We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Diamond Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Diamond Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Logan City, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We don't want to rubbish a place after such a brief stay, but as the title said 'resort' we were a bit disappointed. After a lengthy journey we arrived to be told, due to there not being many people staying there, the restaurant and bar would not be open that night. Great start! Was told to 'go to the platform...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this resort is hard to beat. Where else can you see cute penguins walking pass at night from the comfort of your own balcony? It that's not a good enough reason to stay here, walk down to the amazing beach and you'll stop complaining. Don't expect good service - the owners and staff are all tremendously friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller20151005
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Travelling around Tassie.wanted one special night for our trip.We were disappointed in the accomodation.the decor was very datedVery 1980s GoldCoast.I needed to do laundry as we had been travellingfor a week.and the woman and reception thought that was odd.Very peculiar reaction to a simple request. A Really odd vibe about this place.Lots of Chinese staying here.and they were very excited...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judy C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing location , beautiful beach and grass areas. We stayed in Room no 1 clean, comfortable and with excellent views, our room also had a kitchen area to make light meals. Friendly hosts. Evening menu a bit limited , need another vegetarian choice apart from salad. Enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with family in 2 rooms recently. The hotel set up is great...so close to the stunning beaches. We stayed up late and saw the fairy penguins, which are literally at the front of the hotel rooms. I was a bit nervous about our stay having read some ordinary reviews but the place was good. Very clean. Not modern....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception on arrival was disinterested and the price per night was high. The view from the room was magnificent but the crockery needed replacing. With some care and new management the resort has the bones to be great. The beach below is really amazing. Although we paid $300 per night the rooms were not serviced daily. If the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne L
welco, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

The receptions job can be busy at times, a few seconds wait is all that is required at certain times. Crockery is all new and matched in all rooms, however at time some guests who have several rooms like to eat in one room resulting in a mix up of chairs, and crockery. The servicing of rooms is only done...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This accommodation is very overpriced and leaves a lot to be desired. It rained heavily and there were leaks in our room, we couldn't wait to check out and move on, didn't even bother mentioning faults to the room and facilities!!! Upon arrival we checked in only to be served by a very disinterested host, at that point we knew...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vanessa G
Mt Martha, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

By far the worst accommodation ive ever stayed all over the world. We booked a 2 night resort stay and were both horrified. The rudest of staff was the start of a horrible stay. The Room was not clean, dishes were dirty and put away wet. Kitchen stank of fish with 2 dity putrid bins. No toilet paper. A long...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Liza P
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tired and run down hotel. Room was unclean and dishes had to be washed before use. Wifi and Foxtel were non existent. Cigarette butts and weeds competing for space on the balcony. The bin in our room smelt of putrid fish and had to be put outside to avoid retching. There's more but it's too depressing to keep going. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan S
welco, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

You did not mention the large area, beautiful king beds, the private beach access to a magnificent curved beach & a walk to a deserted island, pristine white sand and the Little Penguins. The Rooms are always cleaned daily, and i disagree with your view. Wifi is in the main resort not in rooms at present. This is a telstra...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking forward to a few days at a resort, what an advertising fraud. no penguin tour.. they walk through the bottom of the garden, there are no "shacks" just end to end single room accomodation, with a bed and a fold out couch! Very disappointed for the price we paid. The chef was sick and the manager had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris J
welco, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello, this couple were in a 1br villa with kitchen and dining facility. Our Beachshacks are 2 or 3 bedroom for families. The Penguins actually live at Diamond Island Resort and we do 2 tours a day 5pm for children and 9'15pm for seeing the guys return for the day, Our records show this lady had some matrimonial issues and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
23.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
367 reviews
21.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
274 reviews
19.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Address: 69 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Price Range: $155 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort Bicheno, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Diamond Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms seem to have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE999, 5 days ago | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 255alans, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Make sure you speak to the manager before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 720chrisj, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Views from either room are spectacular however I prefer upstairs with the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles karenbaker2016, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“The views from the upstairs rooms are fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles nikkibA8518UB, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question