We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For a couple of college/Uni aged students traveling, I thought this hostel was very nice for the cheap price. The shared common areas were very nice and they had a big fire place as well. The toilets were clean and looked renovated for an eco friendly experience. Nothing new about sharing a room with other people, that's expected. Location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annadU800ET
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 2.30pm to find we couldn't check in. A number to call wasn't answered and no return call received! The ladies bathroom was putrid and remained so for the duration of our stay. It was finally cleaned after 10 am the next morning. Not cleaned well either. If the hostel is full, as it was, surely more than one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

This is our third stay at YHA Apollo Bay , always clean and tidy , except maybe after a particularly large group has been , friendly low key approach to management, they are not in your face but you can find them if you need them. Clean rooms and reasonably clean kitchens, we have seen worse. Close to beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois J
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night to break up the long Great Ocean Drive trip - this place did the job but with no thrills. The hostel could do with a bit of upgrading to freshen it up. The communal showers (there were 2 on the ground floor) were ok, but the cleanliness could be improved. The kitchen area was large....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicknotts
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry that you didn't have a good of as a stay as possible as providing a high quality stay is really important to us. Our housekeeping staff starts cleaning after guests checkout at 10am, so if you showered at night or early in the morning, the bathrooms may have been dirtied by other guest use....

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed December 24, 2016

Location is good with the f&b/shops just a street away; our morning was greeted by birds chirping, feels very close to nature. The communal areas (kitchen, lounges) are set up very comfortably and highly utilized. The shared toilet is clean and served all needs. The bedsheets colour (shades of brown and blue) kinda made the room looked gloomy when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis P
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the pictures! The place lacks any ambience and the communal places are quite dingy. The electric hobs in the kitchen were all very dodgy and the markings had worn off so it was a lucky guess when you turned one on! The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable, but again lacked any homely feel. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry that you didn't have as good of a stay as possible as providing a high quality stay is very important to us. Our housekeeping team cleans the bathrooms after guests check out, so if you showered at night, they may have been dirtied by other guests using the showers, which comes with staying in...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the place because of the reviews. Unfortunately, the place cannot live up to those. The rooms are ok but: check-in from 4pm only? No Wifi in the rooms, charges for premium Wifi? Come on! It's 2016 you're not supposed to charge people for Wifi at all. Everyone knows you have high speed broadband connection for literally nothing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Leah K, Public Relations Manager at Apollo Bay Eco YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we're sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. The reason we charge for premium Wi-Fi is that internet speeds are quite slow in Australia and the communal Wi-Fi speed will be impacted if there are a lot of people trying to download and stream a lot of things all at once. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Great modern hostel with friendly staff, comfy beds and pillows and a good supply of hot water. We had a private room for two and it was perfect for a cheap weekend away. Highly recommended. The two pubs in town offer great meals and the bakery is perfect for a quick takeaway coffee and breakfast to eat in the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

This was one if the nicer hostels we stayed at. The facilities were very clean and our double room was nice with a balcony. The kitchen was very well equiped and clean. The common area was very cozy with the fireplace. Unfortunately there were only two toilets and two showers each for boys and girls for the whole floor. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

This has to be the nicest hostel I've stayed in yet! All the facilities were modern and well maintained, the beds were comfy and there's a lot of space for everyone to relax. It's really close to the Main Street with all the shops, cafes, bars and the beach. We made friends with the lovely backpackers who were working at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apollo Bay Eco YHA is a stylish and comfortable ECO Certified Nature Tourism accredited hostel located in Apollo Bay along the famous Great Ocean Road. Situated between the rainforests of the Otway Ranges and the Apollo Bay surf beach Apollo Bay Eco YHA is the perfect base for exploring this amazing region. Hostel facilities include free on-site parking, free Wifi Hot Spot, a wood heater, two spacious communal lounges, two communal kitchens, shared bathrooms, a TV and reading room, DVD hire, several outdoor balconies and a rooftop deck complete with a BBQ offering spectacular views. Passive solar design, clever zoning and water consumption techniques are used to reduce the level of energy consumption and give you a great getaway with the knowledge your bed doesn't cost the earth! Various room types are available including 4 multi-share, twin/double and family rooms. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Please note that all bathroom facilities are shared for all room types. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is close to all the action with only a 2-minute walk from restaurants, cafes and beach in Apollo Bay town centre and a 90-minute drive to the Twelve Apostles. The region is nature lover's haven with deserted beaches, Cape Otway Lighthouse (Australia's oldest lighthouse), the Great Otway National Park complete with rainforest and waterfalls and of course the Great Ocean Road drive! Head further into the Otways to try your luck spotting glow worms at Melba Gully, the elusive platypus at Lake Elizabeth or the wild koalas at nearby Kennet River. Feeling adventurous? Activities in the area include surfing, windsurfing, snorkelling, horse riding along the beach, hiking, paragliding, kayaking out to the seals and the Great Ocean Road walk. Apollo Bay Eco YHA is also a Rent-a-YHA hostel, and can be booked exclusively for large groups. Bookings can be made for either half the hostel, which sleeps up to 36 people, or the whole hostel which sleeps up to 72 people. Please call the hostel Manager for more information. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Eco YHA

Address: 5 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia (Formerly Eco Beach YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Price Range: $49 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Bay Eco YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Apollo Bay Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Beach Yha Hotel Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Eco YHA Great Ocean Road
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Apollo Bay Eco YHA staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Apollo Bay Eco YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was travelling with a friend and the private room with two beds was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles F4439VImarkp, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“North side bedrooms are warmer in winter. South side rooms are quiter & cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles normgray6, Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
“Close to the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles valnaturaltherapies, Apr 18, 2016 | Read review
“ask not to stay in the cave rooms like we did, but don't stay here at all!”
 of 5 bubbles kirsty024_11, Nov 22, 2015 | Read review
“Girls, go for a female dorm rather than mixed.”
  • 4 Bed Female Dormitory
 of 5 bubbles Night_Raiders, Nov 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question