We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort

Save
Share
5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979 Puerto Rico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
61 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$259
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Booking.com
$259
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$342
$234
View deal
SAVE $108
Free cancellation until 10/08/21
Hotels.com$259
eDreams$259
StayForLong$342
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1778)
360
Panoramas (71)
Room & Suite (500)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Updated 01/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The recently renovated oceanfront Royal Sonesta San Juan is located on Isla Verde beach and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, warm tropical weather, seven restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and fitness center, natural beauty, fun, and adventure, plus sizzling nightlife and great shopping nearby, your stay will surely be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at Royal Sonesta San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Patio
Children's playground
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3,283Reviews220Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,780
  • 915
  • 319
  • 145
  • 125
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sheryl W wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York83 contributions19 helpful votes
The security goes beyond securing the premises... they are LITERALLY WATCHING EVERY TIME YOU open your terrace door!!! They DO NOT make clear that vapes are a part of cigarettes and electronic cigarettes. a $250 ADDITIONAL CHARGE They ( the security ) even CALLED MY ROOM AT 3 AM! To tell me they saw me on my terrace. NOT COOL - kinda creepy. Then they HOLD $100 A DAY on your card.... A DAY AND A RESORT fee that they tell you UPON CHECK-IN. Check-in and Check out was seamless - MAYBE because of my days of stay. Mon-Fri. The Rooms were good enough I suppose. They do a a mini fridge in the room and a full length mirror outside of bathroom. We had an ocean view King. Enough charging outlets were there. Re: towels.... we did call housekeeping one time and the other time I asked a housekeeper for towels and a new toilet roll off her cart. The beach... is good enough. You have to swim past the brief seaweed to get to the somewhat clearish - cloudy waters. Waters were warm, and the sun was out - which helped my stay. Also beach chairs, towels, and umbrella's come with your stay. The only place where I felt somewhat at ease..... except for the quality of guests on the beach. I felt like I was in Lil Bronx or mini part 2 of Miami South Beach Spring Break. This is the cost of not renting a private villa. We didn't eat on the premises even though there is a Ruth Chris and Sak-i Japanese fusion restaurant. There is a market across the street that serves breakfast and lunch and liquor. Also a CVS across the street where you can pick up any last minute knick-knacks. Location is an 8 min drive from airport. Not bad for a quick va-cay.... My two gripes are the Creepy surveillance of your terrace and the quality level of other guests there. I just felt I paid TOO much for a FEW days to be 'stalked" like that. I would like to sit on my terrace with an easy mind.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Noelia E wrote a review Jan 2021
20 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My family of four stayed at this Gem in a paradise in Martin Luther King Jr weekend. The staff was very friendly, the room was great and the outdoor areas were stunning. My son left his phone behind in the pool and Security staff and Mr Velez Security Manager were very kind and helpful. They found the phone and contacted my husband. He even returned the phone himself. They made me and my family feel safe during the stay. I highly recommend this hotel due to the excelent service to any family. I definitely will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Responded Jan 25, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon in a near future. Jennifer Williams FOM
Read more
Winstonsmom wrote a review Apr 14
Houston, Texas11 contributions27 helpful votes
We booked a room with an ocean view, king bed. The accommodations were comfortable and clean but nothing really special. There were no towels in the room and were told to go to lobby to pick up due to Covid restrictions. PR has a very strict policy of negative covid testing, masks in public areas, and curfews which I appreciated. When were checked in we were told at the desk that they would put a $500 hold on our credit card to charge incidentals with the balance returned. On check out we were told that there was a $50 resort fee per day that would not be returned. We booked a package deal and based our booking on a specific budget. This additional $250 came as a complete surprise because it was not disclosed before we booked. The hotel is nothing special and for that additional $50 per day we would have booked another hotel if that was what we wanted. Why are the use of the "amenities" not included in the cost of your room? It's not as if you can say, "well, I'm just going to sleep here and will not use your pool, beach chairs or gym." Beware of this hidden fee if you book! I just did not appreciate the dishonesty and will never stay at another Sonesta again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Williams, Owner at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your response. We do apologize for any inconveniences you had experienced with us. Your feedback is very important with us and we take it very serious to improve in our services. Regards, Royal Sonesta San Juan
Read more
Amanda I wrote a review Apr 12
New York City, New York101 contributions51 helpful votes
We booked this hotel after canceling our trip to Miami due to news of overcrowding and rowdy crowds. The lady checking us in was very cold so the very start of our stay wasn't pleasant. We then went to the rooms which are beautiful and apparently re-done but make zero sense. The balconies are not real balconies- they are extremely small and you can only stand out there. We booked an ocean view room but our view was really the top of the building below us and a bit of the ocean. The sink and shower had dirt in them so i don't think they were clean. The shower has no buffer in it between the floor so prepare for water in the bathroom. The only mirrors in the room are in the bathroom so if you're trying to get ready while someone is using the bathroom- bring your own mirror. The cafe every morning was packed so we went down the street for coffee and breakfast. The food at Ocean Grill was mediocre to say the least and overpriced. The pool was dirty and overcrowded and a little too loud for my liking on a relaxing vacation. We went off the resort for dinner every night so beware of limited taxis and ubers. Overall, the staff (not the woman checking us in with the glasses) was really pleasant and accommodating but we will not rebook this resort again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Williams, Owner at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your response. We do apologize for any inconveniences you had experienced with us. Your feedback is very important with us and we take it very serious to improve in our services. Regards, Royal Sonesta San Juan
Read more
Emily L wrote a review Apr 12
Wilmington, Delaware380 contributions31 helpful votes
The setting of the hotel is great, it’s on the beach with a lovely pool, numerous restaurants & the rooms are new and sleek! However, the check in was a mess, most everyone I came in contact with at the hotel was rude, short with me and off putting. The beach and pool were way too crowded! The beach had trash all over it and the pool had guest eating in it! Oh and there are at least 20 security guard roaming the grounds at all time which feels wrong. I know I will never be back! Hopefully the hotel with fix itself.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Williams, Owner at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your response. We do apologize for any inconveniences you had experienced with us. Your feedback is very important with us and we take it very serious to improve in our services. Regards, Royal Sonesta San Juan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$214 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental san juan hotel isla verde, intercontinental san juan resort and casino
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
InterContinental San Juan
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoCarolinaIsla Verde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
398
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Nearby attractions include Oasis Casino at Embassy Suites San Juan (0.3 miles), Club Brava (0.1 miles), and Chabad Jewish Center of Puerto Rico (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Entrevinos, Hijole - Cocina Mexicana (Isla Verde), and Alambique Beach Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Sonesta San Juan Puerto Rico Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortín de San Jerónimo del Boquerón (4.4 miles), Antiguo Acueducto Rio Piedras (4.5 miles), and Henry Klumb House (3.2 miles).