We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akasha Wellness Retreat

Save
Share
Strada Principala 187 Pestera, Moieciu 507136 Romania
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (60)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Akasha Wellness Retreat
Updated 05/19/20

About

#1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Moieciu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The R/E.TREAT accommodates a maximum of 20 guests at one time in 10 boutique bedrooms. Each of our guest bedrooms is special to us and each has handmade decor items, a blend of modern romantic with natural elements from within our environment.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Public wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Massage
Open-air bath
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Romanian
184Reviews4Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ellybean2013 wrote a review Jun 2020
Madrid, Spain7 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful place, great yoga teaching and food, all vegan and delicious. However I heard of staff being treated poorly by the management from several people staying there, and I also had issues with my booking which were unresolved, i.e. I booked several treatments which I was then told were unavailable when I arrived and no effort was made to resolve this accordingly. I spoke to three different people while I was there, and a suitable alternative was not provided. It's marketed to guests as a family business and community, however, it seems that it's actually primarily a money making enterprise and behind closed doors there are poor practices and poor customer service at play. Several of my emails went ignored when I tried to follow up afterwards. A shame, as it's a beautiful place but it's a shame it's marketed as ethical and community-focused when it isn't really. GIf you go, know what your money is going towards.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Irina Raileanu, Owner at Akasha Wellness Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi ellybean2013, Thank you for your review. We tried to find on which retreat you were last year in September, we actually can't identify your booking based on your Tripadvisor name which leaves us to respond to your comments without actual facts. Thank you for your kind words on our yoga teacher, the chef, the food, the location how beautiful it is etc which is, all testament of our management as the creators of this experience. You may also know as a guest that this is our home, we actually live here it's not just a business as you indicated. We share our home with guests and staff on the retreats we organize. A yoga retreat, like any other, is a business. We are not ashamed of that. You paid for a service which we delivered, to your expectations. Yoga Retreats in general, especially our small, 9 room home, in a remote village in Transylvania can hardly classify as a money-making enterprise. But because we offer yoga retreats we are vulnerable to such comments whereby some guests expect yoga retreats to run “ethically” like ashrams. Perhaps you would be more suited to visit a community-led donation-based retreat without a set structure, without actual employees, or any social responsibilities etc. Whereby the cycle of money like you suggested is a closed system not a circular economy like it happens here. According to this logic, a yoga teacher or a retreat center should not ask to be paid for their service, it is not considered ethical despite the rigorous training they have to do and the demands put on them by their participants. We have an internal code of ethics that also considers sustainability on a social, economic and environmental level for the village where we exist. We believe we offer excellent value for money for our participants that includes all organic food, beyond average comfort in our rooms, excellent yoga teachers and a well run programme for €650 per 5 nights all inclusive. In September when you indicated you visited Akasha we had an average of 14 guests per week and 12 full-time staff, all with social security benefits, not volunteers. If your goal of a retreat here was to identify our practices on how we treat our staff you should have spoken to each one of them, especially the 8 Romanian staff from the village which we retrained, many that work with us for the last 5 years who now have guaranteed retirement pensions, can pay for their further education and health benefits and for whom the experience of working for Akasha is as life-changing as coming as a guest, on a personal level and for their families. This is something we have always wanted to create, job opportunities and a nice environment for our team to grow with us. And yes, we require our staff to be professional, to be efficient, to be compassionate, due to the delicate nature of the service we deliver, just like our guests are demanding of us. We are a family business and we run our entire retreat as a family. As in any people oriented team, perfection is not something we can ever strive for. But we try our best, and as in any people led organisation regardless of their service or product, if there aren’t shared values, a common mindset and people do not understand the experience we wish to give or the message we wish to transmit they will always judge us, harshly like in this case, but do not necessarily need to be part of that community. If you happened to hear comments from one isolated person who was not happy here, it happens in every organisation, despite our best efforts, it is more a reflection of themselves projected on to you, a conduct which we cannot tolerate and most likely that person is no longer part of our carefully curated team for this reason. It's interesting you talk about us in the "behind closed doors" however you only saw one side of the story, that of a guest for which you indicated you had a pleasant experience. Regarding the treatments which you did not receive for which an alternative was not provided according to your review please contact us to give us the chance to check this and rectify this issue for you. The only service which we could not deliver in September 2019 is our Herbal Bath which we discontinued due to our decision to minimize waste of natural resources, the reserves of spring water that is fast depleting in this area. If this is the issue you experience we apologize deeply for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for posting and giving us a chance to respond. Irina, Management of Akasha.
Read more
metelz wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The Yoga Teacher Training Course in Akasha felt as if I had finally arrived at Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry. When I entered my room a personalised welcoming letter with was waiting on the bedsheet alike the Hogwarts letter. The atmosphere of community and growth that is created in this space has magical features. Every room has an artificial fireplace and the quotes on the walls that are dispersed throughout the house remind about the talking pictures in J.K. Rowlings magical world. Three times a day there is a magnificent meal appearing in the common area. Credits go to the amazing woman chef cook Alexandra assisted by her wonderful and experienced local cooking team. Their plant based creations meet every nourishing and aesthetic aspect that one could require without using the controversial exploitation of House elfs. All the subjects that we treat are somehow related to magic also known as Yoga. The names of the Asanas (postures) and part of the philosophical texts are introduced in Sanskrit which reminds sometimes of the wording of the spells introduced at Hogwarts (Trianga Mukha Eka Pada Pachimottonasana). While the potion classes at Hogwarts are taught in the dungeon of the castle, the practical yoga classes at Akasha take place downstairs, where the Shala is located. While balancing on one foot, your gaze can find support in focusing on this characteristic red brick wall, which is pretty similar to the entrance to Diagon Alley in the courtyard of the Leaky cauldron. Instead of fortune-telling we practice meditation, thus we are learning to guide people with our voice into their inner presence. Homework can be written in the cozy common area with a panoramic mountain view next to a warming fire place. A tasty cup of tea and the loveliest people will always be at reach. Furthermore the surroundings of Akasha are full with magical creatures and beautiful landscape. You won’t go for a walk without meeting at least one dog. Chances are high that you’ll cross some sheep, chicken and even horses on the near surroundings. On sundays you can organise a trip to the next villages and discover some local and touristic aspects of Romanian culture just like the Hogsmeade excursions at Hogwarts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
mirunastefan92 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bucharest, Romania28 contributions1 helpful vote
It’s been almost 1 month since I’ve left Bucharest and surrendered myself to what seems to be the most challenging experience of my life (so far) - the Yoga Teacher Training @ Akasha. I could spend days talking about the learning process, the extreme feelings, the nature, the benefits of a vegan diet, yoga & everything that comes with it. But I feel like I need more time to let everything settle. So I’ll just express my gratitude by giving this lovely place the 5* it deserves! From ambiance to the people who create the team, I only have great feelings when remembering the time spent at Akasha. It truly is that kind of place that helps you find home within yourself. <3
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There are some rooms with an amazing view of the mountains, but you probably won't spend that...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
dianarogo2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Cluj-Napoca, Romania1 contribution
I went on a month long YTT and I literally loved everything! I'm not vegan, but the food was so delicious, it got me excited with every meal. They overdelivered on everything. We had snacks all the time, they gave out feedback forms and implemented all the preferences right away. The sauna and hot tub under the starry night was something I never even dreamt of having on my training. The rooms were extra cute, the place is more like a boutique hotel than an ashram. There was as much staff making sure everything is perfect, as there were students attending the course. We felt like being part of this big, close family and they truly created this deep sense of community among the group. There were also personal development instructors in the first, second and last week of the course, asking the right questions at the right time to help us navigate the experience with clarity and intent. I truly cherish every memory, conversation and morning or evening practice I had during the entire month. I also really enjoyed our walks around the village and to a nearby bat cave. I'm truly amazed by the quality of guests they attract from all over the world. Literally the only downside I can think of was hearing the wind a little loud during two nights when there were windstorms in Romania, but there's really not much they can do to stop the weather, right? Otherwise, there are dogs and cats on the premise. They're all extra friendly, clean and they give an even home-like feel to the place. They ask for allergies before hand. Oh, and they have this great library where travellers exchange books. On my free evenings when I wouldn't be sweating in the sauna, I'd be chilling in the main room with one of the many interesting reads they have. I'm planning on coming back for sure. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
evdokiaromanova wrote a review Feb 2020
Vienna, Austria1 contribution
I was amazed with Akasha, a place that is hidden in the depth of Transylvania and has so much to offer on regards to physical and emotional healing. Thank you Akasha that you exist in this world and continue on amazing work that you are doing!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
RomaniaTransylvaniaCentral RomaniaMoieciu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Akasha Wellness Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Piatra Craiului National Park (3.1 miles), Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle) (3.6 miles), and Museum Medieval Bran (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include DOR, Bran Chalet Restaurant, and Conacul Bratescu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Akasha Wellness Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Akasha Wellness Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Akasha Wellness Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Akasha Wellness Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Romanian.