We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Beaches Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beaches Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Don't go there. It's an absolute mess, staff is absolutely unhelpful, your food gets stolen from the fridge an no one cares, the air conditioning only works in 30% of rooms and it's noisy as hell 24/7... So do yourself a favour and check in somewhere else, even if you have to pay a little bit more.

Helpful?
Thank J-Strawtman
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello J-Strawtman, Thank you for your review, and sorry you had your food stolen - it is always a bit of a gamble to leave food in a shared fridge and it appears that in this instance you seem to have had bad luck with another backpacker. It’s very rare this happens, however please be assured that the staff do... More 

Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The beds squeak with every movement. The matresses are so thin that you can feel the spirals in your back. The bathrooms are old and the shower is in a bathtub. Everything is old. Drunk people who piss on your stuff. The only good thing about the hostel is the restaurant/bar which belongs to the hostel. You get a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malwinchen001
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Malwinchen001, Thank you for your review, and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Beaches. I have checked our communications and maintenance logs, and we have no record of anyone advising us that they have had any problems with any of the mattresses. It’s a pity you didn’t let anyone know, as had you reported this we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Only booked this as I had a $14 voucher from Happy Travels. It's a basic hostel which accommodates party groups quite well. If I had known this before coming then I would have stayed somewhere else as I had to be up early for a Whitsundays trip and I needed an early night, which did not happen. But this is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lozalpops
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Lozalpops, Thank you for your taking the time to write an informative review. We are a “party” hostel and are advertised as such, and our popular bar and grill is open from 12pm-12am every day. The travels agents who book us are aware of this, so it’s a pity that this information wasn’t passed on to you. However, the... More 

Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

Stayed in a double private room. Very clean with new air con, fridge, TV and recently painted. Bathroom a little dated however very good water pressure, hot water and clean. Located in main st, close to Lagoon and Marina. Food at Beaches was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Lisa Jayne L
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always happy to hear positive feedback from our guests. I will pass your food compliments onto our kitchen. Hopefully you can come back and visit us here at Beaches again soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed in throughout the duration of my trip and I've stayed in some dives. First of, do the cleaning staff not know what ant powder is? Ants were crawling all over the floor, in beds and obviously where else are you going to put your stuff? On the floor, so they made a home for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Emma, Thank you for your review - we really appreciate guests taking the time to provide feedback, and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Beaches. I wish you had raised your concerns with one of our receptionists as we could have had these dealt with. Beaches (the same as all properties in the... More 

Le Plessis-Robinson, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

I stayed in this hostel a few days before my Whitsundays tour. First of all, it is really cheap compare to the other hostel in Airlie, there is also a car park so it is really handy. The hostel does not look fancy, but if you are a backpacker as i am it should not be a problem. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to review Beaches on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your positive comments – our staff work hard to make sure that all of our guests have a great stay with us. I hope your car hasn’t caused you any further trouble, and that you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Please... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Rooms are cleans, bathroom and kitchen also. But a bit noisy for people who don't want to party all night long. Based just in frond of the lagoon, perfect location. And the meals are really good too ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank alix p
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Alix, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree with you – we have a perfect location and I hope you took advantage of the lagoon to enjoy our beautiful winter sunshine. I will pass your compliments on to the kitchen staff about the food, and I’m glad you enjoyed your meal. We are a... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

The worst hostel I stayed in Australia! Advice would be to not stay here no matter how cheap. Rooms were grubby, dirty, and spent the night with about 10 lizards. Kitchen is small, you have to pay to rent a mug. Also I've just seen photos of a pool, there is no pool.

Helpful?
Thank Loy10
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Loy10, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s so strange you found an issue with the cleanliness of the hostel when we had another guest comment the same day saying how clean our rooms are! Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day, so perhaps you confused the fact that the hostel is a little dated... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Location was great just opposite the lagoon and beach, we had a good room facing over the front. Only downside was the general cleanliness as the bathroom had an unpleasant smell. Felt generally a little grubby. Washing machines stained our clothes which was immensely irritating, but lady behind the desk did refund us the money. Drinks were slightly expensive compared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabella P
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Isabella, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we agree that we have a great location! We appreciate you letting us know about the bathroom and I will ask our housekeeping team to deep clean this today. It’s a pity you didn’t raise it with reception while you were here as we could have had... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We are not backpackers, but had been told about Beaches meals from a local. Thought we'd give it a go for lunch and was not disappointed. $15 meal deal, which included a drink. I had the big burger and hubby had a Parma. Awesome food, excellent value for money. Too big to finish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leecam33
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Leecam33, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we really appreciate the positive feedback - I will pass this onto the kitchen staff for you. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#31 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#17 of 53 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
#36 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fusion Airlie Beach
Fusion Airlie Beach
#10 of 14 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#34 of 53 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $18 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay