We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Booking.com$135*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 680: English reviews
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette110
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Sydney
Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Our visit this time was a bit of a let down. Sadly, The Reef House has lost its edge & exclusivity. The property is tired, in need of some major refurbishments particularly the room furnishings. Rooms require tall boy or general Chester draws, verandah furniture go back at least 15 plus years & pools are tired & in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael795
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Michael795, Thank you for posting your review, I am sorry to know you feel this way. The whole team at the Reef House both individually and as a group review Trip Adviser on a regular basis, since your review two staff members have come to be and asked if I had read your review? I in turn asked them...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2015

We booked a 5 night stay via Luxury Escapes in October this year. Firstly let me say the staff were great, but the Hotel self rates as a 5 star hotel. Our room was a verandah room with ocean views. Nice aspect, however on closer inspection our bath had a peeling surface, including where they had clearly resurfaced the bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nickstar79
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Nickstar79, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, your thoughts on our staff members, food and pools absolutely true. We take so much pride in making sure everybody enjoys their stay at the Reef House and Spa. We do apologise for the room you stayed in, it is obvious the room did not pass our quality...

Joondalup, Australia
Reviewed October 20, 2015

From making the reservation (Gemma) to front of house (Megan) Restaurant (Michael) to the cleaners ((Sharon) A complete performance. Nothing was a hassle, and if something was not right someone was there to rectify straight away. I must single out Gemma at reservations, we swapped and changed things a number of times and nothing phased her. What a pleasure to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David B, Everybody is delighted with your feedback and thank you for mentioning so many of your staff members by name. Gemma has been with our team for a number of years and is based in reservations. We encourage everybody to book via Gemma, nobody knows the Reef House and Spa better ! Thanks again...

Gungahlin
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Just had 5 lovely nights at Reef House. Despite being on the beachfront and surrounded by other apartments, this is a quiet hotel with very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Two large pools, surrounded by a lush garden make for a comfortable and relaxing environment, quite apart from the beach which is across the road. The restaurant is also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank polly164
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Good afternoon polly164, Thank you for staying with us polly164, it is great to know you had a relaxing holiday. As you mention other properties in Palm Cove do not influence the Reef House at all, guests staying in our beach front rooms often tell stories of waking up to the sound of waves and sea breezes not hustle and...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2015

5 nights at the Reef House in Palm Cove were very relaxing. Older hotel with character right on the waterfront and almost in the middle of the Palm Cove strip. Service was sound and the restaurant was pretty good, how it would survive in a more competitive environment without the ready stream of tourists would be interesting to see. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 178Greig178
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear 178Greig178, Thank you so much for staying at the Reef House and Spa and for sharing your feedback on Trip Adviser. The Reef House and Spa was the first Hotel built in Palm Cove, our Colonial Style Beach House dates back to around 1958 and begun it's most recent history in 1972 when Brigadier Thompson acquired the property. 178Greig178,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed October 18, 2015

We very munch enjoyed our stay at the Reef House Palm Cove. This hotel––it could better be described as a kind of old-fashioned inn-by-the-sea––was probably the nicest, most beautiful place we stayed in during our entire month-long trip through Australia. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at every point, particularly in helping us figure out how to plan our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick049
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Rick049, I just wanted to thank you for staying at the Reef House and for taking the time to post your review. The number of Trip Adviser reviews you have written is staggering and to receive praise from your review means a lot. We pride ourselves on being a Colonial Style Beach House by the Sea and once again...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2015

Stayed in a two bedroom appointed apartment which was very comfortable and spacious . Had amazing balconies to relax on overlooking the Aqua pool. Family friendly as we're on school holidays can be lots noise during the day if near the pool. Walk on the beach is 10 mins to restaurants off the beach which was lovely at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binglou
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Binglou, Thank you for your review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our apartments. Our apartment style accommodation is very modern and functional, however the Reef House is not a strata or body corporate style of accommodation. We are proud to own and manage all aspect of the Reef House experience. There are few...

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2015

A great location! Beautiful accommodation! As is now a given at the MGallery hotels, the Reef House was excellent! From the charming staff to the hot tub on the balcony of our room, this was a truly great place to be. Being harsh, the rooms are beginning to get a little dated - but this adds to the Queensland beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EwBarr
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Hello EwBarr and thank you for your great review. I really appreciate the feedback you have shared and the title of your review really stands out to fellow Trip Adviser readers. The Reef House is determined to offer the best possible holiday experience to all guests staying with us. We do have plans to give our Beach house a lift...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We stayed here 5 years ago, but this time we were disappointed to see the maintenance is very poor, we were in a 2 bedroom unit, the beds were very firm, and fridge has seen better days, the balcony had not been cleaned our feet were black, the upholstery on the lounge and chairs was badly stained, on top of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank disappointed590
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear disappointed590, Thank you for your feedback, we are also disappointed to know you did not enjoy parts of your stay. Each day I host Brigadier punch and Canapes, I am sorry we did not meet and have the opportunity to discuss your concerns and resolve them before you left. disappointed590, we have been able to action most of the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

383 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (328)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Price Range: $142 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Rosebud, Australia
Woodside, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Would recommend a room with the spa on balcony, very spacious room”
susanwX6643NF, 2 days ago | Read review
“Garden needs upgrading around pool area for a more cultivated appearance. (At least up to the standard of the wonderful street planting in Palm Cove)”
canberra2017, 3 days ago | Read review
“No complaints”
Carmielovesqld, 1 week ago | Read review
“Some rooms have a lovely view of the pool”
celiamacdonald, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choose a balcony room.”
marioneaton, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$135* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$135
HotelQuickly$160
Expedia.com$134
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates