We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland

Hotel website
2 - 4 Anderson Street, Port Hedland, Western Australia 6721, Australia
Special Offer
Best Rates Guaranteed
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My booking was for 10 days however I checked in at 5.30pm and my room was not prepared and it was suggested I go up to the bar for an hour whilst they organised it. Whilst at the bar I went outside to book for dinner, but unless you book you can’t get a table even for hotel guests. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Dear Bruce B Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel. Clearly your experience is not one that we desire for any guest staying at the Hotel. As the new Hotel General Manager and having held the reigns now for 5 weeks I have made some significant changes to our staff and services at... More 

Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Standard West Aust rip off. Beer expensive. Steak meal tuff as old boots. Will never return. Asked about price of beer, "I don't know I only work here". Followed by " it costs so much to get stuff here". So sick of this standard reply as a reason for ripping people off.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Dear Phillip Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Hotel. I had received and responded to the email that you sent via the Hotel website prior to you posting this review on Trip Advisor. We are not in the business of ripping people off we are however in the business of providing great food,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Hedland hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Lovely exterior. Much attention to the history. Multiple rooms, probably to accomodate workers in mining boom. Appears that rooms originally larger. Quality sacrificed for numbers. Not really a place to spend time as a tourist. Staff not very knowledgeable, Brightest part was restaurant where staff and food exceptional. Not 4.5 stars as promised, probably more 3 stars. Light switch jammed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hi Elaine G Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. As the first Hotel in Port Hedland we have a lot of history most recent addition to our history being the renovations and additional wing of the hotel which were completed in 2012. Which you are correct in saying was to meet the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Stayed in a few doggy places around Hedland for work. this place was certainly perfect. Clean, Air Conditioned, Food was great. My Co-Workers left it too late and had to stay somewhere else. After seeing the photos and videos of what they had to endure i was glad. Worse thing was they didn't want to leave and go back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garth H
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

HI Garth H Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at the Esplanade Hotel my team and I genuinely appreciate you kind words. We look forward to welcoming you and your co-workers(who will now book earlier to avoid disappointment!!) back on your next Pilbara adventure! Safe travels best cat cahill General Manager More 

York, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We were on holiday in the north-west of WA and drove to Port Hedland to do a big shop. By chance, we ended up having lunch in The Esplanade Hotel. Great menu, and so inexpensive! I had salt and pepper squid and Michael had duck pancakes. Only $20 per head, plus our drinks of course. The food was very flavoursome.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion B
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Dear Marion B Thanks for taking time to review you fabulous lunch experience at the Esplanade Hotel on Trip Adviser. I will certainly pass you kind words on to both the executive Chef & Waitstaff. We aim every day to provide excellent food that is value for money combined with the best service in town! We are so pleased you... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

This hotel is a classic built originally over 100 years ago and magnificently rejuvenated and expanded to a high standard. Stayed 2 nights over the weekend and the rates and facilities were excellent. Great location overlooking the busy port, easy walk to main street with great restaurant and bar and very friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank Mr_G58LSL
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hello Mr_G58LSL, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and has a great experience in Port Hedland. The hotel and town have such a rich history and of course connection to the port. Please contact us when next in Port Hedland so we can look to further enhance your experience with us and the town. Thank you and... More 

Caversham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

This place is a beautiful old building that looks fantastic. The room while it isnt huge is big enough the aircon works really well and the extra foxtel channels are a bonus. Breakfast included with the room was good with a good selection to choose from. All the staff were friendly and helpful!!

Helpful?
Thank Trent K
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hi Trent K, Many thanks for the review and your comments, very much appreciated. We are vey proud of the hotel, our staff and facilities we provided to our guests to ensure they have an enjoyable experience like yourself. Please let us look after you again on your next visit to Port Hedland. Best wishes. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff on reception and in the dining room . Clean , neat , tidy room . Small sleeping area and ensuite but ok for a couple , ground level room offered and accepted . Breakfast included in room rate .

Helpful?
Thank Maree P
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hello Maree P , Thank you for the review of your recent stay and we greatly appreciate the comments. If returning to Port Hedland again we look forward to you staying with us. Best wishes. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Nice quiet surroundings. Close to the port of Port Hedland. Restaurant, bar and other amenities. Right in the heart of the town of Port Hedland. A nice place to take your family for the weekend or for a short holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Behram C
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hello Behram C, Thank you for the comments and the great photos, we strive to provide the right level of service and the facilities to make our guests stays comfortable and enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Port Hedland. Andrew Ziems Hotel General Manager More 

Bunbury
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

This building has been beautifully restored. It is worth a visit even to admire the façade, balony and sheer size of this grand old lady. Inside the rooms have been meticulously restored to their former grandeur. This is a wonderful place to meet friends for a drink and bar snack in the lounge bar, or in the attractive outdoor garden.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
AndrewZ601, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland, responded to this review

Hello Heather C, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We appreciate the comments regarding the hotel restoration and we are very proud of the hotel. The restaurant and bar are a favorite with visitor's and locals alike and the new menus are receiving great feedback similar to your experience. Andrew Ziems General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hedland
2.0 mi away
Hospitality Inn Port Hedland
Hospitality Inn Port Hedland
#3 of 6 in Port Hedland
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Hedland
Ibis Styles Port Hedland
#6 of 6 in Port Hedland
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mia Mia Port Hedland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Landing Port Hedland
The Landing Port Hedland
#2 of 6 in Port Hedland
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
4.1 mi away
Discovery Parks – Port Hedland
0.6 mi away
Mia Mia Executive Apartments
Mia Mia Executive Apartments
#6 of 7 in Port Hedland
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Esplanade Hotel provides visitors and locals with an unsurpassed experience in accommodation, dining and function venues. As the Pilbara's only 4.5 star hotel, we offer first class accommodation for both short and long term stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland

Address: 2 - 4 Anderson Street, Port Hedland, Western Australia 6721, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Port Hedland
Price Range: $122 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay