We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kurrara Historic Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kurrara Historic Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kurrara was a delightful discovery for us for our special anniversary week end away. From being welcomed in warmly from the cold outside to check in, we found the place to be a very comfortable and restful place to have as a base to explore Katoomba. It's central location meant we could walk to the Three Sisters on one side... More 

Helpful?
Thank dolphincovehome
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well positioned for Three sisters and Scenic World, Karoomba (10 mins walk) or 10 to Trolley bus. Loved the afternoon tea and breakfast, no trouble leaving bags, really helpful, beautiful comfy house and beds. Library and games were a nice touch. Felt like we were genuinely welcome. Bit chilly in 2 of the bathrooms/bedrooms (we had 3 rooms) but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank April2926
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at kurrara historic guesthouse for 4 nights during the week and had a great time. The place is well appointed with antiques and period features, reflecting its 1902 heritage. The garden room downstairs is beautiful, the four poster bed lovely and it's quite. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Staff are friendly and efficient. A continental breakfast is included,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trish S
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Trish, We are delighted that you had a 'wonderful 4 night stay' at Kurrara, and enjoyed all that the Blue Mountains has to offer. Extended mid-week stays at Kurrara are a great way to unwind and our guests can relax and make themselves at home, dipping in and out of all the local activities, bushwalks, shopping, etc. We hope... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms and the property are really cozy and quaint. Rooms are comfy and have all the amenities expected. Loved the shared lounge where we sipped on tea and biscuits by the fire making plans for our trip. The staff were helpful and breakfast was a nice treat too.

Helpful?
Thank MiliPop
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Kurrara and wish you all the best for your upcoming trip. Best wishes Evelyn & Iain More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoy the one night stay at the Guest house, love the setting of each rooms and the reception is very welcome and helpful. The room is a bit small but just fine for two of us to stay and enjoy the quiet time.

Helpful?
Thank dongruz
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We offer rooms of different sizes including three large downstairs spa suites, all individually decorated with 4-poster beds, and large double spas. You can choose your room of choice when you book direct on our website. Best regards Evelyn More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our first trip to the Blue Mountains, Kurrara Historic Guest House was the perfect place to spend a few nights. The staff were warm and welcoming and the rooms cosy. Being able to start each day with a continental breakfast and returning to the complimentary port, cookies and chocolates was a highlight.

Helpful?
Thank L T
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Delighted that you had a great stay with us and hope you'll come back again soon. Kurrara is well located for exploring all the Blue Mountains has to offer. Best wishes Evelyn & Iain More 

Milsons Point, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately I can't give a good review for this property. There were a few things, which contributed to this. Firstly to be greeted at the back door by someone waving their hands saying 'We're not ready, we're not ready!' was not very welcoming and left us with a terrible first impression. We arrived at 12.50 and only wanted to leave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caterina Z
KurraraHouse, General Manager at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it is unfortunate that you were met with a poor response and I do apologise for that. We have a strict cleaning schedule and on that particular day we were washing and polishing floors so the reception was unavailable to accept guests prior to the check in time (I was also a staff member down due to illness),... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our three night stay was a joy from start to finish. We stayed in the ground floor English Rose spa suite,which was not only attractively furnished with antiques but extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The sun room alcove was an added bonus and the dining area with fridge and microwave meant that we didn't have to dine out every night... More 

Helpful?
Thank robynk1000
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Fantastic bed- slept well here, beautiful antique furniture, gas fire place in main lounge room, leather lounges, interesting art on the walls, including original owners of the property. Lovely bath nice and big with spa shoots. Good to have after a day spent walking in the wilds of the mountains, or travelling further afield. Good location. You can walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suellen S
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Very friendly housekeeper. It was a small guesthouse but has almost every necessary accomodations. The rooms was small, but hey, we paid only about 90 euro per nights and why you need so big room if you only need to sleep there. I like also the old style interior with a fireplace.

Helpful?
Thank Qi X
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#4 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $95 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay