We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1.Republic

Show Prices
#106 of 669 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
1.Republic
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I only have good things to say about this hotel, the location was good the staff are amazing and the rooms are clean and have A/C. The mini bar in the room is no more expensive than the shop up the road so when you need a drink at night then the mini bar was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank D4v1d33
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good position, close to the main objectives, you can have a short walk to find all of them! good breakfast, clean hotel! an advantage is the parking in the garage- in the center of Prague - a little bit expensive, 20 euro/day, but it's ok ! Overall, a good location for a city break!

Helpful?
Thank nadir h
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear nadir h Thank you very for your review! We hope that you will return to stay soon again ! Our staff will be looking forward to your next visit Kind regards Alexandra Ticha More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is situated very close to the wenceslas square and about 15-20 mins from the astronomical clock and charles bridge. Restaurants, cafes, shops are nearby. Our first impression on the first day was not that good as the hotel has a terrible smell. Luckily it wasnt like this the following days. Rooms are clean and quite spacious i must... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonia_k3
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear tonia_k3 Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you liked your stay in 1. Republic hotel. We would like to thank you for your kind remarks about our services and breakfast. However I would like to adress your comment about the receptionist, who was on the phone. There are several activities that our receptionist have to... More 

o
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and comfortable with air conditioning. It is a little far from the center and walk 25 min from main terminal. But you can take underground (C?) to I.P. Pavlova stop (only two stops from main terminal) and walk 5 min to the hotel. Also, it is closed to trams #22 stop (10 min walk) then it... More 

Helpful?
Thank dxp0105a
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear dxp0105a, First, let me thak you for your review. We are very pleased, that you liked your stay in 1.Republic hotel and also for your remarks about our breakfast and personnel. I am very sorry that you had to wait at our reception, however the receptionist has to deal with various requirements. But we are always trying to do... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend in June 16. Would have rated it a 4 star but between them and booking.com... they goofed up on our reservation... and to top it off, we had to pay premium rates due to last minute booking. Pros ========= * Budget hotel, but would recommend you book in advance. They generally charge 2x rates over... More 

Helpful?
Thank adityabajaj549
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear adityabaja549 Thank you for your review. We are sorry abour the lost reservation, we are currently trying to find out, what went wrong. I am sorry that experience with kids affected your evaluation, however conditions for children's stay are shown on booking.com and also on our webiste. I would like to get in touch with you regarding details of... More 

Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Stayed in a suite on the second floor. Rooms were large and tidy. Good storage and bathroom facilities. Not much of a view but is situated very close to Wenceslas Square and close to the main train station. Staff are friendly and breakfast is a very large spread. WiFi can be a bit patchy at times but is available on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear Gillian R Thanks a lot for you positive review. We will be looking forward to your next visit Kind regards Alexandra Ticha More 

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Although room looks clean and cozy, it was the worst stay in my life. Ventilation system of the bathroom is broken, and never stops making big head-aching sounds. Even though bathroom is two doors away from the bedroom, closing doors does not help this problem at all. Staff said there is no other room they can replace me, but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank luwak3
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear luwak3, allow me to respond to your review, that you wrote to Tripadvisor. I am very sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay at 1. Republic hotel. The ventilation system in our bathrooms is set to start everytime the light is switched on and it turns itself off automatically after five minutes. We checked every room after reading... More 

Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and had the apartment upstairs. All bedrooms were spacious and beds very comfy. It said it had two bathrooms - it did, but one of the bathroom had two showers and the other only a sink and a toilet so it didn't help much for us when showering in the morning... Location was excellent and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DrammenDrammen
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear DrammenDrammen Thank you for your time, that you spend by writting your review. We are glad , that you liked your stay in 1. Republic hotel and we are looking forward to your next stay in Prague. Kind reagrds Alexandra Ticha More 

Riihimäki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We spent three nights in this hotel. Upon arrival we were stressed because of working too hard but when we left the hotel we were relaxed and cheerful. The room was very big and comfortable. The beds were excellent. You can sleep well and relax. We did not hear any noise from the street. we loved the old fashioned atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markku1951
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear Markku1951 Thank you very much for your wonderful review ! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in Prague , and we all look forward to your next visit in our hotel. Kind regards Alexandra Ticha More 

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Pretty clean hotel, small but friendly officers. Bathroom Shower works perfect. Sometimes, internet goes slow, but it's ok. About 15-20minutes walk/ tram to the Main Street of old city. Thanks for the coffee you served for free while I was waiting a taxi in the lobby.

Helpful?
Thank Utaroh
firstrepublic, Manažer at 1.Republic, responded to this review

Dear Utaroh Thank you for your time and that you will share review at Tripadvisor.com We are glad , that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you satisfied with the services our staff. Thank you one more for your review and we hope to see you during your next visite in Prague . Kind regards Alexandra Ticha More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#55 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#118 of 669 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#59 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Praha 2
Deminka Palace
Deminka Palace
#120 of 669 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#204 of 669 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Nove Mesto (New Town)

Neighborhood Profile
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Nearly 700 hundred meters long, Wenceslas Square represents the most frequent and buzzing crossroads of the city. The National Museum in the upper part of the square watches over your spending spree in countless shops and retail stores lining the entire square, which ends at Na Příkopě, the most famous shopping street. When tired or broke, you can explore the city's underpasses, which can take you to the Old Town or to the courtyards of art nouveau houses with secret gems of greenery, white benches and rose bushes that provide unexpected peace in the midst of the city. Be sure to pay a visit to the traditional cafés, classic Czech pubs, cinemas and theaters. National Theater near the river has a lot to offer to foreigners. Go to the river bank and enjoy live music and drinks while watching a sunset behind Prague Castle.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel 1. Republic is located in the very centre of Prague, some 400 meters from the Wenceslas Square, in a peaceful locality and within easy reach of the public transport. It has come into being by reconstruction of the first-republic house (built in 1925), has been awarded the star rating 4**** according to the standards of Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants and is equipped in the style of the First Republic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1.Republic

Address: V tunich 1625/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Price Range: $59 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1.Republic 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your 1.Republic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#145 Family Hotel in Prague
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay