We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wayfarer Motel

124 Maitland St, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wayfarer Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

I was impressed with the service I received when I dropped in, tired, to see if a room was available for the night. My room was clean and comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. Despite the room's being at the front, it was quiet. The room was smallish but quite big enough for 1 person. Upgrades are being... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilynmargaret
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We stayed at the Wayfarer for price only, but still feel we got a little short changed. The rooms are older style but are fairly clean but the receptionist disapeared after we checked in and wasnt sighted again. There obviously are a number of loud mouth miners living there permanantly who sat outside drinking until late, talking loudly and swearing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keiron R

Travelers are raving about these Muswellbrook hotels

Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Motel was clean and quiet with golf course next door and close to local shops. Staff were really helpful and friendly with outdoor bbq and TV and pool facilities. Single level facilities with garage across the road. Great paths for walking fanatics

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

some of our stay was ok we were there 3 days. Quite clean but very tired and needing an upgrade. Comp continental breakfast appreciated, but when contact with reception was needed after hours due to disruptive guest in other room being extremely noisy trying to open doors etc was not there no answer to phone at all. Hence very bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jillyjelly45
ronnie h, Owner at The Wayfarer Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry for the other guests that were noisy and causing you grief. We did not have any phone call or knock on the manager's door till mid night. If we knew, we would have approached those guests to see if they could reduce their noise. We would look into reducing the tap noise. We had given a discount... More 

Tamworth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

we arrived late Friday night by arrangement we had been told heater on it was but the best that could be said is the heat was just warm and was on the highest setting the t.v. didn't work, so as it was so cold jumped straight into bed the electric blankets didn't work, the sheets smelt had problem sleeping due... More 

Helpful?
Thank mick m
ronnie h, Owner at The Wayfarer Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that one of the four hot water went down and was affecting a couple of rooms on that end. The electric blanket maybe loose at the power point. We are sorry for those unforeseen issues and you had a free stay. More 

Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The room was comfortable but very small. It did contain all we needed but after midnight the trucks started thundering past our front room and that was the end of sleep. The curtains did not meet in the middle neither because they were partly damaged. The ventilation was not good as opening the front window would have made the trucks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doreen R
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight on our way further north. Lovely staff, accommodated us last minute and the facilities were comfortable, clean and had everything needed. Definitely would recommend and stay again next time we need a place to stop over

Helpful?
Thank Ehynesy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

We stayed on our way home from Sydney. We were astounded by the exceptionally well mannered, friendly, professional staff on checking in. The rooms are roomy with plenty of facilities available. Bathroom huge and beds comfy. We will definitely be returning to stay again. Breakfast cooked to perfection, plentiful and filling. Prices are not over rated for rooms or meals.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SharonandMarty H
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

I had been to this hotel on last Wednesday just want stay 1 night, because Had problems with my partner And close my house. I asked room on the back because incases my partner looking for me. I got room but next room Door open So, I want to get my stuff out form my car but I felt uncomfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ratchy03
ronnie h, Owner at The Wayfarer Motel, responded to this review

The manager was dismissed. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

A majority of people wouldn't enjoy staying at this hotel but this hotel is quite good and its the best one I've been at in a while, the staff are really kind and friendly. Yes the rooms are very dated but its a room that you can sleep in for what ever the reason it doesnt have to be a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Delcie P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muswellbrook
1.4 mi away
Hermitage Motel
Hermitage Motel
#3 of 6 in Muswellbrook
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Muswellbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Remington Motor Inn
Remington Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Muswellbrook
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baybrook Motor Inn and Apartments
1.5 mi away
Centabrook Motor Inn
Centabrook Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Muswellbrook
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Cedar Motel
Red Cedar Motel
#1 of 4 in Muswellbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay