We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airlie Beach YHA

394 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Airlie Beach YHA
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 125: English reviews
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Nice place located just few meters from the beach and near some good restaurant. As all the YHA Hostels Chain, the structure and cleanliness is good but not up to YHA standard. If you look for entertainment and new people to meet go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank ZerosugarShortblack
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

The room was extremely small, shared bathroom facilities with one other room, unfortunately the guests staying in the other room were pigs so the bathroom was always dirty with hair on the floor and vanity. The private balcony was the only thing I liked about the place. Very noisy street with a night club close by. The accommodation spoilt my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leesa H
YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review

Dear Leesa, Thank you very much for reviewing you recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you did not have a positive experience during your time at our hostel. While many people appreciate only having one other room to share the communal bathroom with, we do understand that unfortunately not everyone has the same standards of cleanliness.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Clean hostel. Good location Although nothing.soxial about the hostel, no meet and greets ,no discount food and drink places or game facilities,unlike the other hostels on the street thay were the same price to stay in . Also being woken up two mornings in a row at 7 am due to construction works at your door is rediculous

Helpful?
Thank IrishGemma
YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hostel facilities and location. The Hostel Manager and I were disappointed to read that you found the hostel lacking in social activities. We try to ensure every guest who stays has an enjoyable and memorable visit, where they can... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

In the city centre, definitely a good place to stay. Rooms, toilet and bathrooms are clean. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. Had a great time and meeting other travellers was easy peasy at YHA i can recommend this hostel as well for couples as for singles . I stayed at YHA in between my trip to the islands.

Helpful?
Thank Richard V
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

very disappointed in this YHA. The room was shabby and not value for money. There was stains in the carpet, could hear the plumbing from the toilets upstairs. It was like a storage room that was converted into a bedroom

Helpful?
Thank Claude L
YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review

Hi Claude, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I apologise sincerely that our hostel did not meet your expectations. This is not the usual feedback we receive and not the experience we hope our guests have when they visit. Since your review our Hostel Manager has addressed the issues you stated with the Maintenance Manager. The... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a double room which was basic but clean and comfortable. Really good air con. We purchased wifi which was good value being $10 for 3 days and it worked in the room. The only negative was the curtain was hanging off the rail which made it difficult to shut. The hostel is in the best location, at... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaisyV4
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

We're a couple from England who have done a lot of travelling in different countries/ continents and also a lot In Australia so we feel we can give an informed review. The hostel is; well located, generally quiet but well set out for socialising. It has a large, extremely clean an well equipped kitchen, a canteen style eating area and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thetavern09
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

After staying in a few different hostels up the East Coast this one has been my favourite so far. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Room was perfect, we had a double and a shared bathroom. Communal area is great too with sofas and a TV, a nice clean swimming pool and a great size kitchen. This hostel has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Clean kitchen and clean rooms - sheets / pillows are more yellow than white because they're so old...but clean! Aircon in rooms (although these are positioned right by one bunk so we couldn't have it on as the girl next to it got too cold .. So we booked!!) and free wifi in common areas. Luggage storage for doing tours... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbugs90s
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Nice little hostel. Even accomodates a few parking spots. Clean rooms. Basic and simple. I stayed in a twin room. Nice balcony. Made the most of that!!! So stoked they had air conditioning in the room etc. housekeeping were real friendly to me. And office staff always there to help. so close to everything which was good

Helpful?
Thank Niki_au
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 9 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#13 of 53 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#33 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#36 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#34 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $47 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay