We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Boyne Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a great campground, nice and close to all the attractions of the gorge and a well maintained and appointed spacious ground. The pool with the café was a lovely area. The meals from the café were fantastic, great range, quality and price. It is also licensed, we didn't bother cooking while we stayed there.

Helpful?
Thank Judy M
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Seriously please check Wikipedia for the definition of chalet!! We stayed in nothing more than a very comfortable cabin in a camping grounds right in the back of the property furtherest away from everything at $218 per night!! The "free wi fi" rarely worked inside, the "free to air TV" just didn't happen and the shower kept going from hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank delamita
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was going to be our highlight on our road trip. We booked two powered sites for 2 nights as we were travelling with friends. We checked in and set up camp when we saw bus after bus after bus coming into the park and setting up hundreds of tents anywhere they could by this time reception had closed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz P
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of the Nitmiluk Campgrounds and I do apologize if the experience was not up to your expectations. Be assured we are addressing these issues including a complete review of our schools policy and a compete refurbishment of our amenities block at the end of the season More 

Truro, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful site set amongst large trees with the Gorge only a short walk away. Amazing reception/cafe/shop area on arrival with friendly helpful staff. Campground is large. We had pre booked a poweredsite for our motorhome so you are assured of a spot but its a first come, first served situation. Amenities are a decent hike from the powered sites... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Nitmiluk campground. Yew, we acknowledge that the amenities are in need of an upgrade and have a complete refurbishment scheduled for the end of the season. I will pass on your comments re our entertainment to ensure we improve on this offering More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You know when you go to a camping ground and it's got that great vibe about it that you know you're going to have a good stay...well this is it. We stayed in the cabins which had everything we needed and space and separate rooms. Coming from Litchfield Park previously, we were wondering why doesn't that park and surrounding accommodations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imnotbiased
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Nitmiluk campground and chalets - always a pleasure to get such positive acknowledgement! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet for 2 nights with our 3 and 4 year old. Cabins were flawless. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely cold air con was very welcome after a morning exploring. Pool was fabulous and great.for.little kids as it has a little beach.area. The poolside bar and bistro was really cool. Great to sit and have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HOBSI
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of the chalets and our touring - I agree the best way to truly appreciate the best of the area is from the air! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We had a caravan so we were comfortable, unfortunately the toilet block is not adequate for the size of the grounds it's not well looked after considering it is very close to a well maintained swimming pool which is fantastic on those hot days there is a kiosk at the pool that sells meals Burra, Steak, Chicken & Kangaroo $30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debal28
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Nitmiluk Campground. I note your comment re the amenities block and can advise that we have a complete refurbishment of these facilities scheduled for the end of season - I do however appreciate that this is too late for your stay. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Powered site motorhome. The bad points are: sites are very small and because the park is busy not much privacy. The main powered sites were blue metal base which is understandable given the amount of use they get but not so comfortable on the feet. The amenities are old and need urgent updating. The good points: The setting is beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jakeman2014
DwyerMandy, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of Nitmiluk campground. We do have powered sites in a few different sizes from small to extra large however during our peak season - which runs from May to August - all sites are in high demand. I will pass your comments onto our Campground manager and operations team for review. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

The big asset of this campground is its location. It is indeed the most convenient place to stay to enjoy all the activities the park has to offer, and the staff is super helpful I have to give them this. But obviously this convenience has quite a high price... You will find facilities very poorly maintained ( showers, toilets...), no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virginie32
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We spent a night in the permanent Safari Tents. The tents are unpowered but have proper beds. The configuration of our tents (the slightly larger versions) was a double bed with a single bunk on top. The tents are located close to the toilet/shower block. There are also cooking facilities and a bistro and pool very close by and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank hapitraveller
DwyerMandy, Guest Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of our Safari Tents. They are a very popular choice for visitors who don't have their own camping equipment but still want the "camping" experience! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katherine
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#6 of 8 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 18 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#7 of 8 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#2 of 8 in Katherine
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Andrew Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
... more   less 

Additional Information about Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground

Address: Gorge Rd | Nitmiluk National Park, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Price Range: $130 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay