We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

6 The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meh this place is not all its hyped up to be. No atmosphere blonde curly haired woman was a bit rude and looked as though she has forgotten how to smile. When i got to my room and pulled back the sheets on my bed they had heaps of brown stains on them which was a bit gross, when i... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maia124
Asti, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is one of the best places where I slept. I went there in September with my boyfriend and we had a private room. The hostel is very close to the sea and the room was nice and clean..it was perfect. The guys at the reception are very nice and helpful; they helped us to choose the daily... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarikaPiscal
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed over night in Airlie and we got a private room in this backpackers. The rooms were super clean and had a separate bathroom and fridge. It also had a TV and comfy enough bed, private secure parking which is rare for hostels. Was very good will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Bam M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Me and my girlfriend originally planned to just stop off for a couple of weeks at in Airlie Beach but we ended up staying 3 months because we loved the hostel and Airlie so much! The staff are really friendly and helpful and are always happy to advise you on what the area has to offer and the best time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christian Y
Curtin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 8th August till 13th August. Most enjoyable, restaurants were there within the complex. Our room was a room with a double bed and our own ensuite, clean towels everyday. Walking distance to the swimming lagoon, the ferry terminal, plenty of shops and plenty of places to eat at. Easy to make bookings for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 20holidays20
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Fantastic..... We are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be more than happy to accommodate you in our large family room next year. Thank you for you positive review. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. However, unlike some of the previous reviews I found the front end staff grumpy and unfriendly. When I checked in I was ignored and treated poorly. Upon check out, we tried to use the storage lockers available on site however they stole our money and did not work. As I informed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennatee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Waterfront Backpackers is clean and the rooms have excellent facilities: a/c, tv, bathroom ensuite. However, I passed through on my own looking for social opportunities and there is no atmosphere for that here. Only reason I wouldn't recommend it is if you're traveling solo and looking to meet people.

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Robert, thank you for your positive review of our facilities. We are all saddened that you were unable to make friends. Our food court with bar is usually enough for our guests to socialise in. Had we known you needed company we would have come out to play with you. But we have taken your comments into consideration and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

We had booked room and when we arrived at 9 pm there wasn't key for us in the late check in box. And there wasn't any number we could have called. We had to find a new place to stay. Day after the manager was so rude and I can easily say she was worst customer servicer ever!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jyri P
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jyri We here @ Airlie waterfront Backpackers are some what surprised with your negative review. As we said at the time when you booked the room you gave a bogus phone number and a bogus email number. Your response to why you would give incorrect contact information was that you didn't want to be spammed. My question to you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the 10 or 13 man room at waterfront backpackers and was surprisingly not that bad. Beds were comfy and room was clean. Really nice view from the 'attic room' of the boats and the sea in the morning. The only annoying thing was the showers located by the kicthen which I didn't like, however on the last... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillie2495
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello lillie thank-you for your positive review of our hostel. We have taken note of your comments about the bathrooms and have put signs up to direct guests to that area. So thank you for that. If you are in the area again, we will be happy to accommodate you. Happy travels More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were lovely, got our room upgraded to a beautiful room. Really clean, great location bang in the center of airlie beach. Right next to everything you need. Loved this place.

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Tom thank you for your positive review An upgrade is always nice and when shown appreciation for it, just makes our day to see your smile. We all wish you safe and happy travels take care Tom More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#17 of 51 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#37 of 51 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#39 of 51 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#36 of 51 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#