We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Randwick Lodge

211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Randwick Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Randwick, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There wasn't parking available even though we requested when booking. The building was being renovated so no peace through the day or early morning. Parking cost a fortune elsewhere. Very annoyed to say the least.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank waynesD8056XS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Odd basement room 3 is patio-tiled throughout, features a ramp from a door directly onto street and a wide door to ensuite. Probably an area under outside stairs has been clumsily converted to be wheelchair accessible. Fine. But noise from street practically pillow-side and stairs close overhead is wicked, and as mentioned, an overpowering smell of poisonous bleach would not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Retireeskiing

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Our room was shocking. We had a red sticky stain on our door which the friendly staffer said was rust. Interesting considering it was a wooden door... Furthermore, one of the towels they supplied had brown stains on it and the shower was dodgy. We were in one of the downstairs rooms and very late each night and early each... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 790austraveller99
sydney_lodges, General Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you 790austraveller99 I apologies and am sanded to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Randwick Lodge as we always aim to provide, clean, comfortable affordable accommodation to all of our guest. I would however like to address some in-accuracies in the issues you have raised. As you mentioned keys and hotel security. Please note we take hotel... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Crisp, clean sheets, comfortable bed; hot water; friendly staff - all the elements you would like but rarely get in budget accommodation. Central location. Secure undercover parking was cheap - although a little tight if you had a 4WD. Our room had lots of space and while the bathroom was small it was clean and functional. We would happily stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank pennysugna
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Nice refurbished room,comfortable beds and very convenient location. The room was a reasonable size and was located at the back of the lodge which was quieter for road traffic. Noise from other residents was disturbing but that was on a Saturday night. Sunday night was fine.

Helpful?
Thank Nic O
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Make no mistake, this hostel is budget accommodation and as such you should expect budget accommodation, not the Ritz or Hilton. If you're happy to lower your standards a little, then you won't be disappointed. I certainly wasn't! The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and my room was ready when I arrived at midday, even though I'd expected it... More 

Helpful?
Thank grhmisn
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

As I get older (just passed the 50 mark) I'm usually quite picky but overall the Lodge ticked almost all the boxes. Excellent central location (20 minute bus trip to town, 15 minute walk to Coogee beach), friendly staff, fairly quiet (asked for a back room), renovated private bathroom, and a $$$ steal by Sydney standards - booked early and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

Booked room smelt of smoke and urine. Informed staff and they were lovely and upgraded me to a family room. However, this room was very disappointing. The bathroom was dirty, particularly the floor and toilet. The shower had lots of mound and the doorway and cabinet had significant water damage. There was a lovely lamp and an alarm clock both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glitterbug77
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

The Randwick Lodge had a very convenient location as it was near the Prince of Wales Hospital, UNSW and Coogee beach. The hotel was clean enough and the staff were very pleasant. My advice is not to stay in the front room as the street noise is very loud. This hotel is a great value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Phil L
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

The rooms are OK, some with high ceiling, verandah and even cooking facility. The beds are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are other furnitures are rather dowdy. The location is convenient rather than attractive or interesting. It's close to UNSW, the Prince of Wales Hospital, Randwick racecourse and Coogee Beach (15 minutes' walk). There are plenty of good cafes... More 

Helpful?
Thank aussievoyageur
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 15 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Randwick Central Suites
Randwick Central Suites
#5 of 15 in Randwick
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim Randwick
The Blenheim Randwick
#5 of 7 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Randwick Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay