We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Hotelito Perdido

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Hotelito Perdido
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of El Hotelito Perdido
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our recent 6 week trip to Guatemala, this was definitely one of the highlights. A beautiful, peaceful paradise, hidden away in the rain forest and accessible by boat from Rio Dulce or Livingston. The property is meticulously maintained and design well thought out, with wonderful walking paths to take in the natural beauty of the rainforest. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highheels2015
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall comment...FABULOUS! Details: I stayed in the bungalow, Naranjo. It is two levels with a sitting area downstairs and a double bed and sleeping couch upstairs. The private bath with HOT shower in on the first level. It is private and you have two hammocks on the deck. Take the kayak out on Rio Lamparra or Rio Dulce, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveleratlarge322
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Beautiful lodges constructed with care and love in wood from the local forest, very friendly staff, wonderful walk through the forest to Livingston and great swimming. Good breakfasts, we stayed while the owner was away and it may be that the somewhat bland and overcooked suppers with no desserts or fruit on offer were a blip, happily there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solomons7
Aska_hotelito, Owner at El Hotelito Perdido, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have found our bungalows beautiful, found the staff friendly, enjoyed the breakfast and the hike to Livingston. I am sorry to read that you didn’t like our evening meals. We serve a healthy vegetarian menu consisting of a...

Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderfull place, largely run by a group of young voluntarisme, for those seeking a quiet getaway in a wonderfull environment for a few days. The atmoshphere is very friendly and laidback, they serve wonderfull food with dinner in a 'family setting' around the big table and I found it just a very relaxing place to read, write,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristiaan K
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 24, 2017

We spent 4 nights at this beautiful little hotel in the middle of the rainforest on the banks of the river. It is truly delightful. A gorgeous garden with lots of ponds, colourful plants, trees and birds galore. Magical! The open dining area is a great place to meet other travellers and enjoy the delicious food. We thoroughly enjoyed canoeing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline J
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Spent two terrific days at Hotelito Perdido, stuffed with nothing but relaxing, reading, swimming, wondering around, swimming again, chilling in the hammock... Super friendly international staff, professional, always friendly and family-like. International, simple, super tasty food, also suitable for vegans. Plenty of activities like canoeing, hot springs, waterfalls, day trips to the caribbean or indigenous villages on the lake. Cottages...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisFromParadise
Reviewed December 17, 2016

I was GRANDPAcking in the Izabal area for 10 nights. I tried Livingston and El Estor but both were disappointing. I decided to get into El Golfete ... You can stay in Rio Dulce Town or in one of the many Lodges scattered around the El Golfete. The choice between them is quite simple: stay in Rio Dulce Town if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neville Shaun R
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

I felt compelled to write a review on this beautiful hidden paradise, which we stumbled upon by chance in our guidebook. Best decision ever to come here. Can not recommend it more. Attention to detail makes the place simply stunning. We stayed in the dorm room which consists of beds above the main communal area. The roof has open gables...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016

This is an amazing place to stay, only accessible by boat and surrounded by jungle, but still managed to feel like the most luxurious place we stayed in Guatemala. The rooms are wood cabins with porches for hammocks and are really beautifully made and designed. Aska, the owner, and her volunteers are really helpful and not only helped us have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank emily_scorer
Aska_hotelito, Owner at El Hotelito Perdido, responded to this review

Dear Emily and Mario, Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a review. It was lovely talking to you and I hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your trip in Guatemala. It will be a pleasure to host you again if you return to Rio Dulce, Best regards, Aska

Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed August 28, 2016

The place was called Hotel El Perdido, it was only accessible by boat and consisted of a series of bamboo huts with grass roofs, two outdoor showers, and a central open air living space and dining area with clean and comfortable hammocks and couches, reading material and million dollar views. The grounds were set in a wetland, immaculately kept, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kateoregon
Aska_hotelito, Owner at El Hotelito Perdido, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the beautiful description of our place :-) Hope we see you back, best regards from hotelito, Aska

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Dulce
1.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
334 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
5.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
252 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
92 reviews
15.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please email or call us directly if the dates you have chosen show as sold out. Hotelito Perdido is a boutique jungle eco lodge situated in the heart of the Rio Dulce National Park, tucked away on one of the small freshwater tributaries that feed the Rio Dulce. Although it feels like a million miles from anywhere, being just off the popular tourist route between Livingston and the town of Rio Dulce means that the hotel is easily accessible by boat. Both Lonely Planet and Rough Guide currently list the hotel as one of their 'recommended destinations' in the region. The hot springs, the manatee reserve and some beautiful waterfalls are within kayaking distance of the hotel. We rent kayaks and wooden cayucos, we organize various tours (to Livingston, Tiger's Cave, Mayan Q'eqchi village, Manatee Reserve etc.). We offer drinks, homemade food, we make our own bread and we eat our evening meal together, family style. There is dock to swim from, Gym and Yoga House for guests to use, beautiful tropical gardens with fruit trees, plenty of hammocks to relax in, games to play and good books to read. There is communal house with bar, lounge and restaurant, there is a b-b-q area and hammock house by the dock. The hotel can currently accommodate 14 guests. We offer bungalows with private bathrooms, rooms and the Jungle Loft with 5 beds. The hotel is fully solar powered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Hotelito Perdido

Address: Rio Lampara, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Price Range: $25 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hotelito Perdido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito Perdido Guatemala/Rio Dulce
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Hotelito Perdido staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from El Hotelito Perdido staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a bungalow if you can. They also have a loft dormitory.”
 of 5 bubbles traveleratlarge322, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The bigger lodges are much more spacious and attractive than the small ones, which have little sound insulation , we stayed in naranjo”
 of 5 bubbles solomons7, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
“We thought it was worth paying the extra for our own bathroom, especially as it rained every night while we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles 422carolinej, Jan 24, 2017 | Read review
“Get a separate Bungalow if you ca afford one”
 of 5 bubbles nevilleshaunr, Dec 17, 2016 | Read review
“we really liked Mango and Zapote”
 of 5 bubbles emily_scorer, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question