We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Berkshire Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Berkshire Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed everything about the wedding here and liked the room but we were disappointed in the service at this hotel, which purports to be "exclusive" We were on the third floor and there is no lift, but no help with bags. The breakfast was a buffet, with eggs cooked to order on request. Having had melon to start with,... More 

Helpful?
Thank GranniStuart
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel. Rooms recently re decorated to very high standard. Very nice breakfast. Bar drinks good if a tad expensive. Lovely grounds for nice walks in. Only 5 minutes from Ascot. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank MartynNicRuby
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here after a wedding down the road from the hotel. Found the decor very dated, wasn't expecting anything modern as it would ruin the style of the old building but it felt like needed a good touch-up. Bathroom was grotty and toilet didn't flush properly.

Helpful?
Thank LaurenEagle
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped at this hotel as part of a LEGOLAND package and were impressed despite a shaky start! As a family of 4 we had booked a double room with a sofa bed for the children but once we got to the room we soon realised that our room only had a double bed. I explained the situation to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Jess
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so glad that you and your family had a great stay with us during your visit to Legoland recently. We have added some additional items onto the buffet at breakfast over the summer, and the waffles and maple syrup have proved very popular with many of our guests. We hope to see you again the next... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel and I really enjoyed lovely and elegant atmosphere, helpful staff, big, clean and comfortable rooms.very private location. I came to Ascot races and i needed lovely and good quality hotel. Ascot races' atmosphere and lovely and elegant atmosphere combined together made my Ascot week very special and very royal :) No wonder i moved... More 

Helpful?
Thank LudK13
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review. I am so glad to read that you enjoy our Afternoon Tea on a regular basis. We now serve Tregothnan loose leaf tea from Cornwall with our home made sandwiches, scones and cakes, which has proved to be extremely popular with our guests over the summer. We do hope to see you... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nice with a beautiful garden. I was staying there with some frequency, but once they had some works and I didn't have hot water in my room for two days. Unfortunately they didn't have the attention in the price of the room not applying any discount/ compensation.

Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. The gardens have looked fantastic this year and we are glad that you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We shall look into your other points as we were not aware of any issues with hot water supply during your stay. I do hope that we... More 

Witney, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was spacious. Shame we could hear kid upstairs running about early morning. Decor a bit dated the entrance to the hotel could be smartened up a bit. The old women in charge of the young waiters and waitresses was unruly and rude to them as well as being quite scruffy compared to the younger ones. Breakfast was plentiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthjaney
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback further to your recent stay. I am glad to read that you had a great breakfast and enjoyed your stay. I shall discuss you comments with our Breakfast Supervisor as your observations are rather a concern to me. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel and grounds and very friendly helpful staff. However, no lift but if you have problems with stairs I am sure they would accomadate you. We had a upgraded room but no bath only a walk in shower. No shower hat for those with long hair. Restaurant food was very good and very reasonable. Breakfast was excellent . There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray M
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad to learn that the Birthday celebrations were such a success. Many thanks for your comments following your stay. It is always encouraging for the team to be told when they have provided great service. We look forward to welcoming you again for some more family friend celebrations. Kind regards More 

Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My group of 50 people stayed for 4 nights at the Royal Berkshire at the beginning of August. The rooms were clean and comfortable with good plumbing. The grounds are lovely, The location is great. We really enjoyed the dinners prepared by the hotel. The food was local and fresh. Excellent job! The staff could not have done more to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mdl100468
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was good to read that your event was such a success. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. I shall pass your comments to the team members who looked after your event as such comments are always very well received. Kind regards More 

York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got a late deal as we were at Guards Polo so the location was great & the price good too. Sadly, quite a few things were really a bit below par for such a grand hotel with the amazing history that it has (look into it: Churchills & Horlicks to whet your appetite!). No lifts..... and we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BruceYork
Andrew C, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review following your visit at the weekend. I shall share your detailed comments with the teams that were working over the weekend to ensure we iron out some of the issues that you mention. We look forward to seeing you during next year's Polo season. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
3.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel
FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel
Cuisines: British, Gluten Free Options, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Price Range: $130 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay