We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive

Save
Share
Crta. Las Terrenas El Limon Km 4., Las Terrenas 32000 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
BahiaPrincipe
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/29/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$140
$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$132
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10394)
Pool & Beach (3234)
Room & Suite (1007)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 44 hotels in Las Terrenas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
7496Reviews1592Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,104
  • 2,388
  • 650
  • 204
  • 151
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
val c wrote a review Jul 28
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 6 nights with a party of 4. Rooms are spacious and clean. We had a family suite, a one bedroom suite with a big double bed and with two single sofa beds in the living area. You get complementary towels and robes to use at the pool and spa and a free pair of flip flops. There’s a small kitchen you can use with plates and cutlery. Breakfast is delicious and more than sufficient Staff is really friendly. This is a true family resort. Activities for the little ones all day long and in the evening with a football game. Staff is helpful and very friendly. The hotel is situated higher up in the mountains which makes it really tranquille. We had a very nice and relaxing stay here! Will definitely book again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
JC0579 wrote a review Jul 14
New York City, New York15 contributions8 helpful votes
Resort is perfectly situated in Las Terrenas. The resort itself is great in size with one main pool near buffet, snack bar, sports bar and beach. Jorge the pool bartender was the best! Nathy at the buffet was awesome Only disappointment was the buffet seemed overwhelmed with guests at every meal time. Seems like there were no limited restrictions to accommodate guests. Also the 4th of July BBQ was not a great idea. But over all we enjoyed our time at El Portillo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yodalys Antúnez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for having taken the time to write the impressions you had during your recent stay in our Hotel. We are very sorry to read about the fact that in some aspects we could not fulfill your expectations. Comments such as yours are what we strive for everyday to improve the quality of the services we provide. On behalf of the staff of Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo, receive our apologies for the inconveniences you had at our Hotel. Sincerely, Yodalys Antúnez Online Reputation Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo
Read more
Angie C wrote a review Jul 13
Orlando, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
This resort is beautiful and the beach is amazing . However the rooms are old and falling apart . The air conditioner are horrible . It was extremely hot in the rooms . The food at the buffet is horrible
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yodalys Antúnez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for having taken the time to write the impressions you had during your recent stay in our Hotel. We are very sorry to read about the fact that in some aspects we could not fulfill your expectations. Please, accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Sincerely, Yodalys Antúnez Online Reputation Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo
Read more
Jen P wrote a review Jul 12
Hawthorne, New Jersey3 contributions3 helpful votes
This was the worst possible experience I have ever had and I am demanding a refund in full. We left after 1 night and spent over 2500 USD traveling to and from the destination. We planned a family trip to the Bahia Principe earlier this year. I tried securing our travel as a group and was told we didn't have enough rooms to be considered a group and those reservations had to be made individually. My party secured 4 individual reservations as instructed and the agent assured us that the on-site front office would accommodate our requests to be together and in handicap accommodations. I booked renovated room types online, Junior Suite deluxe with 2 beds, and noted I was traveling with a handicapped passenger. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were assigned rooms in buildings that were too far away to accommodate a handicapped passenger in a building with NO elevator. I had to argue for 40 minutes with Narciso at the front desk to be accommodated in a closer building. This ultimately resulted in a room swap with another person in our party and no resolution or compensation offered by the desk. The rooms my party received were not renovated, had leaks in 3 of 4 rooms and mold in the bathroom, no AC and infestation of mosquitoes in the room and flies outside. The food on the property was barely edible and only consisted of old oily french fries and hot dogs. After making multiple complaints to the desk, and being advised there were no resolutions that could be offered, at the behest of my handicapped guest, I arranged to travel back to our previous hotel all the way back to Cap Cana. These changes in total including the new hotel reservations in cap cana, change of airline departure airport, and transportation back to Cap Cana have cost me well over an additional 2500 USD. It is completely outrageous that this hotel is described as a 4-star experience. The rooms and food experience on their own disqualify the use of the term, combine the poor product with dismissive and downright disrespectful service what I experienced was abhorrent and abuse consumer trust. The area is remote and there are not a lot of alternatives. The hotel seemingly takes advantage of that and assumes a careless and cavalier attitude, assuming most people will have to deal with it; it is the worst kind of abuse. My family had been so looking forward to enjoying the natural beauty of the area. We subsequently had to cancel several plans we made for the area and this changed the complete tone and trajectory of our vacation. After waiting almost 2 years for this first family trip, this was a major disappointment and I attribute all the failures to lack of service, from the start with reservations all the way down to the servers in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Yodalys Antúnez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for having taken the time to write the impressions you had during your recent stay in our Hotel. We are very sorry to read about the fact that in some aspects we could not fulfill your expectations. Comments such as yours are what we strive for everyday to improve the quality of the services we provide. On behalf of the staff of Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo, receive our apologies for the inconveniences you had at our Hotel. Sincerely, Yodalys Antúnez Online Reputation Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo
Read more
Melissa wrote a review Jul 11
11 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked the trip for 4 nights and we didn’t even make it through the the first night. The staff were rude. My room had a leak in the ceiling. Food was cold. Beds are hard. Sheets and towels are stained. We checked out and decided to head back to punta cana!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Yodalys Antúnez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Responded 2 weeks ago
Estimado Huésped, Queremos expresarle nuestro agradecimiento por haberse tomado el tiempo de escribir las impresiones que tuvo durante su reciente estadía en nuestro Hotel. Lamentamos mucho saber que en algunos aspectos no pudimos cumplir con sus expectativas. Comentarios como el suyo son lo que buscamos todos los días para mejorar la calidad de los servicios que brindamos. En nombre del personal de Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo, reciba nuestras disculpas por las molestias que tuvo en nuestro Hotel. Atentamente, Yodalys Antunez Online Reputation Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe el portillo hotel las terrenas, el portillo beach resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Portillo Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSamana ProvinceLas Terrenas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
606
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Nearby attractions include Playa El Portillo (2.3 miles), Playa Las Ballenas (3.9 miles), and Playa Punta Popy (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Conveniently located restaurants include 18 El Dieciocho, L' Industrie Pizzeria LT, and El Lugar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Grand El Portillo All Inclusive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.