We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rookery Manor

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (480)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (156)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome and exceptional service await you at Rookery Manor – a privately run 16th century boutique hotel and spa. Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your wedding, spa break, hotel stay, corporate event, private party or dining experience. This is a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and luxurious facilities. Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Secured parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Private balcony
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1,110Reviews
17Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 434
  • 281
  • 188
  • 107
  • 100
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Every marriage has its trials and tests. On our wedding anniversary, my wife and I needed this weekend to be a break from them, not to be one of them. Maybe I'm missing something and that the constant hum of the metres away M5, the cracked paving, the liitter strewn walkways, the closed pool and scummy hot tubs, the pint glasses, bottles and fag butts scattered everywhere are a design feature, a bid to attract the inner city holiday maker not wishing to surrender familiar squalor to too much luxury. Maybe it's cleverness and not just couldn't give a toss cynism on the owners behalf. I have my doubts. It's not a manor. It's a converted farmhouse and adding bits and pieces from the Jewson's 'Ye Olde Castle' range of pre moulded concrete products doesn't make it medieval. The service in the restaurant was medieval. When I say restaurant, I mean large, modern, concrete barn kitted out, again, from the Jewson's 'Sheriff of Nottingham' line of pre cast concrete ballistrades and fake marquee canopies. We stayed two nights. On the first, a third of the items on the menu weren't available. My wife's meal didn't turn up at all and when we pointed this out to one of two ladies who were working that evening, we were told that it was too late. We smiled and said that it didn't matter - we were celebrating and we werent going to let it be spoiled. It did spoil things though. On the second night even fewer items were available on the same menu. If we'd stayed for Sunday I'm sure we would have had to eat the Ikea tablecloths. Two young men were working, neither of whom had done so in the restaurant before, neither of whom could make the cocktails on the menu (they couldn't find enough menus either) and it took ninety minutes for our delicious starters to arrive. It was actually delicious, as were the mains and sweets. Four couples couldn't bear the wait any longer and walked out, leaving us feeling as if we were in some endurance 'to the bitter end' tv show. It was all just utterly, terribly understaffed and underqualified. I felt sorry for the two young gents and for my poor wife who maybe should have married that banker. I bet he doesn't use Groupon. This place is misold. It is all fake and crumbling from disappointment. A small wedding was held on Saturday and we saw the bride screaming at the groom from afar, turning away from him in tortured regret. We couldn't hear what they were saying because what sounded like a convoy of overladen cattle lorries went trundling up the M5 at the same time. We complained. When we did the staff didn't seem uneasy or abashed just relieved to be on familiar ground. They are used to apologising, sighing with practiced regret. A highlight was the loud, rhythmic banging noise in the steam room. When I queeried this I was told - with a straight face - that it was meant to be that way! It was meant to sound as if someone was reenacting 'The Great Escape' in there. They may have been, come to think of it. Please don't give these people any more of your money. It's all they care about. I promise you will regret, as I do, feeding their indiference.
Read more
It’s local so it was convenient but it didn’t feel at all special. Pool was out of action. Shampoo dispenser In ladies shower was missing- lucky I took my own. I reported ladies flush not working and it was addressed quickly but no one is checking these things routinely. Very slippery shower floors in all showers and floors and tiles look tired with discoloured grouting. Just needs a bit of an update and attention to detail. Scones were very delish though.
Read more
Despite being there for a pleasant event in our life, this turned out to be a weird experience for my family. We chose to stay in one of the ‘luxury lodges’ that are placed about 2 minutes away from the main building. What I liked ? The place where the party took place looked nice, the inside decorations looked beautiful and the outside garden with the lake and all the greens were an extra bonus. The party food was good and the portions were reasonable. What We did not like ? The accommodation, despite appearing a newly developed place, was very poorly looked after. All the place was dusty, full of spiders and webs, dead insects and hair all over the place. We have a toddler who usually plays on the floor, in 15 minutes he was so dirty and dusty that we were wondering what happened to him. The flooring was clearly last cleaned long time ago, the bed was not changed and the towels appered used. We requested a high chair for my toddler, not only that the staff couldn’t bother to provide it before hand- they asked my husband to pick-up an old piece of furniture, probably as old as 10 years ago - full of food / vomit/ God knows what else and again SPIDER WEB. Disgusting, I had to give it a good scrub in order to put my child in. We were not provided any toilet paper, nor toiletries usually provided in a hotel/ guesthouse/ caravan/ mouse trap. I cannot decide what the place was ! We paid extra for a hot tub, as we wanted to relax during our stay... well, the temperature wouldn’t go higher than 32deg. So, unable to use ! As breakfast was meant to be included, I was shocked to observe that some food was running out by 09:00am and no one bothered to replace it. Let’s make it clear - if breakfast time is between 08:00-10:00 there should be enough food provided for the number of people accommodated THE WHOLE TIME. Otherwise perhaps they should reconsider the offer and prices. There were some staff over there( especially some male gender ones ) that were innappropriately dressed. I don’t need and want to see any of their shapes and bumps, the trousers should not highlight the workout done in the gym. I am sure that must be a dress code that needs closer attention. In the evening, when we were gathering together with my friends for a few drinks, a very strong odour of agricultural waste literally stroke our senses. Seriously ? Is this what I need when going to relax with my friends, to feel as Farming is my future career ? No, thank you Rookery Manor !!! My friends actually had a much worse experience as they had been relocated without notice but this is already their story. All in all, I won’t return to the place and I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND to anyone to book the place. Same prices as on the mediteraniean coast with very much to nothing in exchange. Clearly, they have very low standards !
Read more
We stayed for the weekend as a Wedding guests, something Rookery Manor majors on. The rooms adjacent to the spa are average and unimpressive so at £200 per night, I feel it was way over-priced. We found it difficult to find bar staff for drinks and although eventually a lovely helpful girl assisted, she advised she was not usually on the bar so didn't know anything about it? Outside tables were not cleaned up, ashtrays not emptied, and we felt it a little shabby (no hand towels in any of the communal toilets). As Maid of Honour I am aware of a number of Wedding issues that were overlooked with the Planner not in until 2.00 pm, just an hour before the wedding, so all the morning arrangements, seating, flowers, cake, trying to get into the Bridal rooms, had to be attended to by the Bride/Groom and Bridesmaids - very poor. The food was nice (although no meringue in the eton mess though) and as I say the staff were friendly but the whole place needs a revamp and certainly if charging 5* prices, provide 5* service at all times.
Read more
We bought a groupon voucher for afternoon tea. It's an absolutely delightful experience. The staff was nice and welcoming, cakes were delicious. We sat for hours and visited the beautiful garden afterwards. Highly recommended.
Read more
Response from RookeryManor, General Manager at Rookery Manor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Lai L, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are very happy that you had a delightful experience with us. It sounds like you made the most of your visit by spending time in our beautiful gardens. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Rookery Manor
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rookery manor hotel edingworth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWeston super MareEdingworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing