We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Save
Share
Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Sao Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Pestana
$147
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Expedia.com$173
Booking.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1931)
Room & Suite (612)
Pool & Beach (304)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Sao Martinho
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Game room
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3049Reviews231Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,952
  • 807
  • 220
  • 46
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marie W wrote a review Jan 12
Faversham, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a lovely12 days at Pestana Grand and received an upgrade our 1 bedroom apartment was amazing. Hotel is in a peaceful location and most rooms which were very clean have sea views. Hotel has some good restaurants & shopping mall nearby. Regular bus service into Funchal or you can take the beautiful promenade walk into Funchal stopping a the many cafes & restaurants en-route. We have been to Madeira for many years it’s a beautiful & very clean island and the Levada walks are a must you never know what you will see on the many stunning walks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Duarte Correia, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear MarieW369, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, Gilberto Gouveia General Manager
Read more
Jorge S wrote a review Jan 7
Montijo, Portugal185 contributions44 helpful votes
Excellent location of the hotel with beautiful and well taken care gardens full of exquisit endemic flowers. Very near the Madeira Mall (Forum) and lots of nice restaurants. One of the biggest swimming pools of Funchal.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Duarte Correia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Jorge S, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand Hotel, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Warm regards, Gilberto Gouveia Hotel Manager
Read more
Henry O wrote a review Jan 4
1 contribution
Great location, excellent view from the room, quite, only the ocean waves are heard, very good service, helpful personel, warm indoor pool, good saunas, wellness center, billiard, good connection with the city center as town buses stop 5 min. walk from the hotel, close to the supermarket.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. henry2630, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, Gilberto Gouveia Hotel Manager
Read more
susan a wrote a review Dec 2021
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Another wonderful stay at the Pestana Grand ,we love the location at the quiet end of the resort and it’s a nice one hour stroll into the centre of Funchal along the promenade with lots of lovely sea view coffee shops on the way. Food was great especially the lovely fish dishes our favourite meal was the in the Madeiran restaurant wish it was open more than once a week. The staff were all very friendly and helpful .The view of the ocean and the sound of the waves from our room is fabulous. Can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea facing gets the lovely morning sun
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Susan A., Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Gilberto Gouveia Hotel Manager
Read more
mgt23 wrote a review Dec 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom15 contributions18 helpful votes
Great location right on sea front promenade. Too far to walk into Funchal but local bus very handy. Outside spaces are lovely and huge outdoor pool but it is not heated so no good for our December stay, indoor pool is tiny, not much use at all. Staff are attentive and helpful. Fabulous views from sea front rooms and good sized patio with very nice chairs/loungers. Beds and pillows are not very good and towels are very worn and tatty. WiFi is poor. Food in the self service buffet is poor and served barely warm. Not recommended. There are three al la carte areas, we tried the Italian it was terrible, like a supermarket frozen lasagna. The moroccan was better but had only two choices of meal. Food is nowhere near five star. Generally very disappointing hotel, other four star hotels along the prom we have found much better. We would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Worth extra for sea view, most rooms have either morning OR afternoon sun, very few have both.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. mgt2310, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your stay at Pestana Grand. We highly appreciate the feedback provided by our Guests as it helps us improve our daily performance and perfect our service and overall quality. Unfortunately we were unable to identify you by the name on this review. We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation and with your dining experience. We have shared your comments with our head of departments, and we are working together to amplify the standard controls each department is subjected to and we are taking measures to ensure that unfortunate comments like these do not happen again. Once again, we thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and hope you give us an opportunity to renew our image and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Gilberto Gouveia Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pestana grand funchal, hotel pestana grand, pestana grand hotel, pestana grand madeira
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pestana Grand
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchalSao Martinho
NUMBER OF ROOMS
177
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Nearby attractions include Forum Madeira (0.2 miles), Tunel das Pocas do Gomes (0.1 miles), and MADEIRA RETREAT (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hoyo Hoyo Sabores de Moçambique, Dona Nina, and Asian Flavours Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (2.4 miles), Santa Clara Convent (2.2 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (2.2 miles).
Does Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.