We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER England
Lowest prices for your stay
$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com$86
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (407)
Dining (69)
Bathroom (30)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian, Romanian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
1012Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 605
  • 256
  • 89
  • 39
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PetenCaz63 wrote a review Oct 1
Northallerton, United Kingdom163 contributions67 helpful votes
Booked a deluxe afternoon tea for 2 and it was very pleasant. The sandwich ‘fingers’ were nice but the slice of sausage roll and the half of a large scotch egg were wonderful. It looked o bit stingy with half an egg but it was large and rich and a whole one might have been too much. The sweet plates contained lovely items too. The room was a little cool as the radiators were off otherwise it was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lawrence d wrote a review Sep 2022
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom5 contributions
Room 9 very tired to say the least, food - starters acceptable mains poached stuffed chicken over salted, breakfast smoked haddock had more bones than fish and the eggs benedict sauce tasted of vinegar and nothing else. The table had no tea spoons, napkins and butter which we had to mention on more than one occasion. Be also aware they add a service charge to your bill which amounted to over £12 on our visit for 4 drinks to which I went to the bar to order and collect because of the slow service on one occasion. Very disappointed we have been to this hotel several times and this is the worst we have encountered
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hello Mr Lawrence thank you for sharing your comments with me again but on this platform. You will have received my emails and our resolution by now. It was unfortunate you chose to sit at a dirty table rather than wait for one to be serviced for you where everything required for breakfast would have been provided as with the other tables. There was a service charge off £10 on your accommodation and the £2 relates to the drinks you took at the bar. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion and hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future . regards Dale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie W wrote a review Sep 2022
Prestwick, United Kingdom516 contributions210 helpful votes
Wanted somewhere to break our journey back home. Somewhere nice, quiet, and not too far from the A1M. Came up with this but was wondering about some not too pleasant reviews. How wrong could I have been. About 8 miles off the motorway, beside Leeming, lies this stunning hotel. Greeeted with a welcoming smile was then shown to our lovely room......HUGE! Before dinner we had a wander through the grounds which were lovely and totally peaceful. In fact, after a 4pm G&T life got even better. Dinner was very tasty .....and good value. Breakfast was freshly cooked...all I could ask for. Overall it was very enjoyable, as my wife and i will return in the not to distant future......criticisms?....would just be very picky and unfair to the staff who were superb.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Eddie, Thank you for reviewing your stay . I am so pleased you discovered Solberge hall. Not fat off the beaten track and a most enjoyable stay had by both of you. We look forward to your return trip soon. best regards Dale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MCBDurham wrote a review Aug 2022
Durham44 contributions22 helpful votes
I booked this hotel for a Friday evening, following use of a Virgin tea for 2 voucher that my wife received for Christmas. Upon arrival, the impression was promising, with gardeners pausing cutting to allow me to access the hotel via a short driveway. The ‘house’ itself stands proud on a small hill overlooking some of the most beautiful farmland towards the Cleveland hills and Thirsk in the distance. Check-in was efficient and friendly, and we were given keys to room 2 overlooking the front aspect of the manor house. The gardens are extensive and well maintained, and are peppered with deck chairs to suit all requirements (sun, shade etc.). There is also a small woodland walk for those looking for a private secluded stroll before dinner. The presentation of the room (a double deluxe) was excellent, with fixtures and fittings in keeping with its history as a former private manor house. Carpets were clean and fresh, as were all aspects of the hotel, from entrance lobby to drawing room and restaurant. All members of staff were both professional and friendly in equal measure, and clearly went beyond to ensure the ‘guest experience’ was memorable. The afternoon Champagne tea was excellent, as was evening dinner and the cooked to order breakfast. The only concern for some may be the operating hours of the restaurant, so I would clarify requirements directly with the hotel before booking……………it’s a long walk to the shops!! Having made a trip to a similar venue earlier in the year, which ended in utter disappointment, our stay at this gorgeous location along with the staff employed there, left us both with a feeling of contentment, and a desire to return in the near future. Our thanks to all!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Call and book with the hotel directly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Chris, I am delighted you had a most enjoyable stay with us taking in views and walks and dining in house. We are thrilled you were so well looked after by a fabulous team and sampled some excellent food during your stay. Many thanks for your kind complimentary comments and I hope we can welcome you in the not too distant future . best wishes Dale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilary B wrote a review Aug 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom301 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
We have been here before once but about 15 years ago!! It was wonderful to go back for our anniversary again and we wasn't disappointed!!We had a beautiful room as they very kindly upgraded us for our anniversary!!❤️❤️. It was a really lovely room and the staff were so helpful especially Lauren I think it was on reception she was so kind and chatty. The setting is so beautiful as well. The only down side was there was no chef so the restaurant isn't open Sunday to Wednesday but we did know this at booking and were offered to find somewhere else but we didn't want to so had a takeaway one night and ate out the other which was really nice. We would definitely recommend this place as it is so special and the staff very helpful. Hope to go back again next year as it's so beautiful. 💟💟💟💟.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hilary, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted you chose Solberge for your anniversary. We have extended restaurant opening now so open every night bar Sunday so we should be able to accommodate you throughout your next visit . We look forward to welcoming you back . best regards Dale .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
J, J and the Pugs. We enjoyed a pleasant break at Solberge Hall a few weeks ago. Lovely hotel and room - we could have been doing with a fridge. We relaxed in the splendid grounds and enjoyed some delicious meals. Mhairi and all of the staff were very approachable and helpfull. Good spot for accessing interesting trips, for example, to Fountains Abbey. We thoroughloy enjoyed our stay :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am thrilled that you had such a relaxed stay with us. Thank you for your kind words relating to mairi and the team. Hope to see you again. regards dale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graham H wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at this Hotel on Saturday 9th July and it was fantastic.I have a privilege card which I would thoroughly recommend…… and resulted in us receiving an upgraded to one of the best rooms I have every stayed in. Check in was very speedy and reception staff extremely helpful showing us a short cut to our room. Room as mentioned fantastic ….. a little warm due to weather but we did have a fan. We took full advantage of the splendid hotel grounds and sat in the lovely sunshine with a couple of drinks. We ate in the dining room on the night and found the food to be excellent with great service.we had breakfast in the bar with our daughter and son in law as they had also stayed over in a dog friendly room and there were tables set up in the bar for those with dogs. Breakfast was wonderful with a great choice from the continental section. I went for smoked haddock and poached egg from the cooked breakfast menu served at your table. The only things I was not happy with was the dreaded service charge on everything ….. not a fan. The price of the house wine ( over £25 bottle) and no cocktails Apart from that what a fantastic stay and will certainly be going back ….. soon
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you Graham for your wonderful review. We are very popular with people bring their pouches and they particularly enjoy dining with them in the Garden room for dinner and breakfast. Prices I am afraid do get increased from time to time but you are often wiser to stay with wine as I have seen with cocktails starting at £8.00 to £12.00 just for one. We have some great suggestions to go with Slingby's gin on your next visit. Lets hope you can visit very soon best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel White wrote a review Jul 2022
Birtley, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a 2night stay for our 5th wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to room 2 a most beautiful suite with a freestanding bath in the room. On arrival there was also a lovey card for us. All the staff go above and beyond to make your stay so special. Food was amazing. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for reviewing your stay recently. I am delighted our food standard and the great team that accommodated you surpassed your expectations . We do hope you return in the not too distant future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pebbles032015 wrote a review Jul 2022
Marden, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a double room for an overnight stay using the hotel website. On arriving at the hotel at 5 pm, the receptionist informed us the hotel restaurant is closed on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday evenings! The kitchen was also closed for breakfast, but they could offer continental, perhaps not fresh fruit though! How disappointing… and no mention of this on their website. We decided to leave and drive home to Kent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for your feedback Pebbles. We endeavour to contact all guests in advance should there be any change to our normal service. I apologise it doesn't appear we manged to get in touch with you prior to your arrival. I do hope we can accommodate you on a day where normal service has resumed . Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe L wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Came for a wedding over the weekend. Absolutely beautiful venue, rooms were lovely and came with no issues. Checking in and out was super smooth and easy, and all the staff went above and beyond to make sure everyone was comfortable and happy with their stay. The venue itself is perfect for a wedding, beautiful views and just a genuinely beautiful looking building too! Will definitely be returning here, we had an amazing day/evening for the wedding, and can imagine plenty of trips in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dale Needham, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for your review Chloe. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay whilst attending a wedding reception at the hotel. Thanks for your kind words relating to our staff and please contact us directly to arrange a future visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
solberge hall northallerton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireNorthallertonNewby Wiske
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Solberge Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Solberge Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Thirsk Birds of Prey Centre (3.1 miles), Masons of Yorkshire (4.5 miles), and Joe Cornish Gallery (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Solberge Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Solberge Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Solberge Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Solberge Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dog and Gun Knayton, Fox and Hounds Inn, and The Central Coffee House.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solberge Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Solberge Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Solberge Hall Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Romanian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Solberge Hall Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mount Grace Priory, House and Gardens (8.2 miles), St Gregory's Church (5.6 miles), and Marmion Tower (8.5 miles).
Is Solberge Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.