We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Playa Matapalo Sardinal Carrillo - Guanacaste, Sardinal Costa Rica
Visit hotel website
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Sold out for these dates from our partners.
Contact accommodation for availability. There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (6257)
360
Panoramas (21)
Videos (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The 24-hour all-inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica opens all year round and is located directly on the beautiful Matapalo beach. Our guests may use the facilities in the sister Hotel Riu Guanacaste, except dinner meal. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Daniel Oduber Airport LIR (33 km) and Playas del Coco (18 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 538 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Japanese, Italian, Fusion restaurant and Steakhouse, as well as 6 bars and our Cappuccino patisserie & ice cream parlor.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Suites
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
Hotel deals
5,344Reviews1,638Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,910
  • 1,536
  • 542
  • 198
  • 158
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
From the moment we arrived here we had a great time. We were greeted with a choice of cocktail or a beer, check in was simple and our room was ready before the check in time. The room itself was very spacious and although there is a slightly odd bathroom arrangement (the bath is in the middle of the room and separated by a curtain) we had no problems with it. It was cleaned well every day, the TV had a lot of channels and many in English and the wifi worked perfectly. There are four very large pools and the hotel is on the beach so there are lots of options of where to relax. You can also do various water-sports for free on the beach including kayaking and SUP. There is also the opportunity to see monkeys and iguanas all around the resort. The food is varied and generally delicious, there is something for everyone. There are also four speciality restaurants where you can eat a la carte. The Japanese one was only open 2 nights while we were there which was a shame but we still managed to eat there on one night. If the resort is busy then it is best to go at 6pm in order to get a table as they get full pretty quickly. The entertainment staff were great as well. We did a few fitness classes which included Aerial yoga and Zumba and Adriana was particularly awesome. We also did aqua gym in the pool every day which was also fun. The evening shows were pretty good quality and there was live music each night. If you want to do excursions then I'd recommend using Carlos or Erick on the beach as they are much cheaper than TUI. There are also women doing massages on the beach which are great value and we even got to feed monkeys when we went for ours! Would definitely return!
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We visited here in April. There had been no rain for five months the temperatures were very high. Rest and relaxation, with superb service, food and drink were provided by the super staff. The grounds were immaculate and rooms were clean and comfortable. This being a no smoking hotel was heaven for us. I could write pages about how perfect is was. The only thing I would like to comment on is the weekends. The serene atmosphere is totally lost as an influx of weekend guests arrive. We witnessed drunkenness and loutish behaviour. These people were very loud and shouted in the restaurants. In the evening the dress code was ignored, with beachwear in evidence and baseball caps being worn at dinner. These people were disrespectful to the staff who did their best. Despite this we had a great holiday and thanks to the the staff who make this place so special
Read more
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Responded Apr 11, 2019
Dear Sue W, Thank you for your five star rating! It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay! We appreciate your kind words! It was a pleasure looking after you, the team and I will look forward to welcoming you back again! We only regret that you were bothered by the inappropriate behavior of other guests which we apologize for. We hope to host you once again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! King regards, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Online Reputation Manager
Read more
The staff in Riu Palace is absolutely lovely. We even left the safe open by accident and this was managed very professionally by calling security. The food was not the best, 2 times I found a hair in it and once egg shell. The SPA is a very big rip off. They do have prices like proper 5* hotels. I can’t say quality because I didn’t use. Better to get a massage at the beach. The shows are essentially stupid (amazing dancers though) not celebrating the rich culture of Costa Rica but rather “Las Vegas”, “All White”, etc. Not enough Latino music either. Oh and unless you wanna spend 300$ on pictures they take then... They’re not worth it - maybe 1 or 2 as it is 15$ a pic. I’d cost me less to hire a professional photographer for 1h than their time for 10 mins. The rest was amazing, the hotel is clean and very looked after. And once again, amazing staff
Read more
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Responded 3 days ago
Dear jusselvk, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to learn that overall you had a great stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica! We appreciate that you highlight the great customer service and work ethic of our staff members and the cleanliness of our resort! Nevertheless, we lament that you found room for improvement regarding our gastronomic offer and also we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the work of our entertainment crew. We'll share your concerns to the corresponding departments so that they can take your words into consideration! We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Online Reputation Manager
Read more
hotel is good variety of wildlife to see from crabs,iguanas to monkeys on the beach which like to be fed in the mornings. situation is ok but not if you like to go out wandering as not much to do apart from the hotel next door and a few shops. staff service excellent in the restaurants,bars and around the pool always coming round to check if you needed a drink.Room was good very clean and comfy.Recommend booking trips with locals on the beach.Been to Costa Rica three times now highly recommend.
