We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Charles Boutique Residence

Save
Share
Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00 Czech Republic
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (416)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (279)

About

#199 of 684 hotels in Prague
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.6
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Taxi service
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Czech and 3 more

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
59Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
962Reviews26Q+A72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 519
  • 295
  • 85
  • 42
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Samo wrote a review Feb 2020
England, United Kingdom120 contributions79 helpful votes
This hotel was very good value for money , can’t comment on the breakfast as we never made it down in time . The guy on reception was very helpful and gave us all the info we needed. The decor of This hotel was very traditional and the beds were comfortable . At the end of our stay the hotel arranged a taxi for us . There is a tram stop and a Lidl opposite the hotel and there is also a nice little shop of which the owner was a lovely guy and very funny . Would recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mike M wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel is very nice place. Pleasant stay, helpful staff and breakfast perfectly fine. The room is big and comfortable. Close to public transport only 5 minutes walking. I had a very nice stay in Prague.I recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tracy M wrote a review Feb 2020
England, United Kingdom27 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel is basic and clean and tidy, rooms are comfortable, you are out the way of the main town so it's a good walk, tram is just about 5 min away if you wish to use that. The shower is hand held, large bath. Breakfast is held in the basement and is continental. I'm abit unsure as to the lift though, as it's on the outside wall at the back. Overall a enjoyable stay will use again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
127emyrj wrote a review Feb 2020
North Wales, United Kingdom91 contributions106 helpful votes
Hotel is in Prague 2 so may not be suitable for those who want to be in the centre of the action. The Albertov tram stop is less than 5 minutes walk away. The old town and wenceslas square are both 10 minutes away by tram. Tickets can be bought from the Lidl opposite the hotel. Rooms in the hotel are spacious and the bed is comfortable. As others have stated the hand held shower is a pain but we managed! Breakfast choices are limited but overall ok. There are bars and restaurants in the area which are cheaper and less touristy than those in the centre. Vysehrad which is located behind the hotel is worth a visit giving panoramic views across the city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sapphire wrote a review Jan 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark5 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is nearby a tram stop so it’s so accessible. The beds are nice and they have a bath tub. Just adding pictures of their breakfast buffet because I saw bad reviews here about them with outdated pictures. Their breakfast buffet was full and it tastes good. Their dining area looks newly renovated too. PS. Bring toothpaste there’s no complimentary toothpaste. Although they had a lot of other complimentary things like hair tie, nail file, cotton buds, shower cap, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Love to travel wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom24 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is more than 10 minutes on the tram to the centre. There was a hand held shower over the bath which was difficult for my elder mother to use as she cannot sit in a bath. So she used over the allocated amount of hot water of 120 litres per room or 15 minutes usage, so I had a freezing cold bath. I was not happy as it was freezing outside and to start the day being cold was not pleasant. I was told I would have to wait 2 hours for it to reheat and the manageress was quite rude to me when I complained. We were only away 2 nights and I was not going to waste time waiting for water to heat up. The website shows pictures with the bathroom with the usual amenities of little bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body lotion which they didn't have. The room had a kettle but you needed to.purchase a tea bag from reception. No mention of coffee, milk or sugar. The final straw was the breakfast. There was stewed coffee but no tea. Breakfast was from 7 to 10. We arrived at 9.40 and there was nothing left. When I pointed that out they brought out a little more cucumber and tomato. Instead of replenishing the hash browns they removed the metal container and pushed the sausages and beans together. No eggs of any kind. The fruit was almost finished, the jam pot empty, one burnt pastry left. At that point we decided we would pack our bags, go into town and have a nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and check into another place. It was the best decision we made as we found the most amazing hotel Leon D'Oro in the centre with a gorgeous room with a balcony, as much hot water as you want, free tea and coffee in the room, amazing service and spectacular breakfast. We wished we had more nights there but will go back but not to King Charles Boutique Residence.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mmmm_Wine82 wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel as it was assigned via a Wowcher Mystery Holiday deal. I was a little dubious as we walked further out of town, then the lack of signage inspired even less faith...!! However - the ladies on reception were super friendly, spoke excellent English, and went out of their way to get us checked in early as we had been up and travelling since 2am. The hotel was very clean, if a little tired in places. Very traditional in its decor. Our room (4) was large and bright, big comfy bed, kettle, hairdryer etc. Everything lovely and clean - my only gripe was that I really wanted another pillow, but then I never asked so that's my fault! Breakfast each morning was a continental style with both hot and cold options in a really lovely, modern, basement room. Great breakfast options, really enjoyed the meats, cheeses and breads - coffee was SHOCKING 🤣🤣 There was a miserable couple having a good winge at a member of staff about the coffee, but when we paid only £5 to add breakfast for our entire stay, I'm not going to get upset about coffee! Saying that, there's a Lidl opposite and a kettle and fridge in the room if you're bothered. Tram stop is a few steps out of the front door and the number 18 goes straight up to Prague Castle. MAKE SURE YOU STAMP YOUR TRAM TICKET!!! All in all, nice hotel, lovely staff, clean, comfortable and convenient. The nicest part about being out of the main centre, was the lovely little local bars - such friendly people and so happy to have your custom and keep you happy in food and beer!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
pieter v wrote a review Dec 2019
Ghent, Belgium99 contributions74 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is very good to visit Prague. The tramway is just a few staps from steh hotel, bringing you to all part sof the city. The check-in was quick and efficient. The staff at the reception speaks English very wel and is mostly friendly. The rooms are rather traditional but okay for a city trip. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom is of a lower quality but still okay. Breakfast is very very poor. the restaurat i slocate din the basement, burt there are no seats enough for all guests. The buffet was empty continuously (both days). Fruit plate: empty, meat: empty, vegetables: empty, orange juice: empty etc. The staff is really unfriendly in the restaurant and not helpful at all. If you ask for e.g. juice or bread or fruit, they do not answer or give you a bark. Except from the kitchen/restaurant staff and the breakfast; this is a good place to stay for a city trip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Beverley W wrote a review Dec 2019
25 contributions59 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the tram stop, which only takes a few minutes to the Old Town. The hotel was convenient for a 3 night stay, reception staff very helpful and polite. Rooms adequate, clean with plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds, quiet hotel. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee was not very good. we said good morning to the staff at breakfast each morning, we didn’t even get a good morning or a smile. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, convenient location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quiet hotel, convenient location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
John wrote a review Nov 2019
Timisoara, Romania1 contribution1 helpful vote
AVOID!! THEY HAVE NO USABLE HOT WATER, paid for 2 nights checked out in 2 hours because of this and they refused to refund us. not even refund one of the 2 days paid in advance. they act like low level crooks. we filled a 1/4 of the bathtub with hot water then the water turned cold. clerk said to wait 20 min, we did, then to wait an hour, then said sorry, this is how its like. in an hour the water was only luke-warm. dont go here if you expect anything but short showers for 1 person. not to mention the dust in the room and AC unit was a finger in thickness. now instead of fun i have 100 euros i need to try and recover by going to the bank, police and likely sue them. because i cant accept to get scammed and thats exactly how it felt dealing with them.... here’s their official reply if it makes any sense to you??: “According to our cancellation policy we charge you second night as a cancellation fee and first night we consider as consumed as room was used by you. I am sorry but I must reject your refund claim since is irrelevant.” irrelevant??? cancelation fee?? after 2 hours of occupying the room at 4 AM?? bloody crooks.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jitka B, Manažer at King Charles Boutique Residence
Responded Nov 22, 2019
Please note that our water supply is standard. Each room is equipped with 120 liters hot water boiler. Water is reheated in 30 minutes.Cancellation conditions are available on our website.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
king charles boutique prague, king charles boutique hotel residence, king charles boutique hotel prague
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPragueVyšehrad / Praha 2
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about King Charles Boutique Residence
Which popular attractions are close to King Charles Boutique Residence?
Nearby attractions include Vysehrad Park (0.2 miles), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (0.2 miles), and Basilica of St Peter and St Paul (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at King Charles Boutique Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at King Charles Boutique Residence?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at King Charles Boutique Residence?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at King Charles Boutique Residence?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to King Charles Boutique Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include U Kroka, Restaurace Pod Vyšehradem, and Restart Pub.
Does King Charles Boutique Residence have airport transportation?
Yes, King Charles Boutique Residence offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is King Charles Boutique Residence located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Prague.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at King Charles Boutique Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Czech, Ukrainian, and Slovenian.
Are there any historical sites close to King Charles Boutique Residence?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock (1.4 miles), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (0.2 miles), and Lobkowicz Palace (1.9 miles).