We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Luritja Road | Watarrka National Park, Northern Territory 0872 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Centre
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kings Canyon Resort Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family of 4 recently stayed at the campground on our 5 week trip through Central Australia. The Kings Canyon rim walk was high on our list of must- do's and so we decided to stay at Kings Canyon Resort in order to be close so we could get an early morning start for the walk. Our disappointment started at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Anne D
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are travellers who decided to stay at Kings Canyon resort, I have been there many times before and always loved my time there, The staff are excellent and service is their key to ensure your stay will be wonderful. The sunset lookout platform is fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank GypsyDi77
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Kings Canyon offers stunning scenery on a half day walk. Ideally placed to visit the natural attractions is the Kings Canyon Resort, 10 km by sealed road to the start of the canyon walks. The resort offers hotel and camping ground facilities with bars, restaurants, pool and a fuel station.

Helpful?
Thank Graham J
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the campground and found it clean and well-maintained. The amenities were cleaned and the power worked well. $25 p/p, although steep, is the price you pay. It is a very isolated location and you need to take freight and wages into account. There are dingoes around but they did not approach and were quite harmless (but don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelseytolhurst
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Thanks Chelsey for your review and advising people not to feed the dingoes , an issue for many travellers to Watarrka National Park. Our prices do reflect the cost of providing the services and facilities in such a remote region , appreciate that you acknowledge that as well. We are very excited about soon being able to offer en suited... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Kings Canyon Campground was everything other campgrounds are. We had a powered campsite and were fairly close to the amenities. The views at the back of the campground of the mountains were fantastic, sunset and sunrise were great times for photos. The campground is extending so there was some building excavation going on. The only complaint I had was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Thanks Julie C for your review of your stay in our Powered Sites. I am sorry you were had a problem with hot water during your stay . We have 6 ablution blocks in the Campground and I am not aware of all 6 having that issue . Our Maintenance team would certainly have investigated the issue if we had... More 

Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

$40 for a disorganised non powered site in an overcrowded camping area is far from pleasing. Non powered sites, which were the only ones available, did not have water. Bread from the shop was stale and the fuel was over priced. It is on a tarred road and excessive charges are unjustified. Facilities were not particularly clean and tidy. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjiignome
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Benjiignome , Non powered sites here are charged at $20 per adult and $10 per child , per night . This cost, along with fuel and good in the store, reflect the cost of providing our services and facilities , including water , power (to the facilities) and sewerage to all guests. Our 6 Campground amenity blocks ARE all... More 

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived with out booking so we paid for an unpowered site. $25 per person per night was quite steep we thought. We were told to park where we found a spot. There was no logic to the parking at all. People just seemed to pull in and park where ever - didn't think about blocking others in or allowing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Sandra H You have incorrectly stated the price of unpowered camping as $25 per adult . It is only $20 per adult, $10 per child aged between 5 - 12 . We do not have allocated sites to enable people to choose their own set up arrangements , as most of our campers prefer. We offer both grass for... More 

Fingal Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Showers were clean and hot views from our lot were fabulous. The sunset bar and viewing area was fabulous. The outback bar and grill food was great but majorly understaffed and waiting times were very long.

Helpful?
Thank angefreeman
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay in our campground. Glad you enjoyed the hot showers and fabulous views of Watarrka National Park . The Outback BBQ does offer a great night's dining and entertainment from 530 pm - 830pm , and despite the very busy school holiday season, our well staffed BBQ and Thirsty Dingo Bar have enjoyed... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights at camp ground. Faciliteis were great, pool and grass for kids to run around. Viewing platform with sunset drinks was great fun. Biggest problem was the store ran out of milk and bread. Bistro ran out of pizza's. Stock up well for your stay before you arrive as there may be no food to buy. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank swimkate
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear swimkate Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Campground . You obviously stayed in recent weeks when the unexpected influx of extra travellers to the Watarrka region left us a little short on supplies until our weekly truck delivery on Thursday. A constant reminder of just how remote we are at Kings Canyon Resort !! regards Michelle... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The non powered camp ground section for caravans is very poor and unattractive, although the tent area was quite pleasant looking. The washing machines need replacing as do half the hinges on the shower doors. The toilet blocks were not particularly clean. Prices for fuel and basic items are ridiculous. Nearly $8 for a box of Jatz biscuits and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichaelTasman
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Centre
3.7 mi away
Kings Canyon Resort
Kings Canyon Resort
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
3.5 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
Sails In The Desert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
76.0 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
154.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Address: Luritja Road | Watarrka National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Resort Campground Australia/Red Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing