We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnums Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnums Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 380: English reviews
Nuneaton
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting the Whitsundays Just a 15 min walk from the Greyhound stop / ferry terminal, very central for the whole resort including restaurants, shops & lagoon & next door to a Woolworths! I stayed in a private double room, the room had a fridge, kettle, cutlery, mugs etc, a ceiling fan & aircon &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbielathbury
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent there about 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were comfortable and clean enough. Lots of plants in the garden, a bbq zone, even a massive lizard walking around. Communitary kitchen and good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CataloniaIsNotSpain
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, we will use this feedback in a structured and methodical process to ensure we maximize the benefits to our future guests. We are dedicated to ‘getting it right’ and your thoughts will be actioned by one of our team managers within 24 hours of receipt of your review. If you would like a personal...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights in a private before going on a Whitsundays it was quite small but had great AC and a mini fridge and a set of plates mugs and cutlery in the room. The only thing I didn't like is it was loud for a lot of the night because magnums has a lively bar which was fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 166crw
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, we will use this feedback in a structured and methodical process to ensure we maximize the benefits to our future guests. We are dedicated to ‘getting it right’ and your thoughts will be actioned by one of our team managers within 24 hours of receipt of your review. If you would like a personal...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say about magnums? I honestly just want to forget I've been. This place is NOT A PARTY HOSTEL, although there was that one roommate with his little bag of white powder, who let's just say was pretty disturbing. Oh I almost forgot about the incredibly loud music until 00:30 and the casual drinking everywhere. To summarise: Choose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liam H
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, we will use this feedback in a structured and methodical process to ensure we maximize the benefits to our future guests. We are dedicated to ‘getting it right’ and your thoughts will be actioned by one of our team managers within 24 hours of receipt of your review. If you would like a personal...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really cool hostel right in the middle of Airlie Beach. Room was a good size and had it's own fridge! Very good bar right out the front with live music every night. There's also a supermarket right behind the hostel. Would stay again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiblay
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, we will use this feedback in a structured and methodical process to ensure we maximize the benefits to our future guests. We are dedicated to ‘getting it right’ and your thoughts will be actioned by one of our team managers within 24 hours of receipt of your review. If you would like a personal...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is literally the worst hostel I have ever stayed at! Hostel is situated right behind the magnum bar/nightclub. There are signs in the accommodation area saying that people are to be quiet after 11pm. This was an absolute joke as the music from the club continued on until well after 12 and was so loud we could hear every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsty10715
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, we will use this feedback in a structured and methodical process to ensure we maximize the benefits to our future guests. We are dedicated to ‘getting it right’ and your thoughts will be actioned by one of our team managers within 24 hours of receipt of your review. If you would like a personal...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Hostel had dirty bathrooms but is well located. Would recommend to anyone on a budget. The problem I had was with the American lady at reception (which also acts as a tourist info/booking site). We were attempting to find a tour suited to our needs but she was relentless on trying to sell one particular tour from one company (Big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _mphlamb
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we have spoken to the employee involved who recalls serving you, we have also checked the booking time and date and it would seem that you purchased one of the last spots on a heavily discounted tour, we are genuinely sorry if the tour or the service did not meet your...

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Amazing Backpacker Hostel, we really enjoyed our stay there and everything was well-organised, even during 'Schoolies' - we highly recommend that place! All the staff are lovely, but one special THANK YOU goes out to lovely Alana, who was extremely open-hearted and helped us in private. Shoutout to her friend Graeme for being the best mechanic in town. You rock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jule F
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Love this review, thank you, your kind words will be passed on to Alana :-)

Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

Considering the size of this hostel I was amazed by the cleanliness, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. I stayed here during Schoolies and the Reception desk was constantly busy. I got the impression staff were quite stressed but this didn't affect their customer service in the slightest. Everyone was very helpful, smiley and polite. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, yes we are a busy hostel but the team are well trained to ‘keep up’, they are all so well suited to their roles :-) We do hope you make it back our way soon, in the meantime stay safe and happy.

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Now, I've checked in at a lot of places, but never have the stuff been so friendly as here. You will feel the warm embrace of a mother-figure, namely Alana, and her provisions of hydration. Thank you x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review

Love this review, thank you, your kind words will be passed on to Alana :-)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 54 in Airlie Beach
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 54 in Airlie Beach
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $33 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnums Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I cannot get over that a double room for us both was less than most 8 bed dorms!”
 of 5 bubbles kayleighwallace, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“The free parking is actually in a parking lot behind the complex; 3 minutes walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles RosarinhoPT, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Great Value”
 of 5 bubbles Bella392, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“8 Person Cabins are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles erinb185, Apr 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back far away from the bars.”
 of 5 bubbles suusst, Mar 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay