We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Hotel Golden Star

Save
Share
Nerudova 171/48, Prague 118 00 Czech Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$80
View deal
Prestigia.com
$68
View deal
Expedia.com$80
Priceline
travelup.com$81
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (439)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (39)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 684 hotels in Prague
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Golden Star is located in a magnificent baroque building right underneath the Prague Castle. It offers an unforgettable view of Malá Strana (Lesser Side), the Prague Castle and the Old Town. Its staircase, which is 270 years old, and richly decorated ceilings contribute to the hotel’s antique atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with historical furniture and have free Internet access. Rooms look over Malá Strana (Lesser Side), the Royal Route, Prague Castle or the Old Town. You will reach the Charles Bridge and the Old Town by taking a short walk through the enchanting historical centre of Prague. You will be served a choice of typically Czech as well as international cuisine in a restaurant with an antique vaulted ceiling. Breakfast is served in the form of rich hot buffet. A limited number of parking places is available directly in front of the hotel. You can use free Internet spot in the lobby.
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
118Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
89Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
648Reviews20Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 549
  • 88
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mtrichards wrote a review Jan 6
Minneapolis, Minnesota114 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed in Room 23 which overlooked the fantastic view of the city and street. The room was simply amazing, large, high ceilings, stylish lighting with an extra room + stunning updated bath. Request it! The staff here was equally wonderful and helped with transfers from and to the train station. Breakfast is filling and the room is charming with , again , great view. The castle is just steps up the hill- so easy to check off your list. We walked everyone, not needing to use uber or other transport~ CHECK In here today and make all your dreams come true! Thank you Golden Star hotel~
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 23- great view and front of the building
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Goodie wrote a review Dec 2021
Paisley2 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked this as restrictions were easing for December 2021. However the week before we were due to arrive both Czech and UK governments started reintroducing restrictions which got more severe as the week went on. We complied with everything but the day before departure further restrictions were introduced requiring negative Covid tests within 48 hours before return to the UK. We slept on it but the consequences of 1 of us proving positive and having to isolate alone abroad for 10 days was just too much of a risk. We wouldn't know our results until the day we were meant to return so wouldn't be relaxed at all during our stay. We are both Key workers at home and just couldn't risk it so we decided not to go accepting we would be out of pocket. Nothing we could do about the flights but I contacted the hotel accepting I had booked a pre paid non refundable deal but asked if they would consider allowing us to change dates or offer a voucher towards a future stay. I received a short reply informing me no refunds were possible. I totally accept we were very late in giving notice, but we all know the current COVID situation. I wasn't asking for a refund, I was asking to change dates or at least some form of voucher for a future stay. I'm pretty sure the hotel wasn't full and will probably be some time before tourist confidence is high enough to make it full so not sure what the hotel had to lose but making a goodwill gesture. We would have been guests when the hotel probably had rooms not booked, we would have spent money in the bar and restaurant. I did reply one more time to point out I wasn't requesting a refund but have heard nothing. As far as this hotel was concerned, they had my money and weren't interested. While they were within their rights, it was rather short sighted and provides a vision of how they regard customer relations. We fully intend to visit Prague when restrictions ease again but we will be looking elsewhere for a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marek Cermak, General Manager at Hotel Golden Star
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Goodwin, we appreciate your honest feedback although we regard your complaint as very one sided without the understanding of the environment we currently operate in. First of all it is surprising that you accept the fact that flights were not refunded but you expect our hotel to issue a voucher for your future stay. In fact there is actually no difference between the two services. A room that is left empty due to a late cancellation comes at a cost very much the same as a seat on an airplane. Your assumption that hotels are empty and should therefore issue vouchers and accept last minute changes does not have a solid foundation. The occupancies are on a high level and a late cancellation is therefore a loss that we cannot, after so many forced closures, afford to absorb. We do understand that the environment is difficult for both hotels and their guests as governments have been changing rules from day to day but that is also the reason why our guests can chose between FLEXIBLE and NON REFUNDABLE rates. You chose the latter in exchange for a discount so you took the risk and I hope you will admit that is unfair to put the blame on us now. You also mention that there was no follow up from us after you replied to our first response, although my colleague Renata replied to you straight away explaining our decision again. I am resending the whole communication to you via email as a proof. Thank you. Marek Hotel Golden Star
Read more
Craig H wrote a review Dec 2021
Royton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Absolutely loved our stay here last week. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are exceptional. The breakfast was very nice and the restaurant is very clean. Can’t wait to return here one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
MJR wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
AMAZING location nestled in the castle district. The streets are filled with tourists during the day and by night it’s so quiet you can hear a pin drop. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we didn’t get the best sleep here as we could hear the guests below us in the late hours of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Artemis C wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Clean, modern and very comfortable, the Golden Star is at the same time part of Old Prague: a beautiful house with baroque stucco work just under the Castle, and (we were in Room 44) the most spectacular view over the city. The people were lovely, and the buffet breakfast was delcious with great coffee. We wanted to try the restaurant; but after having sat for ten minutes at lunch time with no one even bothering to welcome us, we went elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden star (zlata hvezda) hotel prague, golden star zlata hvezda prague
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Zlata Hvezda
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPraguePraha 1 (City Center) / Hradcany & Letna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Golden Star
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Golden Star?
Nearby attractions include St. Vitus Cathedral (0.2 miles), Prague Castle (0.2 miles), and Prague Chocolate Steiner & Kovarik (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Golden Star?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Golden Star?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Golden Star?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Golden Star?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Golden Star?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vegan's Restaurant Prague, U Tri jelinku, and Designum Café.
Does Hotel Golden Star have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Golden Star offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Golden Star?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Golden Star?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Golden Star?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Golden Star?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock (1.1 miles), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (1.9 miles), and Lobkowicz Palace (0.4 miles).