson Plaza. I am so grateful to that hotel and their caring and friendly staff for helping us out at a moment’s notice. I’m not sure what we would’ve done otherwise, but I strongly suspect we would’ve had to drive the 5 hours back to Vienna, as we didn’t particularly feel like sleeping in our car at -11 Celsius. It has now been 4 days since, and we still haven’t heard a single word from the Urban hotel. I of course get it if hotels have to close due to the pandemic. And I also get it that the pandemic has made it very challenging for businesses. What I absolutely cannot understand is why a hotel would still advertise themselves as open, confirm a reservation, and not make a single effort to inform their future guests that they’re closed before the guests make a long and difficult trip to stay at the hotel. And I ESPECIALLY cannot understand how someone can be so incredibly rude, callous and cold as to simply say ‘we’re closed’, without a word of apology, and then simply hang up on people from whom they accepted a reservation, without spending even a minute to try to help them figure out the situation or offer any advice whatsoever. So, my advice to everyone interested in staying at this hotel – please be prepared that, if you find yourself in a dangerous situation because of their own incompetence, they will make absolutely zero effort to help you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban Hotel, General Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2021
Dear Ms. Lemondzhava, thank you for your detailed review. As you have already mentioned, we are in the middle of a pandemic, for which the rules and instructions given by the Government of the Republic of Slovenia are changing day by day. As I apologized to you on the intercom and mentioned that we did not receive your reservation, accordingly we did not have your contact to inform you about the mentioned situation. Therefore, as you mentioned yourself, you did not receive a welcome message with details from the Urban Hotel. The Government of the Republic of Slovenia unfortunately does not allow us to accommodate guests, the exceptions are guests on business trips, athletes and delegates. Of course, I apologized for the situation. Since I wanted to help you, I referred you to the nearest Hotel Slon. Unfortunately, we also do not know which hotels are open and which not. We try to help our best way. As for the intercom, I apologise but I did not interrupt the conversation during the intercom call, but the intercom is set to turn off automatically after one minute. Since we didn't have your contact, unfortunately I couldn't call you back. The call back possibility doesn't work through the intercom. Since I wanted to help you, I was by no means rude, but knowing that the intercom would turn off after one minute, I wanted to give as much information as possible to help you. So, the conversation lasted more than a minute and, in that minute, I wanted to help as much as I could. I wanted to let you know we´ve taken the bad elements you´ve mentioned in your review to heart. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. Sincerely, Urban Hotel
Read more
JudgeDredd wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was nice, quiet and clean. The staff was friendly, the hotel is located very central in the beautiful city of Ljubljana. Therefore, you can reach the entire city by walking. The only negative point was the parking space, but I think such a disadvantage is quite natural when you are central in a large city. To summarize: Book this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jules_gem1 wrote a review Sep 2020
42 contributions72 helpful votes
The rooms were large and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were leaving very early to catch our train on the last day and when I mentioned this, the gentleman on reception offered to make us a little packed lunch which was very generous and much appreciated. Would definitely stay here again. Great location too
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tanja K wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
excellent! very friendly, modern and cosy; breakfast super and delicius, coffee free all day, very friendly stuff! located in the center, free parking, beautiful rooms, we are more than delighted, see you again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DMN27 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bucharest, Romania52 contributions49 helpful votes
Lovely design in the centre of Ljublijana. Big clean rooms with great views. There is a public parking place 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff was very helpful with great breakfast. We will definitely book again this hotel when visiting this city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SloveniaUpper Carniola RegionLjubljana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Urban Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Urban Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Enigmarium (0.2 miles), MindMaze (0.3 miles), and The Key Escape Room Ljubljana (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Urban Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Urban Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Urban Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Urban Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Urban Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burek Olimpija, Vigo Ice Cream, and Atelje.
Does Urban Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Urban Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Urban Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Ljubljana.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Urban Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, Croatian, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to Urban Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Plecnik House (0.8 miles), Hauptmann House (0.2 miles), and Miklosiceva Street (0.2 miles).
Is Urban Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.