Read more
Sadly the many-many nice features of the RIU Palace Costa Rica were overshadowed by a couple of issues resulting from the Poor Quality of Service of a few of their employees not only in Costa Rica but upon my return - dealing with RIUs Customer Service. Much of my time in RIU Costa Rica and days coming back were consumed by these issues- so Sadly - my vacation, tranquility and money were waisted with RIU Unfortunately they were dealing with a retired Quality Engineer with 40 years experience in a large Technology Company with much of this work dealing the Quality Service for our customers. So knew very well how they should respond if they had a “small” knowledge of what the term - Quality of Service means. Regrettably I reached to RIU Customer Service upon my return, both in person and writing but their respond again did note rated well with me. RIU responded by not focusing on my question (Booking / Transportation ) and told me to reach another web site regarding the restaurant issue. Would like to emphasize that the issue was not money as we spent ten times (10x) on tipping as we appreciate service. Not wanting to pay for transportation was a matter of principle... My only recourse is to remove RIU from my list of favorite places to visit in my travels and in process of stopping an Upcoming Destination Wedding for a Nephew - Scheduled for late this year in RIU Mexico. Please Read on on my correspondence with RIU..... if you like more details /////////—////////——/////////——///—- Thanks ahead for your attention.,, would like to approach you directly before posting comments on the web.. Have been a RIU client for many years and have stayed several times in Cancun, Playa De Carmen and Dominican Republic - unfortunately recently signed up to your club, so may not see my numerous stays. Always have convinced family to go with me. Unfortunately my visit in Costa Rica was not 100% Pleasurable and Satisfactorily as it has been in the past. We spent several days discussing the issues below which resulted in loss of time, aggravation and with no positive results. 0. POLICY ON TOKYO RESTAURANT NEEDS TO SAY : WE ONLY SERVE THE FIRST NUMBER OF CLIENTS.. Arrived at Tokyo restaurant around 7:25 PM and was told that “They had reached the maximum of guest they served per evening “. Had them repeat this statement 3 times to insure I understood since all their litterateur indicates “First comes first serve 6:30 to 8:30 PM” not they reached a limit Told the staff that there many tables available and I willing to wait.. Again was told they had reached their evening max (was talking to head person - Mr Bayardo) Bayardo, suggested to talk to reception. At the reception desk, they told me to wait for the General Manager but after 35 minutes waiting in the lobby he never arrived. Explained that restaurant was Not open Monday and Tuesday and we were departing the following day. Said sorry many times but unfortunate was not willing to budge. Returned after closing time (9:00 pm) and saw new clients being served???? At this time my family suggested to drop it. 0. RIU SHOULD WARN CLIENTS BOOKING WITH RIU - IF BOOKING WITH RIU DIRECTLY OR OTHER ENGINES PULLING THEIR ORDER Per my suggestion told my brother and wife to book with RIU directly as they would include TRANSPORTATION to and from the Airport. They book with what appear with RIU directly but when we arrived at Airport together (Texas and California) they were denied to come along the same bus 🚎- even when half empty Only carrying us 4. For several days we were BOUNCED around by RIU staff, Nexus and Expedía. Arguments with Riu front desk became so heated that another staff member had to intervene.. My first language is Spanish so do not think it was a language as the front desk clerk kept insisting- “Usted Señor No Entiende” Not RIU problem - Go See Transportation company , I keep saying; I did not book with the transportation company - we book RIU Vacation My family was returning To Airport at same time, so would not had been a problem for RIU staff to absorbed the trip for two , after spending several thousand dollars on the visit .... But unfortunately they SAT ON THEIR “NO” PODIUM AND WILL NOT BUDGE... even if we touched on the subject every day we stayed there... with RIU saying NOT US FINALLY, my brother booked a private Van that took us in to the airport - We abandoned our free transportation to the airport. Want To published my comments in social media but want to give RIU Costa Rica a Chance to respond.. in particular since the General Manager Had agreed to help me in another matter.
Read more
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Vicent47, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica. We are grateful for your loyalty to our brand. As a repeating client you may know that we want all of our visitors to have an unforgettable time here at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, and as you can imagine, it makes us sad to learn that due to the issues you mention in your comment you had an overall unsatisfactory experience. We can assure you that we are very concerned and surprised to read your words in regards to our staff members. Please note that in RIU, customer service comes first and we always strive for the maximum in quality service, with a professional and personalized treatment in order to make you feel like home during your stay with us. We would like to apologize in behalf of our entire team if you did not feel properly attended by our staff members. Surely it was the intention of our staff to clarify this case effectively as this is not the type of experience we would like our guests to have. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it assists us in our continuous goal of improving our services. have taken notes about all your concerns and we will forward your experience with our Management team so that they can take actions accordingly. We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels to provide you a more memorable experience in which we’ll provide our quality standards! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteGulf of PapagayoSardinal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
538
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing