We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kurrara Historic Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kurrara Historic Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to both the shopping and the tourist area. Hop on hop off bus stop is only 300 metres away and a great way to visit the tourist sites and bushwalks without worrying about parking.Spent 7 night in Rose room which was very relaxing and comfortable with microwave, small fridge, spa, tv and comfortable 4 poster bed. Breakfast was plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights in this alluring, historic house. The interior was furnished lovely and seemed to reflect the past of the area. Still, modern luxuries were available. Other guests were friendly, staff was helpful and the breakfast was delightfully plentiful and varied. Unfortunately, Wifi was stuttering at times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna I
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice stay in a nice guest house. The only problem was no housekeeping for our 3 days stay, not even the rubbish taken out and we had to ask for fresh towels everyday. Friendly people and the breakfast nice and fresh. All in all a good experience but no housekeeping is an issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fghmanagement
KurraraHouse, General Manager at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I would like to point out that on the room information sheets and on the registration form you signed at check-in, it clearly states ”Rooms are not serviced unless we are requested to do so. For extended stays of over 2...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Honeysuckle Room, with a large ensuite and corner bath. The room had beautiful period details, elegant styling, and 4 post bed. Lovely front garden to enjoy, breakfast sun room with garden view and cosy lounge rooms to enjoy afternoon tea and some relaxation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissabrattoni
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2016

We spent a very comfortable night in this charming old place. The cozy sitting room with beautiful china cups, every imaginable type of tea and sideboard treats of cakes and biscuits was just what we needed at the end of a busy day, our room with its fragrant sheets and a small, but well-appointed en-suite provided an excellent night's sleep,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9Tigger
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed December 1, 2016

Well kept guest house decorated in period style in a quiet central location. En suite area a bit small but I guess they were not there in 1902 when the house was built. There were few surfaces to put toiletries or places to hang clothes. The breakfast was perfectly adequate for us but for those who like a cooked breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickhayes2016
Kempsey, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Taking into consideration my opportunities to enjoy many facilities over the friendliness and the most efficient staff of Kurrawa Guest House and their enthusiasm to take that extra step for their patrons is highly commendable. My grandson who ha a tyre blowout left him filled with anxiety so Ken was obliging in allowing him to join us the the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bronnybolt
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016

This guest house is very peaceful and well furnished. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good en suite bathroom. Tea making facilities available in room - with afternoon cake and fresh milk available downstairs. Continental breakfast was good with pleasant seating on the (indoor) verandah. Lots of choice of cereals, types of bread and preserves....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madalyn H
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed November 9, 2016

This place has a real Agatha Christie / Miss Marple feel to it. Very historic. Clean comfortable room and although the breakfast is classified as continental it goes a bit further than that. Quite a few international guests while we were there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Kurrara guest house is very good indoors , really nice bedrooms with nice public rooms , also breakfast is very good , continental but with boiled eggs if desired. A nice touch is tea and coffee available all day. I say indoors because the entry via sliding door from car park area is a mess and very untidy and needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike N
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Your comments are noted and we are well aware that the sliding door entrance to our house, being the 'service entrance' i.e back of house provides storage for works in progress. We have a front door, and back door to our carpark which I am sure will not offend. The refurbishment of Kurrara has been to date a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
515 reviews
5.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $91 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kurrara Historic Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rose room is spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 418lynetteb, 1 week ago | Read review
“No heavy traffic around, our std room was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles johannai2017, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ground floor if you want to avoid stairs”
 of 5 bubbles mickhayes2016, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“Katoomba is very hilly so be sure you have the residual fitness necessary to get around”
 of 5 bubbles B4014EYjohnw, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the Aster which was beautiful and nice & quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles ameliab_274, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay