We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Golden Scissors

Show Prices
#54 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Golden Scissors
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

bad food for the price. breakfast with no variety and poorly presented fruit. just a few little pieces of orange and apple on a little plate, placed on a "bufette" to be shared by all the guests. I tried to have lunch there. asked for a salmon delicacy and it was over-salted, no salmon on it, only prawns and onion.

Helpful?
Thank milepc2008
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Milepc2008, I thank you for your feedback. We will try to improve in such important question like food, because it is a pity to us that you did not like our cuisine and breakfasts, which you have found not diverse. But we hope that you still have wonderful memories of the city, because Prague is one of the most... More 

Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first, we planned to stay only one night. Finally, we stayed one week! The location of the hotel is the best advantage, Restaurant is excellent, The staff is perfect, The rooms are in very good status, clean, quiet and traditionnaly czech

Helpful?
Thank cmatwicki
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Cmatwicki, I would like to thank you for this lovely feedback. We are very glad that we could fascinate you so, that you with pleasure remained with us for a week, instead of the planned night. Thank you for your kind words in the address of the hotel, staff, rooms and food. We will be happy to welcome you... More 

Markgroeningen, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect Location, friendly staff! Food not so great, but in the mornings breakfast was included. We were lucky and stayed 3 stories up. The street noise was still very noisy, but nice rooms, and comfortable beds. The super was SMALL, smaller than most in European hotels. We would return because of the staff and location.

Helpful?
Thank Marystrader
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Marystrader, I would like to thank you for your time to write this feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, rooms and friendly staff, but at the same time, disappointed that the food in the restaurant was not great for you and area of the hotel seemed noisy. I hope that during your next visit you will... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel location is just awesome! So close to Charles Bridge and also so quiet! The staff is very nice and kind and very helpful!! The rooms are big and bright! The breakfast could have some more varity of food bit it was still good!

Helpful?
Thank Dominika S
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Dominika S, Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated our convenient location - in the city center, on a quiet island. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your room - spacious and bright. And also breakfasts at our restaurant, on... More 

Walsall
Level Contributor
423 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We never stayed at the hotel, but visited a couple of times to have a drink as we were passing. Waiters were really friendly and provided first class service. We sat outside and although the weather was cold there were electric heaters and wraps to keep us warm. The bar is situated at the foot of the steps from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear StevieH110, I would like to thank you for your nice feedback. Thank you that you visited our restaurant terrace repeatedly. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the service of our staff and a warm atmosphere on the terrace. We can only agree with you and add that in our city filmed a large number of famous scenes... More 

Phoenix
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a marvelous stay in late September for my birthday. The hotel is very conveniently located to the Charles Bridge, Mala Strana and the old city. This is a great walking city and we discovered something cool everyday. The bed and linens very comfortable. Our room (6) was lovely, bright with nice views of the bridge. Breakfast was perfect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank halaz
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Halaz, I want to thank you for this complimenting feedback. We are glad to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are also pleased that your stay in Prague and a Birthday celebration exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful that you were satisfied with your accommodation in our hotel and the beautiful view of the... More 

phoenix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016

This is a lovely - 10 room hotel 1 building away from the St Charles Bridge. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and very clean. You can open your windows at night and usually hear some music from an artist playing on the bridge. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. They even arranged our taxi to the Prague... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tripster453
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Tripster453, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback and sharing your experience with the other travellers. The most important - precisely know that our guests like our mini-hotel At the Golden Scissors: its comfortable and clean rooms, tasty breakfasts with a varied selection of products, affordable and fragrant meals in the restaurant, friendly and helpful... More 

Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel restaurant is very close to the Charles Bridge and is very welcoming even to non-residents. The food and service was lovely with a good selection of local traditional and international fare. They were delighted when we had taken our infant niece in and all the staff were fawning over her. Complimentary Bombardino liqueurs to round off the evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig D
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Craig D, Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our lovely restaurant with good service and friendly atmosphere, as well as its great location - in the heart of the city in a cozy and charming square, close to the Charles Bridge. Thank you for your recommendation and appreciation. We will be glad if... More 

Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2016

All the staff were so kind and nice and ready to solve any problem you may have. Food was great. We feel it like home. The only thing not that good is the heating system in one of the rooms didn't work, thus we felt a bit cold during sleeping time.

Helpful?
Thank claireandcassie
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear Claireandcassie, I would like to thank you for your kind feedback. I am sorry, but we did not want to make our guests feel cold at night. It is likely that you stayed in the early autumn, when heating did not work yet at full capacity. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize for temperature in the room, which was not warm... More 

Minsk, Belarus
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Excellent location - the Old Town, Charles Bridge, own restaurant right on the riverside ! Very welcoming staff !! The perfect place for a good times, family vacation and meeting old and new friends !!!

Helpful?
Thank 11071969asg
EmporaHotels, Front Office Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review

Dear 11071969asg, Thank you for your positive feedback. It is great that you found our location excellent and close to the main attractions. Thank you and it is so nice that you noticed our welcoming staff. Kampa Island - it is really magic place with its bright character, wonderful views, cozy restaurants and friendly people. We hope to welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
0:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#99 of 668 in Prague
676 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#121 of 668 in Prague
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#349 of 668 in Prague
78 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#162 of 668 in Prague
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mala Strana (Little Quarter)

Neighborhood Profile
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Malá Strana is one of the oldest and the most beautiful neighborhoods in the city. Nestled underneath Prague Castle it was once a part of the Kings route taken by future kings on their way to coronation - originating in the Old Town, crossing Charles Bridge and leading to Saint Vitus Cathedral. Cobblestone streets are lined with picturesque medieval houses, remarkable palaces, churches, kitsch shops and restaurants. Do not hesitate to turn a corner into any narrow street. You will suddenly find yourself in a calm and charming neighborhood full of hidden gardens, parks with peacocks, fruit trees and ponds. As the neighborhood is a home to Czech Parliament and many ministries, you can also run into well-dressed officials. If you are thirsty or hungry, it is the right place to be. Restaurants offer delicious traditional food and of course, the best Czech beers.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel U Zlatych nuzek**** is attractive for its exclusive location on Prague's island Kampa in the lesser town area. The hotel is situated close to the Charles Bridge – you will find quiet there, although you will be right in the heart of historical city centre. Enjoy your stay in one of 10 well-equipped rooms, which have parquet, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and other amenities which will provide a pleasant stay. Each room has a bathroom with hairdryer, shower and/or bath. Don´t miss tasting the excellent Bohemian specialties, international cuisine, first-class wines and traditional Czech beer served in our stylish restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Scissors

Address: Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Scissors 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Golden Scissors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlatych Nuzek (At The Golden Scissors) Hotel Prague
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#109 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Family Hotel in Prague
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Golden Scissors staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Scissors staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quiet, accessibility, perfect team. And what a wonderful view of Prague in room n°10!”
 of 5 bubbles cmatwicki, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 6 is a corner room with a nice view of the bridge.”
 of 5 bubbles tripster453, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“remember there is no elevator , so luggages shall be brought by walking steps:)”
 of 5 bubbles claireandcassie, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Room #7 on "3rd" floor - huge and lovely. a lot of variety in the sizes and heights (one 4th floor room had low, slanted ceilings), so ask.”
 of 5 bubbles Travel2take_photos, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Request the highest floor. It's a few flights, but totally worth it - the view is beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles aimeenola, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay