We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Heritage Killenard

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,723: English reviews
Start your review of The Heritage Killenard
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

After the over the top St Paddy's day parade in Dublin, this quiet, elegant, and lush retreat was my pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. The spa like bath is generously and cozily appointed with a towel warmer and rubber ducky, perfect for soaking away evidence of earlier debauchery. A more adult and civilized celebration continued in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelover72
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

It's not a terrible hotel by any means, it just that it doesn't live up to its billing on any level. The room was grand, the food in the bar was grand, the breakfast was only ok,cooked well before and put in warm storage ! Yuk. Dinner was better except for the 1970's veg & potatos. Plenty of better options...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ger C
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we had my daughters wedding here on sat 25th march 2017 everything was just fantastic food staff and music we could not have had a better experience everyone was amazed with the staff and the service if you want a fantastic wedding day this is the place to have it the staircase in the hotel was great for photographs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuffemargaret
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of your experience with us for your daughters wedding. It was our pleasure looking after you and your guests for the weekend and we are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, 3yr old son & I stayed in the Penthouse apartments (looked after by the golf club) as a little midweek treat. I was dealing with Ger for the booking who was most helpful & accommodating. I have stayed in the hotel before and was quite impressed with it & same goes for the apartments. Very spacious & extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Sinead, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your dining experience in the hotel's Slieve Bloom bar and found the team exceptional. The chocolate & caramel mousse is a new dessert our our bar menu and is proving very popular. You are correct in saying the penthouse apartments in which you stayed are not...

Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for Valentines for our 41st wedding anniversary. The room was spacious with a great view of the golf course. The food was fab the staff were very friendly courteous and professional. The spa experience was something else a definite thumbs up would definitely recommend a stay and a spa treatment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Gerard O, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. We are pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and would recommend to others. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime soon. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just want to say a big thanks for the 5* treatment during our stay. The suite was fab as was the thermal suite, dinner (The Pastry Chef on the dessert WOW) and breakfast. It was a massive treat to be waited on hand and foot in the luxury of The Heritage.Your team of staff are a credit to you.Can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0nyd1966
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear t0nyd1966, Many thanks for your fantastic review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was our pleasure looking after you and we are delighted you had such a enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heritage Killenard. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a short week there, enjoyed it a lot. Room was vast and well equipped, clean and very quiet. Hotel's condition is very good. Staff very courteous and helpful. Dining room has little "ambiance"...bar's nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet is good and varied (however understaffed...twice I had my food from the buffet and no one came to take my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph2310
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Steph2310, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast experience which will be discussed with the team and addressed accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you walk through the doors, you know you are walking into a special place. The luxury surroundings and the staff are 5 star. A special mention to Andrew who was very helpful over the couple of days we were there. Can't wait to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougal59
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear dougal59, Thank you for your review and your recommendation of The Heritage Killenard. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable experience. I will pass on your kind words to Andrew and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is something else! I must say this year we broke our tradition to celebrate Xmas at home and choose to spend it in a hotel and we picked this one. WoW. I am in love with this little treat. We stayed in one of the suits and room is perfect woth view to golf fields and balcony. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Inga_Vizgaudyte
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear Vizgaudyte, Thank you for your review and your continued support of The Heritage Killenard. It was our pleasure having you stay with us over our first Christmas period open and we are delighted you enjoyed it so much. Our aim is to build on that success and make next Christmas even more special and hope you can make an...

Blackrock, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the bar last Saturday night, a group of five of us . There was a good buzz around the place. We hadn't been for a few months as we had found the bar service and food very poor several times last year. A few years ago it was very good but had gone downhill, anyone we mentioned it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank penelope105
ONeillCiaran, Operations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review

Dear penelope105, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your most recent visit and found the service excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Ciaran O'Neill

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

929 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (390)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (538)
Viewed
Amenities (120)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (59)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Superior Twin Family Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
985 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
817 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
12.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
235 reviews
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Price Range: $142 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Heritage Killenard staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Georgia
over a year ago
7 months ago
2 days ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Laois, Ireland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Heritage Killenard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Look for a room over looking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles 937gerardo, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles t0nyd1966, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 403 has a lovely view of the countryside and mountains”
 of 5 bubbles dougal59, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Worth the euros”
 of 5 bubbles Maybe_girl3, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“In my opinion The Heritage is the opposite of city hotels.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesbB4839DO, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question