We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

St Helens Country Cottages

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St Helens Country Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
South Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at St Helens country cottages in June 2016, booking out all the cottages for an extended family birthday celebration. The venue was just beautiful, with scenic, peaceful outlooks and was on the riesling trail. There were activities for all age levels, including cricket, bocce, a tyre swing and a drinks night. It was lovely to see the child,... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZHOliday76
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Highly recommend. Excellent pet friendly accommodation in the Clare Valley. Nice location in semi rural area. Excellent bathroom. Good breakfast provisions. Helpful friendly owners. Stayed 3 nights with family in two cottages and it was all good.

Helpful?
1 Thank tripping-traveller
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Fettlers Cottage was the perfect place for our visit to the Clare Valley. From the time we walked in the door we felt so much at home. The cottage was beautifully furnished with an old world charm, every small detail is thought of, excellent quality linen, even bath robes and slippers. The table was set for meals with linen napkins... More 

Helpful?
Thank dsy3
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We try to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are glad you enjoyed your visit to Clare. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We hired the main house (where the hosts live). Accommodation was fabulous. Hosts made us very welcome. Breakfasts were great. Just as a B&B should be. Leaves you wanting nothing. Only weird thing was sharing a bathroom with two doors - one form each bedroom! when you know the other couple staying, that's fine...but would be strange if you didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Broderick S
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

We NEVER book out the other bedroom when only a couple stays in the guest suite. We realize that it wouldn't be very nice to share a bathroom with strangers! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Lovely little cottage a stones throw from the Riesling Trail. Beautifully furnished with amazing attention to detail. Lots of little extras including wine and chocolates. Wood burning combustion fire was very much appreciated and added to the cosy feel. Provisions for breakfast included cereals, bacon and eggs and the coffee machine was much appreciated. Our hosts were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KinabalU1924
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

Clean bright and well decked out!! Linen and sheets were all perfectly clean and fresh. Nothing to fault about this place. Hot water was efficient and the pressure is amazingly strong! ! Picked up our keys at the reception with welcoming smiles from both Russell and Carol. Was sad that we had only stayed for a night. Would definitely return... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian O
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, We always try to please Carol & Russell More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

I can't understand why many kitchen and bathroom floors in Australia are built about 5cms higher than the general floor level of the rest of the house. When we arrived at Fettlers Cottage we noticed in the folder of details about the house a warning that there was a small step into the bathroom. Unfortunately when my wife went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin2512
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

The Fettlers cottage was extremely beautiful with a lovely outlook towards the Riesling trail. The setting was pretty, quiet and full of bird life getting on with it. The cottage is well appointed with the little things taken care of - coasters, spirit measure, extra bits incase you ran out. A wonderful place to stay with wonderful hosts - Carol... More 

Helpful?
Thank ann-mariesupermum
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Thank You! We really love to see people enjoy their stay at St Helen's. We are really glad that you did. More 

Cockatoo Valley
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Stop. Yes stop searching TripAdvisor for accommodation in Clare. You have found the best place to stay. We stayed in the Fettlers Cottage for 2 nights. Very clean. Excellent provisions. Great views. The hosts are wonderful and friendly. This is a great place from which to explore Clare and surrounds. Then again, it is so good, you may just want... More 

Helpful?
Thank APP007
Carol T, Owner at St Helens Country Cottages, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you. We know it is a great place, we love it too. We hope everybody who comes here does. We really appreciate that the little touches make the difference and staying at the cottage is a good option when it provides all you need. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

After a cheery welcome I wasn't surprised to find that The Coach House felt just like home. There is a lot of attention to detail and it's very generously provisioned with everything you would need. It was lovely to relax on the terrace overlooking the extensive garden. I'm sorry we're not staying longer. I would happily recommend this place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
1.4 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
0.7 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Clare
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riesling Trail and Clare Valley Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Clare
6.3 mi away
Bungaree Station
Bungaree Station
#5 of 16 in Clare
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#2 of 3 in Clare
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St Helens Country Cottages is a bed and breakfast set on the outskirts of Clare right on the Riesling Trail bicycling and walking track. Three beautifully appointed cottages and a guest suite are all located discreetly for maximum privacy. Perfect for honeymooners or couples wishing to relax and reenergize. The cottages are set in natural treed bushland and the birdlife is astounding.Large groups can be accommodated if all cottages are booked and the large gazebo is perfect for BBQ get togethers. Bocce and cricket are available and the gazebo is perfect for spectators.For those wishing to be pampered, 'The Guest Suite' is in the main house and Breakfast is cooked and served to you in the beautifel dining room. This is hosted accommodation but still totally private with its own entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Helens Country Cottages

Address: 72 Warenda Road | P O Box 1505, Clare, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Clare
Price Range: $167 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Helens Country Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St Helens Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay