We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marco Polo Motor Inn

Agoda.com$68*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$85*
$68*
$71*
$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Marco Polo Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Marco Polo Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights - we had a family room. Here are the things that make this a terrible place to stay: - we found cigarette butts in our bed!!! (clearly not clean sheets!). When we took the matter to the reception, they apologised and offered us a can of softdrink! The following day we found another cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dne2004
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are deeply sorry to hear of your experience. We understand that this is not acceptable, but please rest assured that this is not of our usual standard. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we have taken this opportunity to replace our old house...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived he was nice but didn't tell us where to park so we guessed to go up the ramp but that was a stupid mistake cause no parks and a very tight area to turn around in. We got into the rooms which they looked basic but then my friend got a towel out and it had blood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear of your experience with us. Should our guests require any assistance with parking or maneuvering their vehicle, we urge them to come forwards, as our reception staff are always happy to assist. Moreover, we would like to extend our apologies regarding the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon reading the positive reviews, my friends and I thought it would be a decent place to stay for the night, but we were mistaken. I don't know why anyone would give this place 4 stars let alone 5; I'm being quite generous in giving it 2. The car park we were guaranteed didn't exist, and there's only one ramp...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alicia D
Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures and marketing is honest. This is a budget motel and I paid $110 a night for 4 nights. It didn't promise anything more than it delivered. And if what you want is a place to sleep at night and you're not fussed about the aesthetics - then this will suit! Not a bargain, but surprisingly quiet (given it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kym M
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is far from Sydney downtown. There is little around it. Our room was on the second floor. It was reached by exiting reception and using the key card to open a gate leading to a covered car park, passing through to a set of stairs and walking up four flights to the second floor (yes, no elevator) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AncalagonTheBlack
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

This is an old building, no frills BUT it is as presented and very reasonable tariff. We had 3 nights, complimentary newspaper from reception, well made bed is comfortable, sheets crisp and clean, fluffy white towels, everything is well maintained. Aircon, Kettle, toaster, microwave-we were very comfortable and all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and had a sense...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn v
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good evening, We are delighted to hear of your positive experience with us. Our staff always strive towards cleanliness, as well as management offering the best value and quality linen and towels. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, and we will be passing on your kind words to all members of staff. We hope to have you again...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a "family room", usually a family room is larger but it was same as twin room but with 2 extra beds squeezed in , bathroom small,no bedside table , old metal bed horrible mattress

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please be aware that our prices vary based on the season, and we always advise guests to book early to ensure they get the best deals. Thank you for bringing the mattress issue to our attention, as many guests enjoy the comfort of our beds, we...

Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while on a current family holiday and was there 3 nights. It's a budget hotel I understand that and we were all pleasantly surprised at how neat and tidy it was. You get what you pay for. What Marco Polo totally lack in is customer service and this is where I have a problem. After the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana001
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Guest Relations Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and we are glad that you have found that the rooms were neat and tidy. We are incredibly sorry to hear of your experience, and understand that this is unacceptable. We have looked further into the matter and spoken with our housekeeping-staff and receptionists, and please...

Brisbane
Reviewed January 15, 2017

The room that I was in was very dated with non-matching carpet patches. However, it was pretty clean and the facilities were good. Excellent secutiy, free undercover parking, a toaster and a microwave (unfortunatley no instructions on how to use). The fridge was of a good size, but the freezer compartment didn't work.There was an unusual array of toiletries including...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison D
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alison D, Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve the motel. We’re glad to hear that you found our accommodation clean, secure, convenient, and friendly. We hope that you choose Marco Polo Motor Inn as your place to stay again. Warm regards, Marco Polo Motor Inn Sydney  

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Super clean rooms, tiled throughout and very airy. The guest amenities cater for the forgetful. Pleasant relaxed staff & very accomodating in a non pretentious environment. The rooms provide good privacy from the outside world. Some of the best Zzzzzz's I've ever caught were at the Marco Polo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerr524
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gerr524, Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn Sydney. We are always trying to find ways to make our guests comfortable, so we are glad you enjoyed the guest amenities like free wifi, free parking, and toiletries. We hope that you will come back to stay at...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summer Hill
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
483 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marco Polo Motor Inn offers budget 3 1/2 star accommodations conveniently located half way between Sydney City CBD and Olympic Park at Homebush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motor Inn

Address: 42 Parramatta Rd, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield > Summer Hill
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Motor Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marco Polo Motor Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Marco Polo Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Only stay here if you really need to, as it's well overpriced for what you get.”
aliciad440, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Away from the main road”
kymmccauley, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“as there is no elevator, get a room as close to Ground as possible.”
  • reasonable size
  • the last room, the rest were booked
  • the only closet
  • the walkways outside the rooms
  • looking towards the door
  • The view from the front of the hotel
AncalagonTheBlack, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“No lifts, so choose a lower floor if you haveissues with stairs.”
alisond751, Jan 15, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the renovated rooms if you prefer a more modern luxurious stay.”
Gerr524, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$68* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$71
Travelocity$69
AMOMA$85
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates