We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a lovely time staying at this backpackers. I was only there for one night after walking the Bibbulmun Track, but found the owners to be really lovely and very helpful people. Best part about this place: free all-you-can-eat pancakes for breakfast every morning!! They even let me check in early the day I arrived and have breakfast, even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacha D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in lots of hostels all over Australia and 1849 Backpackers is definitly one of my favourites. Because they have helpful and friendly staff. They know Albany well and if you have questions what to do they are really happy to help you. Yummy pancakes breakfast in the morning. Everything is very clean. Great atmosphere in common areas. Best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carla U
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in many backpacker hostels and this is definitely my favourite. The staff is so friendly and always there for you, the place is clean and tidy, there is free unlimited wifi and the whole atmosphere makes you feel happy and comfortable. This hostel really becomes your home for the time of your stay. I would go back anytime.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanaK1997
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been in many backpackers, a lot of the time its the people there who make the experience but as far as facilities and the back packers its-self. 1849 is the best one I've stayed in. It's got it all, free, delicious pancakes, bread, tea, coffee, cooking oils etc. its always very clean, got a huge flat screen. Excellent books,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tredoux P
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and were impressed by the friendliness of the staff there. I especially amazed by the online chatting tool on their website, they actually have people answering questions very promptly. The hostel is located centrally, and within walking distance to eateries and grocery shop. We got a room of six bunk beds for five of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany, responded to this review

Hello Joyce, thank you for sending in your review for 1849 Backpackers, we very much appreciate it and thank you for choosing to come and stay with us :o) We are also very happy you enjoyed your experience here, and that your first experience in an Australian Backpackers has been a positive one. We don't put a heater in ever... More 

La Rochelle, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled a lot in Australia and this hostel is the best one for me. Peoples working there are very friendly, delicious free pancake every morning, clean commun area and good atmosphere. You can't regret your choice if you sleep here !

Helpful?
1 Thank Julien S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Lovely, helpful people, lots of kitchen space and social areas, foxtel for the Euros. We also got given lots of recommendations and maps for days out. Could not fault ! And theres free pancakes, defiantly worth a stop !

Helpful?
Thank Harry P
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I completed the Bibbulmun Track and I needed to stay somewhere that understood what I had achieved and what I needed now, 1894 did. I felt like a member of the family not just a guest. It felt like home the minute I entered the place. The passion that has been put into the backpackers by the family stands out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank didiermonot
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments Didier! I think completing the 1000km Bibulmun Track or Munda Biddi Trail to or from Albany is an epic achievement. Well deserving of a cold drink too! We are very happy you immediately picked up on that vibe because that's exactly the kind of feeling we love people to have here. Good luck on... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Everything looks fine to me but unfortunately there was "No Heating" in the room during our winter trip in Jun 2016. A bit disappointed about this as the website describe there were heating provided. We were unable to sleep well because of the cold weather & rain, windy seasons. I'm not sure about other rooms, our were "Double room" with... More 

Helpful?
Thank tupai2016
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for letting us know the problem you had with it being cold here in winter. Albany has very much a Mediterranean climate so we are definitely cooler than in summer, and a lot cooler than Kuala Lumpar. We are frustrated your trip was spoiled by being cold, and we are sorry we weren't given the opportunity to... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for one night whilst on a quick trip to the Stirling Ranges, and it didn't dissapoint at all! The owners and people running the place have clearly mastered the formula for a smooth-running hostel operation. What I liked about it: Clean and very spacious- I was surprised at the sheer size of the property... More 

Helpful?
Thank indo_batavia
1849Backpackers, Owner at 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for writing us such an in depth review for TripAdvisor visitors. We know people always have choices on where to stay and always appreciate it when they choose to stay with us at 1849. The business has been open six years and started with the wrecked and neglected shell of a lovely old hotel. It is still... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Bayview YHA
Albany Bayview YHA
#9 of 38 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Albany Backpackers
Albany Backpackers
#8 of 38 in Albany
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
0.1 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
0.2 mi away
My Place Colonial Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1849 Is WA's 5-Star Backpackers, the only Albany hostel featured in the latest Lonely Planet and winner of TripAdvisor's award for Excellence the last THREE years. We'll provide the comfort and security in a beautifully looked after premises, to ensure your stay with us is memorable. Unique features include a grassed, fenced four a side soccer pitch and volleyball court, free fast, unlimited WiFi, free delicious pancakes made for you each morning, games room, free bike hire AND a new theatre with stage, stage lighting and musical instruments free to use downstairs. Large screen TV in the lounge with FOXTEL and SETANTA, ensuring all matches in the new European league season are available free to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany

Address: 45 Peels Place | (Gps Address: 49 Peels Place), Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Price Range: $40 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay