We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
 Click to rate
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

This is in a great location, the view is ace and all the added extra make it that bit special. The spa bath on the balcony was great, I sat out there both nights with a glass of wine (even if it was raining) The lady in reception/cleaning/trip booking (sorry can't remember name) was brill, gave us such good support...

Thank knichs19
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We stayed four nights at the Waterfront Whitsundays retreat. It was nice and quiet - not many apartments, so we had the pool to ourselves most of the time, which was lovely. The view from the balconies are stunning. Only a short walk in to town centre. Couldn't have stayed anywhere better!

1Thank sundayjunk
Tathra, Australia
Reviewed July 24, 2016

This place is a short walk to the heart of Airlie & our room was on the lowest level of the complex along with the pool. There are relatively few rooms (6 I think) so its a nice little mini-resort. We could walk straight out to the pool & BBQ & also had a private outdoor spa. The view was...

Thank CrippAdvisor
Waters-Edge-Resort, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review

Dear CrippAdvisor, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review, Kim, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat. The retreat is a lovely property in that it is an adult only property, we do not accept guests under 18 years old so typically we have couples wishing to enjoy a quiet, relaxing time...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed June 27, 2016

This is a well appointed if ageing apartment. Clean and comfortable with welcoming staff ( available between 9 & 5). the only complaints we had were superficial - the noisy fan, the blade missing on the aircon, the handbasin cabinet showing wear and tear and the grime build up in the corners of the bathroom. It has a microwave and...

Thank 2ctalking
Greater Canberra, Australia
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights here & it was fantastic. Easy walk into town & directly in front of port Airlie marina where daily ferries depart to the islands. The girl on reception was so helpful & inviting. She gave us some really handy & useful information about which tours were best value for money & I was never disappointed by...

1Thank elle434
Jeff A, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review

Dear elle434, Thank you for your lovely review, I will be certain to pass your kind words to Kim our guest service team member, always so lovely to receive great feedback. Kim and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat and we are delighted you would return to us in the future, be sure to...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel Huge apartment with amazing views over the sea and surrounding area. Clean and well appointed accommodation Comfortable beds Nice infinity pool to relax in as was the jacuzzi. Short walk down to the Main Street Breakfast was a bit limited but was adequate. Wifi was hit and miss, though we were told...

Thank Vic C
MarinaShores, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Vic, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, we are very grateful and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the free Wi-Fi, each Balcony Spa Suite and also our top floor Jacuzzi Penthouse has its own Wi-Fi connection inside the room, I have asked our IT...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

From arrival the view was stunning aside from that is was a 'meh' hotel and weren't overly impressed for the value that we paid for! Rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a small spa on our balcony however no privacy as property sits on the main road.... Bed was comfortable but bathroom is run down and tired and...

4Thank Michelle F
Darling Downs, Australia
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Coming here I had read mixed reviews which concerned me a little however we have found this place is excellent. Daily cleaning services and friendly staff. Clean room and spacious. Don't knock it until you try it best thing we ever did. Will certainly return

1Thank KodyDan
Berwick, Australia
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a awesome holiday just what we needed very quiet peaceful place Wonderful staff room was awesome with beautiful view with balcony spa Close to the shops and pier walking distance to everything really Had a great time and wished it was longer will come back just to relax

1Thank kezzabrock
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed February 29, 2016

I booked the waterfront retreat (spa room) as a surprise for my partner and I as a surprise, and when we arrived I was extremely upset with what we found. The room was Absolutely nothing like the photos online, and I felt more like we were staying in a motor inn than a retreat as everything was old and run...

5Thank Toni V
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (57)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Room/Suite (14)
Bathroom (4)
View from Room (4)
Dining (2)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (5)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
244 reviews
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat sets new standards of luxury award winning couples only boutique accommodation in the Whitsundays. Adjoining Airlie Beach and nestled on Pioneer bay which features pristine turquoise waters surrounded by breathtaking rainforest, guests can expect a high level of privacy coupled with exceptional unobtrusive personalised service. The luxury retreat comprises an exclusive collection of just five, one bedroom balcony spa suites and an incredible top floor Jacuzzi penthouse, with views over Port of Airlie and the Coral Sea. The luxury spa suites feature contemporary inspired interior furnishings that exude style and tropical ambience, natural timber louvers, spacious balcony with corner spa, Brand new king size beds, gourmet galley kitchen and pebbled ensuite bathrooms. The penthouse features a unique four posted king bed, the master bathroom featuring a double person rain shower, generous powder room complete with private balcony overlooking lush rainforest, a gourmet kitchen, black marble bar complete with wine fridge and stainless steel fixtures. Externally the penthouse enjoys an expansive balcony complete with six person Jacuzzi. Redefining intimate levels of service suites are serviced daily whilst the retreat boasts a private sun deck, deep water horizon pool, guest BBQ, lush tropical gardens, a-la-carte in room massage, facial and beauty treatments, unlimited FREE wireless internet, tour booking desk, great barrier reef touring, concierge and personalised limousine transfers. Exuding luxury, romance and tropical ambiance, at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat offers the travel connoisseur a perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and personalised service for an unparalleled couples only retreat experience. PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 18+ enforces a strict NO NOISE NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Address: 438 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Hotel
At Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“You have to climb the stairs but higher floors have better views.”
CrippAdvisor, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“coming out of arlie, through the round about, the driveway is just before the bus stop on the other side of the road.”
2ctalking, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the Jaccuzi rooms are nicer?”
506toniv, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the main road. Higher (3levels) better view . But for penthouse which can accommodate up to 6.”
JenDaveML, Nov 12, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a spa that works.”
EllBeeEll, May 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
$161* /night
View Deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates