We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

OutBack Caravan Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
OutBack Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I needed a drive through site with power and a clean pool to cool off in. It was stinking hot that day so the friendly, welcoming staff n pooch made it all so easy for an overnight stay at $27. Loved it n would definitely stay again 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne A
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's the first time I review a location only with one point but it was the worst camp site I ever was. Surprisingly the owner was so unfriendly and harsh, I couldn't believe. The bush kitchen is outworn, there is no cooker, even not a BBQ and the micro wave doesn't work. But the worst thing is, one step outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard H
Janice w, General Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Dear Bernhard, I am writing in response to your review. We are very sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. I apologize for the rude person that you said was on Reception, who was not the Owner and was a Reception staff member who is no longer with us. Not once to my knowledge did you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On first look the park is okay. Easy drive through parking pleanty of room and quiet. Go for a nice relaxing shower and wgat do you get is a cold shower. I understand that in the wuiet tone parks shut some amenities but why cut off the hot water. Tutn it fow to 50% heat but not off and still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June F
Management response:

Hi June, It is a shame to hear you had an unpleasant shower within one of our amenity blocks, our apologies. The unfortunate reason due to the lack of hot water was not because we "cut off" our hot water system, as we never do that regardless of what time of year it is. But the fact we were not...

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our way north then car trouble on way back to Adelaide,we arrived after 10pm and they let us in :)as a single mum with 3 kids the service exceptional amenities emaculate,most other visitors friendly,town bus lovely driver took us where we needed to go while car repaired,shame no taxi when stuck.I would highly recommend this park to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ppeepper
Grenoble, France
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We have been travelling in our motorhome since July !8th. Stayed at Outback Cavan Park 26th september 2016 and with all the rumours we have heard of Tennant creek we were pleasantly surprised to find the rumours had no substance the town was very clean and tidy good restaurant's and Outback was of highest standards great sites with shade, amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
Management response:

Thank you so much for the 5 Stars!! Great to hear you enjoyed your time here and didn't let those "rumours" deter you. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Many Thanks, The Team at OCP

Legian, Indonesia
Reviewed September 13, 2016

The position of Tennant Creek gives travellers little choice about where to stay. Last time we came through the town we stayed at the park to the north of town which is cheaper but were not impressed, so this tim,e we opted for Outback Caravan Park. As is typical with these old parks, the periphery of the grounds are littered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Clean park with good facilities. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was clean and had all that was necessary for an overnight stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful and there is a small shop that has a good range of essentials, .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjorie N
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

Drive through site, ideal for one night stay. Spotless amenities. Cabins looked new and well set up. Jimmy Hooker show an interesting insight into bush tucker and bush ways by an engaging fellow. Washers and driers $4 tokens. Good park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran K
Adelaide
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We stayed here one night on our journey back to Adelaide. The caravan park is very quiet - located well away from the highway/main road through Tennant Creek. Check in was thorough, and we were provided with a comprehensive map of the park and its facilities. They keep an eye on who comes and goes so anyone who shouldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovepythagoras
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and used the parks facilities to your full advantage! We look forward to your return, next time Jimmy may have have witchetty grub or kangaroo tail for your tasting experience ;-) Many Thanks, The team at OCP

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here although not out of choice as our car had broken down, but the staff were helpful throughout our stay and were more than happy to be able to point us in the right direction of the different things which we needed. The only fault which I can come up with is one of the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizzieLivo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
0.5 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from OutBack Caravan Park staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
5 months ago
Coles Bay, Australia
Alice Springs, Australia
over a year ago
Victoria, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from OutBack Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“turn right immediately after Office and head to grassed campsites next to Amenities block”
 of 5 bubbles samesdifd, Sep 2, 2015 | Read review
“Cabin as this is a Tourist Park, well appointed not 5 star but clean and comfortable, we enjoyed our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaPannell, May 9, 2015 | Read review
“As we were Travelling with Campers, Grab the drive through sites near the camp Kitchen if available.”
 of 5 bubbles Turbo1234, Apr 28, 2015 | Read review
“The newer cabins in the middle are great and a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles deant312, Mar 25, 2015 | Read review
“Good stopover for the Grey Nomads.”
  • Cabin
 of 5 bubbles Maikzone, Mar 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question