We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 273: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant location! Clean spacious rooms! Comfortable beds! Great communal areas and outdoor bbq area! Good wifi. No issue with shortage of plug sockets as the hostel provide extension cables if you ask. Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Sam. Thank you very much for your kind review, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay here. Come back any time. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Good value for money. Clean and good facilities. Only issue is the heat due to lack of fans/air con. Nice big kitchen area with lots of storage space in fridges and freezers. Would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bennopeters1995
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello bennopeters, Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed most things about your stay and would recommend us to other travellers. We have just got in more fans for the rooms so this problem should now be alleviated, thank you for letting us know about this. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Greeted by very friendly staff and located just minutes from the train station. Great facilities with a large and well facilitated kitchen and a nice social area to play pool and relax. Sleeping facilities are good as well but could do with some air conditioning in the room. Would come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a family room, it was clean, the kitchen is well equipped, it was quite quiet during the night so also little kids could sleep. And the staff at the reception is very nice, friendly and helpful. Hop on hop off bus stop is 5 mins walk. Thank you for nice holidays!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrej M
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very positively surprised of the cleanliness of this hostel. The toilets and showers are clean and kitchen is spacious with good amount of appliances to use. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPHLST
Ingolstadt
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a group of 6 so we booked a private room. It was very big and had a huge bathroom. The main room was also large and had pool and table soccer. I didn't try the food but it looked ok. There is also a Rooftop which we couldn't use because of the rain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well sized room with lockers. We came in a pair and there was only one other person in the dorm which made for a comfortable night although parts of the room such as the window ledges were a bit dirty and plugs were not completely easily accessible. The kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and the bathrooms were clean. Sadly it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leena M
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room for 4, for a fair price. The hostel has plenty of fridges open for use, as well as a full kitted out kitchen with cutlery and crockery open to guests. They have a pool table, games, we had a TV in our room... And its a lovely little town to go walk through. Would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 565hanky1
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you 565hanky1! Come and stay again soon, Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only spent one night at the hostel but liked our stay because of the huge, well equipped kitchen and because of the very nice staff we encountered. The hostel is only a street away from big supermarkets and different cute boutiques and restaurants. The rooms are big and huge lockers are available aswell. There are only very few power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mona R
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Mona R, Thank you very much for your kind review. There is not much we can do about our location, close to the train line, but as you noted we are also in a central location to Katoomba village. Rooms toward the back of the hostel are quieter. Your feedback about the power outlets is excellent. We do have...

Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a really nice time at this hostel. Clean, quiet, central and cosy. Not a party hostel obviously (there's like two pubs total in Katoomba), but still social. Really helpful staff, who gave good tips about hikes in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eriksB4244BY
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello eriksB4244BY! Thank you very much for your lovely review. Come back and stay again any time. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel was opened on May 1st 2009. We are the closest hostel to Katoomba Train Station (turn right from the station and follow Bathurst Road). We have a wide range of clean dormitory, dormitory en-suite, private, private en-suite, family and family en-suite rooms. We cater to travellers, groups, families and can accommodate parties of up to 160 guests. Our lounge is great for all guests, with lots of room to mingle or find a quiet corner in front of the fire. Test your skills on our FREE pool table, FREE table soccer table, FREE guitar or play one of our many FREE board games. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked with utensils and 6 large ovens. Just out from that is a summer BBQ space and courtyard garden. Not only do we have our great reception, friendly staff and clean facilities, we also offer: FREE wi-fi throughout the hostel FREE computers and low priced printing (b/w) FREE laundry FREE games and rainy day activities FREE luggage storage (just leave us a review!) FREE on street parking FREE lockers in all dormitory rooms FREE to use TVs in the lounge and all private rooms FREE tourist information In addition, we can help you with Blue Mountains visitor attraction tickets and much, much, more. Please ask! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Address: 144 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Central Blue Backpackers)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: $34 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Delhi
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for twin bed or 4 bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodieDK123, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Dorms were cooler, privates were extremely hot.”
 of 5 bubbles danz2017, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“private room with toilet are quiet and toilets are clean”
 of 5 bubbles liangjunl2016, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“The beds are bunk style. The more bunks in the room, the cheaper per person”
 of 5 bubbles jennys153, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“bring your own mirror as the room does not have one ”
 of 5 bubbles 380natasham, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question