Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Port
Traveler (384)
Villa Bedroom
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 lodge in Chunga
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Mukambi Safaris is a Dutch family run safari company in Zambia with three camps in Kafue National Park, one of the largest unspoiled wilderness areas in the world. Mukambi Safari Lodge is your gateway to Kafue National Park, one of the biggest and last remaining true wilderness areas of Africa. Activities consist of game drives, sunset boat cruises, fishing trips and walking safaris on which you are likely to see elephant, lion, leopard, cheetah, and hippo besides an incredible variety of birds. Fig Tree Bush Camp is situated next to a beautiful beach created by the dried sand banks of the Shishamba River. The camp overlooks a large lagoon, 1.7 km long and about 60m wide. Busanga Plains Camp is the seasonal luxury bush camp of Mukambi Safaris located deep in the heart of the famous Busanga Plains, a stunning wetland area in the north of beautiful Kafue National Park. The camp in Busanga offers an intimate experience with our tented accommodation in the middle of the floodplain.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Massage
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View

Location

Chunga Zambia
Getting there
Lusaka Airport
261Reviews3Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 181
  • 66
  • 8
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Louisa wrote a review Feb 2021
Stockholm, Sweden55 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent a weekend at Mukambi with my best friend and was positively overcome by the beautiful facilities, staff friendliness and customised personal service we received. I've lived more than 15 years in Africa and have visited over 20 countries on the continent, and this was one of the most memorable safari trips I've been on.

The lodge owner, Robyn, graciously welcomed us with an early check in at 9:30am and kindly provided me with internet and a quiet spot to finalise some work I had. The attention to detail at Mukambi is something I picked up on and commend - from the locally crafted soap and shampoos in our room to the food presentation and tasteful décor throughout the lodge. The two swimming pools were refreshingly cool on a hot day, and there's an abundance of seating areas to choose between to chill, read, play board games and take in the scenes and nature.

All our meals were delectable and freshly prepared with local ingredients and great variation, and my vegetarian friend thoroughly enjoyed her specially prepared meals. I particularly enjoyed the freshly baked bread provided with our meals, and the cakes and pastries served with 4pm tea overlooking the spectacular Kafue river were another highlight!

All our activities were carefully planned and modified to our requests (we combined fishing on our sunset river cruise, and our game drive routes were adjusted to the game we wanted to view). Our fantastic guide David who grew up in the national park was incredibly knowledgeable and knew the flora and fauna of Kafue and the surrounding areas.

We really felt welcome and catered for in every aspect of our stay - the staff were incredibly friendly and the wilderness that's been preserved throughout the lodge was both thrilling and beautiful.

Thank you for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mukambi Safari Lodge, Owner at Mukambi Safari Lodge
Responded Feb 12, 2021
Dear Louisa, Many thanks for your kind words and positive review, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and Jessica at the lodge this past weekend! I is so good to hear that all aspects of your stay were successful and that your thoroughly enjoyed the park and David's guiding! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great weekend! Best regards, Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kumari wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely memorable weekend at Mukambi with family and friends. Recreating the Christmas together that we missed on Christmas day due to covid. Robyn and crew went out of their way to cater for us, a big and quite difficult group with lots of different dietary needs. On the whole the food was excellent, well presented and tasty. We were well looked after on the boat and game drives by Brendon, who was extremely knowledgeable and always making sure we had a drink and were comfortable. The morning drive had great game viewing despite the rains spotting 5 hyenas, a jackal, 1000+ buffalo and roan to name but a few. Unfortunately didnt see lions this time but could hear the lions in the long grass near the camp.
The family villa was very comfortable as was our tent, i loved the balcony over the water with its resident Giant Kingfisher.
Thank you Mukambi we will definately be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mukambi Safari Lodge, Owner at Mukambi Safari Lodge
Responded Feb 12, 2021
Dear Kumari, family and friends, It was an absolute pleasure having you come and stay with us at Mukambi! I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time both at the lodge and on your activities. You will just have to come back to find the illusive cats! Hope to see you all soon again! Have a good weekend! Best regards, Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CME wrote a review Nov 2020
Lusaka, Zambia16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed here a few times over the years and always liked it. We have had good sightings including of leopards and lions and the guides are knowledgeable and attentive. The staff are generally very good and accommodating. The food is good too.

For a family, the villa is excellent. The location is on the river and it is incredibly spacious. We’ve stayed in a number of lodges in the vicinity and this is probably the most kiddie friendly as the main area at least has railings, they have a number of high chairs, there’s a kids’ pool and they cater for kids’ food. That said, you are still in the bush and you do have to be careful.

Other than the villa, the tents are also good options. The chalets are nice but less exciting.

They also have two other camps, one in the spectacular busanga plains, that can be added in as a package.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon C wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Mukambi from the 25th to 28th March in the Villa. It was great to be on the river and to watch the wildlife go by. The villa was clean spacious and quiet. We went on two game drives and it was great not to have a long drive into the park as Mukambi have their own river loop allowing them to cross the river opposite the lodge and you can get in the viewing trucks from their. We saw Lions, Elephant (in the camp), big herd of buffalo, hippos, crocodiles as well as lot so of birds.
We took a river cruise which was great and we were well looked after by our Guide David. The food and service was excellent and the facilities were set out in a very relaxing way and have really got the COVID compliance down to a fine art.
One our last night we saw a honey badger and a black backed Jackal which finished the trip off nicely.
The Tstese flies are a menace but the lodge was able to provide creams and tablets to reduce their impact. We learnt that if it wasn't for the Tstese then the park would have been overrun by domesticated animals such as cows, goats, and dogs upsetting the unique biome for Kafue. Thanks again Robyn and the team!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The villa was great especially when travelling with a teenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda C wrote a review Feb 2021
Lusaka28 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautifully situated lodge on the banks of the Kafue River with exceptional game even in the green/rainy season.
An all inclusive lodge with pretty good food which they are always improving on ... stunning luxury stilted tents with a deck to watch the birds and baboons interacting.
Very warm hosts who met all the standards with Covid restrictions and fun guides who went the extra mile and found us three of the big five over the weekend. Even gliding down the river watching the hippos was a delight. It’s a tsetse area but we managed to keep relatively free with proper clothing and plenty of spray.
Very unfair recent comment from dissatisfied guest, who obviously didn’t get what he expected but my experience shows that its generally not the hotel or lodge that brings you disappointment, but something else..
Will return and visit Busango Plains in a few months time.
Well done Mukambi !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book the luxury tents
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mukambi Safari Lodge, Owner at Mukambi Safari Lodge
Responded Feb 15, 2021
Dear Linda, It was great to meet you and have you and Martin Stay with us over the weekend! I'm very happy to read that guides went out of their way to make sure you had good activities and that the tsetse did not ruin your trip. We look forward to seeing you in the dry season and taking you to our Busanga Plains Camp! Best regards, Robyn and the Mukambi team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chembo_agatha wrote a review Oct 2021
Zambia3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend highly recommended this place so expectations were high. Unfortunately, the shower in our luxury tent had very poor drainage and the toilet was leaking. To make matters worse, my husband and I both got sick, not sure from what but we were both throwing up.

Otherwise the place is beautiful and great for spending quality alone time as a couple as it is very quiet and accommodation gives lots of privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mukambi Safari Lodge, Owner at Mukambi Safari Lodge
Responded Oct 5, 2021
Hi Chembo Thank you for taking the time to give Mukambi a review. Though not the review we would have liked to receive we do appreciate you taking the time and giving us your feedback. It would have been great to discuss these issues with you at checkout so we could have a chance to iron them out together. We do apologize for for the issues for the issues in your room. You had brought your concerns about the toilet our attention and this was promptly dealt with whilst you were out on your boat cruise. Sadly the issue with the drainage in the shower had not been brought to our attention but we do accept fault for this and I can assure it has been rectified after receiving your review. Regarding your meals, we have checked with the many other guests who had all had the same meals over the weekend and they have not fallen ill after consuming any of our meals. Once again thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to have you stay with us once again so we can show just how fantastic a stay with us can be. If you would like to discuss the stay any further you can reach management on the following email: Info@mukambi.com Best Regards Mukambi Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alisa S wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Mukambi with our two sons (2& 3 years) for the very first time and were absolutely blown away by the kind & accommodating team. Chalets are spacious and we managed to place a travel cot and extra mattresses in there. Kiddie meals were served and they have plenty of high chairs for toddlers. Another plus was the little kids pool right next to the big pool , which has shade throughout the day.
Our safari guide Akim was extremely pleasant and very knowledgeable. As a young family, the Team sent us off in a separate game vehicle.
Considering the time of the year we were spoilt with amazing sightings ( lions , leopard , honey badger , buffalo , list goes on ….)
We really enjoyed our getaway and plan to visit again.

Unfortunately it seems not all the guests are aware that children all ages are welcome at Mukambi.
An elderly lady tried to discipline our children as we walked in for breakfast and then started to complain to us how our children ruined her safari experience as she was leaving on the same day we did. We really felt offended and approached the staff thereafter. They reassured us that our children were nothing but happy & exciting boys…

Thanks again to the whole team

Kind regards,
Alisa
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jan P wrote a review Aug 2022
Ten Boer, The Netherlands78 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our travel agent made us aware of the Mukambi Safari Lodge, which actually has 3 locations (main lodge, Fig Tree Camp and Busing Plains Camp). It felt like a new adventure after many safari's in South-Africa. And it was. The area has a natural beauty and the animals differ from what you see elsewhere (e.g. we saw the rare African Finfoot and the Roan antilope on several occasions). However, due to poaching (as we were told) the larger mammals were skittish and kept a distance. Yet, we had some fabulous lion sightings.
The quality of the tents and the cleanliness are impeccable. And the chefs are creating miracles, looking at the limited means they have to work with.
Kafue National Park is unspoiled wilderness. And that gives me a mixed feeling as to much praise (which the lodge earns without hesitation) may spoil the wilderness...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donncha wrote a review Oct 2023
Ireland200 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Setting out by boat to cross the Kafue river for safari activities adds a magical dimension here.

We picked Mukambi as it is accessible by road from Lusaka in a reasonable time. The road is quiet once the city if left behind, and most of the drive is through a wild game management area.

The lodge itself is attractive, with the central feature a stream that flows right through it to the river, so there's a relaxing sound of water flow.

There are multiple decks which offer places to sit quietly and enjoy the view, but not ideal if guests have mobility difficulties.

I like places where the owners are resident, and here it was a pleasure to meet Robyn and hear her stories. The rest of the staff including Rita and Maggie were also good company.

We were guided by Malcolm, with both drives and a walk. He was very knowledgeable, and shared stories about traditional plant uses, especially the many sausage trees and jackalberries. The miombo woodlands are good for walks, with enough shade at this hot time of year.

We also enjoyed the night drive, seeing scrub hares, nightjar, hyenas and grazing hippos.

As we had a short stay we did not have time to visit the sister lodges at Fig Tree and Busanga Plains, but heard good reports from other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mryan820 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing location, service, and facilities. Great guides/drivers, very knowledgable regarding flora & fauna. Meal & bar services extraordinary, chef is amazing with a diverse selection for all dietary needs. All staff and the owners very friendly. All 3 locations offer a beautiful range of experience, and all three are solar powered! Highly recommended for first-timers to KNP or returnees.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from info m, Owner at Mukambi Safari Lodge
Responded Apr 15, 2020
Hi Michael, Many thanks for your very kind words, it is always an absolute pleasure to have you come and stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back one last time?! Once again, many thanks! Best regards, Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mukambi Management
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Borje, Thank you for your email. Although we are in Kafue National Park we do know Livingstone. Livingstone is basically on the other side of the border of Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls are shared by Zambia (Livingstone) and Zimbabwe (Victoria Falls). I hope this answers your question. Best regards, Edjan Mukambi Safari Lodge
Desert Warrior ... T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Lusaka Province, Zambia38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring safari attire with you, sunscreen creams, mosquito repellent. Parking available and free Wi-Fi. Visa free for selected countries, also check online. "
Read full review
sshahA1 wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom260 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the only downside is that the safari viewings can be hit and miss in the area"
Read full review
Dirk d wrote a tip Jun 2021
Mwinilunga, Zambia11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The winter months are really cold in the mornings"
Read full review
Simon C wrote a tip Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The villa was great especially when travelling with a teenager"
Read full review
Linda C wrote a tip Feb 2021
Lusaka28 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the luxury tents"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chunga area.
PRICE RANGE
$723 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZambiaCentral ProvinceChunga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUKAMBI SAFARI LODGE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Mukambi Safari Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mukambi Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mukambi Safari Lodge?
Top room amenities include a desk, a seating area, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Mukambi Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mukambi Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mukambi Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mukambi Safari Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Mukambi Safari Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mukambi Safari Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.