We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portmans Motor Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portmans Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose to stay here based on other travelers reviews and I was not disappointed. We did not arrived until after 7.30pm at night and we were shown to our room and found the curtains had all been closed and the heater had been turned on so our accommodation was cosy and warm as we entered and we appreciated that!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hillsey3
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very helpful review. We will certainly look into doing that in the next few weeks. We were pleased to read that your stay suited your requirements and you were very comfortable. I look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and found the motel to be clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen. Separate bedroom and a good sized dining table for working at a bonus. Small lounge area with a chair and tv - chair not that comfy for lounging in but adequate. Spa bath was a nice addition. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and pleased to read they you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the TV in the bedroom wasn't going for you - however it has been checked and sorted. Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts - Robert does a great job and they are always appreciated. Look forward to hosting you on your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night to run the Hawkes Bay half. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Reasonably priced too. 4 rather than 5 due to the noise from the roads and rail. I always take ear plugs when I travel and I used them here. The owners let me come back after the run for a shower and a late... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments Wayne - pleased to hear that all of the things we have control over were good for you. The marathon weekend was great for Hawkes Bay, so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to hosting you next time you are visiting Hastings. More 

Waitara, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

This accommodation was wonderful. It was well presented, convenient, clean and had wonderful service. The hosts were professional and friendly and went beyond expectations when I needed to do an urgent sewing repair. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank ShirleneP
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that I was able to help - if not it could have ruined your whole day. We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Hastings. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

Clean, comfortable accommodations with all the necessary facilities for own meal prep. Very helpful proprietor for local information. Well located near wineries in the Hastings area. Good value location.

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes I agree, Portmans is very central, making it so easy to get to your destination in the Hastings area. Look forward to hosting you next time you are in Hastings. More 

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Have stayed before and loved it. This time our room was infested with ants. Given that the room was 220 p/n I expect that the room would be in great condition and that ants would be nowhere to be seen. Managers response "Hastings has a bad problem with ants" Disappointed that our stay ended with me cleaning up the mess... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gina P
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We do work very hard at keeping these under control, and every now and again they have a win!!!! Once again our apologies. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Good accommodation, well situated near the centre of Hastings. We had a two bedroom unit which was nicely designed, and suited us, travelling as a couple with our adult daughter. There is plenty of space for two couples. The shared bathroom lies between the bedrooms and has doors to each, so a simple protocol needs to be agreed. The living... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Yes our two bedroom units are a great space for two couples travelling together. It allows for your own space quite nicely. We get lots of positive comments about them. Fibre is being connected to Portmans next week so all of our internet worries will be sorted - can't wait. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Hastings. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

Portmans Motor Lodge is in a very convenient location.....within walking distance to Hastings and a short drive to Havelock North, Taradale & Napier. Rooms are decorated tastefully, are spacious, comfortable, exceptionally clean and are well equipped with toaster, ironing board, hair dryer etc. Hosts, Robert & Keren are friendly and helpful and rest assured they do all they can to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hauroko
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. They are always so helpful in helping us understand the needs of our guests. Yes our staff work hard to ensure your stay with us is comfortable and you can relax and enjoy or in some cases work!!! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings..... enjoy your travels More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

Portmans is the most beautiful setting , rooms amazing , no room the same and so refreshing ....we were a group of 13 and had 5 rooms , the beds were the most comfortable, even better than our own at home lol...we all spent some time in the pool which was awesum with the hot sun ...the hosts were so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trudi N Bj M
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We were delighted to host you all. It so nice to hear fun being had in the pool over summer. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - you will now have lots of fond memories of a wonderful holiday. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

Hosts were pretty friendly, room was nice and clean , tidy. Everything nice and clean . Everything worked, TV nice and decent. Had a pool that looked good, good car parking . I had no issues and would stay here again . They are a bit miserable on the wifi data allowance

Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the pool is good at the moment - slightly heated - everyone seems to be enjoying it! Robert and I look forward to hosting you, on your next visit to Hastings. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.2 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#5 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
7.4 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#3 of 20 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Omahu Motor Lodge
Omahu Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#7 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Price Range: $91 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmans Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay