We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strahovske Nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00 Czech Republic
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (315)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (197)

About

#63 of 685 hotels in Prague
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Czech

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
52Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
532Reviews17Q+A81Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 374
  • 129
  • 13
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chaim Z wrote a review Jul 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands27 contributions1 helpful vote
We were lucky to get the room with the view of Prague. It was so beautiful. The room was clean and cozy. Breakfast was rich and tasty, staff was helpful and kind. We spent here two wonderful nights. We arrived in the middle of the night and nonstop service navigated us where and how to get the keys. It wasn't anything difficult. They have a box right behind the door with the code.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicole wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary, through Expedia Canada 1.5 months prior stay date. We have also paid for it at the time of booking. When we arrived at the hotel and called them to allow us to park in the court yard, we were told that our reservation was cancelled apparently by us. We couldn't have done that because our reservation was through Expedia. Then, they said another tour operator that deals with Exepedia cancelled it. Funny enough, on Expedia's site our reservation showed as in progress. We called them in Canada, spent an hour on the phone and all our roaming minutes, and they had no clue what happened to our reservation. Since, we arrived at the hotel, I managed to talk to 2 people by phone, who gave us contradicting info. Finally, it seems the hotel has no water for a month, because it is located in an old monastery building. However, when you check the hotel site they don't mention anything about it. It looks like the hotel is open. So, we believe they are not trustful, and they tried to cheat on us! Please don't book this hotel!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danco.mk wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
Outstanding service, unbelievable food good, plenty of beverages to choose from, nice and cosy ambience. The whole premises was so cleaned, well maintained, decorated with good colors I will return with friends and family very soon.keep doing a good job.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pavel P wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Small hotel in one of the nicest parts of old Prague. Very well licared. Prague castle in walking distance. Historical building, nicely reno vated, cozy rooms. Tasty breakfast. Pets allowed. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FlannoUk wrote a review Apr 2020
uk158 contributions88 helpful votes
One of our favoutiute hotels - anywhere. Always happy to return to this lovely hotel. Staff helpful, Location great with the bonus of having excellent beer and food available within the monastery complex also. A pleaseure to stay there and again, we shall be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jason K wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
This was my wife and my first trip to Prague. We wanted to stay somewhere special and peaceful with a good location to sightsee from. We couldn't have agreed on a better Hotel. The staff was amazing and friendly, the breakfast buffet was excellent and many options. Beautiful location on top of the hill with a great view of the city and just a 5-7 minute walk to Prague Castle. We definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TrickyWitch wrote a review Dec 2019
Bath, United Kingdom254 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
Situation Situated up a hill in a lovely area next to the Strahov monastery and library, the hotel is part of the monastery building complex and away from the busy part of the city. 10 mins walk downhill to the Palace. Bit of a trek back up the hill (especially from Charles Bridge which takes about 25 mins but it is possible to get tram 22 or 23 from mid-town which drops off nearby necessitating only about 15 steps up). Hotel Clean, quiet, entrance hall looks fairly traditional but the rooms and breakfast room is modern. Steps down to reception and upto the rooms. Staff are lovely and very helpful. You can leave your bags there free of charge on checkout until you leave. Taxi to/from airport can be arranged with the hotel and costs about £28 payable to the driver. There is a small garden with city views. Very good breakfast - bacon, eggs, cereals, meats, bread, cheeses, croissants, fresh fruit, pastries, orange presse, yoghurts, freshly-ground coffee. Coffee is available all day should you wish it. Room We stayed in Room 23 which had a view of the garden and overlooked the city. The rooms are clean and modern if slightly 70s in decor but it would've been nice if they'd kept some of the original features. Firm but comfortable bed (2 singles pushed together), powerful shower with shower gel dispenser, complimentary mini toiletries (no shower cap). Hairdryer on the wall. Free safe. Mini bar. Coffee/tea-making facilities. Restaurants A few very nearby and also about 15 mins down the hill. We liked the Red Lion about 15 mins downhill. Don't recommend St Norbert's which is literally round the corner from the hotel - it was devoid of charm having the ambience of a works Canteen, grumpy and rushed staff and the food left a lot to be desired! Recommendations Changing of the Guard at Prague Palace at midday. Entry into the grounds of the Palace, along with entry into the front part of St Vitus’s Cathedral with its beautiful stained glass windows is free. You pay to go further into the cathedral but really you'll probably be satisfied with just the free part. The queue for security/bag check is very long at around midday but much shorter the earlier or later you go. There are a couple of different entrances with hardly any queues at the rear. Medieval astronomical clock, Old Town Square - with an hourly clockwork display. Avoid early evening at Christmas - the crush of people was actually quite frightening! Lovely Christmas market (there's quite a few scattered throughout Prague but the one in the Old Town Square is the best - beautifully illuminated and our Lady of Tyn Church created a fairytale backdrop. Incredibly busy though). Charles Bridge - statuary, street performers. Historic. Iconic. Escape the crowds and take a train to Kutna Hora - bought tickets at the station for about £10 return each. 1 hour 20 mins pleasant journey and fairly regular train times. Get off at Kutna Hora Hln stop then go through the underpass to the other side of Kutna Hora station and take the small train to the end of the line. This will take you nearer to the town. All included in the ticket. Lovely peaceful small town with cobbled streets and little shops/cafes. Enjoy a mulled wine while gazing at St Barbara's Cathedral with its flying buttresses and the far-reaching views. There's a walkway with statues leading to it. We loved this part of our trip and highly recommend. Petrin Tower - about a 20 min walk from hotel after which we were too lazy to climb the steps to the top and took the lift. Incredible view of the city. Lots of interesting info on the tower and funicular. Catch the funicular down, not up as the queue to come up is much larger. Cost of funicular ticket is included if you buy a tram day pass.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chrismci2015 wrote a review Aug 2019
Limerick, Ireland5 contributions8 helpful votes
I booked a twin room for one night to stay with my 14 yr old daughter. I advised the hotel that we would be turning up after 7pm and was told that there was a remotely managed access system to enable us to gain entry to the hotel. Note, there is no reception and no service at this hotel after 7pm!!!! On arrival, the remote access facility did not work i.e. nobody in the responsible sister hotel answered. Were it not for the chance exit of another guest we would not have been able to gain entry. On the evening of our arrival I attempted contact via the remote system 4 times and tried to phone the sister hotel directly six times, but there was never a response. I also emailed the hotel twice but much to my surprise I still have not received a reply containing a written apology. This was all the more problematic as we had not been given the twin room that was booked but instead a tight and most unsuitable, semi converted attic 'space' on the top floor of the hotel, nothing like the photos on the hotel website. Because the hotel is unstaffed after 7pm it wasn't possible to rectify this. I think the hotel needs to review this policy. At least the hotel admitted this was their mistake the following morning via its helpful receptionist, but by then it was too late. This was most disappointing especially as the hotel is wonderfully located overlooking Prague and I think it might have been great to stay in were it not for the serious problems with access and the allocated room. Key learning points, if you are going to stay here do not risk turning up after 7pm and make sure you confirm your room choice directly with the hotel before arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Confirm the specifics of your room booking directly with the hotel. Make it clear that you do...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AVEHotels, Manažer at Hotel Monastery
Responded Aug 19, 2019
Dear Sir, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your feedback, we appreciate it very much. Please let me apologize for the issues, we did forget to prepare you the requested bed setup and we do investigate the intercom problem, since it has never happened before. However let me also mention that there are pictures of your room on your travel agent´s website and that we clearly state on the agent´s website that the reception is staffed on spot only form 7 to 7. Once again, I am sorry that you weren´t able to enjoy your vacation to your expectations and I do admit that was is also our fault. We are currently working on improving the check-in and communication system. I wish you a great day, E.Aljanabi, QC Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy C wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Stepan and his team at Hotel Monastery couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. The hotel has some great views. It is very clean and very peaceful. Too far from the "strip" for hen parties and stag parties. I'd recommend this place - it's is great value for money too - to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
turkerr00 wrote a review Jul 2019
Kuwait7 contributions
We have been to Prague on several occasions and stayed in little hotels but we really loved the residence Monastary hotel. Stephen at the reception is warm, professional and detail-oriented. At check-in he provided us with thorough information on where we were located, different routes to different parts of the city, and he has been extremely helpful and kind. In addition to excellent service, I would stay here again because the location overlooking the city, and their lovely garden and the quiet green setting away from the heavily touristed area is definitely advantageous. They are 10 meters away from a beer garden/ restaurant overlooking the whole city and connected to paths through Prague forest but last night, it only took us about 5-10 minutes to walk down by the castle and maybe 15 from the hotel to the Charles Bridge and it’s a nice walk. The room is comfortable and the breakfast generous with a full selection of fresh fruits, fresh tomato and cucumber salads, cheeses, breads, eggs,meats, cereals,fresh juice, yogurt etc. There is a lovely garden seating area under a spreading tree for breakfast and tea. All in all a very nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence monastery prague, residence monastery hotel prague
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPraguePraha 1 (City Center) / Hradcany & Letna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Monastery
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Monastery?
Nearby attractions include Loreta Praha (0.2 miles), Novy Svet (0.3 miles), and Museum of Miniatures (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Monastery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Monastery?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Monastery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kafe U Zelenych Kamen, Klášterní Pivovar Strahov, and Restaurant Peklo.
Does Hotel Monastery have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Monastery offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Monastery?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Monastery?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Monastery?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Monastery?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock (1.4 miles), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (2.0 miles), and Lobkowicz Palace (0.7 miles).
Is Hotel Monastery accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.