We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Russell

Ounuwhao Harding House

Save
16 Hope Avenue Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (60)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)

About

#4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Ounuwhao Harding House their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Russell. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Baggage storage and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this bed and breakfast. In addition, Ounuwhao Harding House offers free breakfast, which will help make your Russell trip additionally gratifying. If you are driving to Ounuwhao Harding House, free parking is available. If you’re looking for a seafood restaurant, consider a visit to Duke of Marlborough, The Gables Restaurant, or Crusty Crab Takeaway, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Ounuwhao Harding House. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Just Imagine Gallery. At Ounuwhao Harding House, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Russell.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
HOTEL STYLE
Charming, Great View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
155Reviews0Q+A38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 140
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This B&B is a very old and charming house, very closeby the village of Russell. just a short walk. Nice room, good breakfast and a warm welcome from the owners Liz and Gordon. they rrserve for you at the restaurants.
Read more
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Ingrid for your kind review, we loved having you both to stay with us and are glad you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Bay of Islands. We look forward to coming to your part of the world and staying with you sometime! Safe travels Liz and Gordon
Read more
This historic house is beautiful and the decor is in keeping with the style. I felt really at home and peaceful there. The hosts were friendly, generous and very helpful. Fabulous breakfast. The bay is across the road and the town centre a short walk away
Read more
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the nice review, when you're next in Russell be sure to give us a call! Regards Liz and Gordon
Read more
This was truly a wonderful place to revisit after 25 years, a real testament to the hard work of the hosts. Liz & Gordon were truly wonderful, which made our week stay a delight, nothing was to much effort, you only had to ask. Apron arrival in our room was a lovely card, & a bottle of Champas for us, what a lovely thought😀😀Breakfast was always fresh, with a different selection served every morning. The house was exactly how we remembered it, originally built in 1894, this is just a stunning , & beautifully presented Homestead, cannot fault this place, lovely kauri timbers throughout, a must to visit & stay. Would definitely recommend when in Russell, Northland. New Zealand. Thank you again Liz & Gordon.
Read more
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded Nov 7, 2019
Thank you for coming to stay with us and your kind words, it was special to be part of your celebration. You are a wonderful couple and we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and the beautiful Bay of Islands, but don't leave it another 25 years before you come back!!
Read more
Our stay at Ounuwhao Harding House was very very nice. The whole house has so much character it’s just amazing. The hosts Liz and Gordon were so friendly and helpful it was just like staying with family. Nothing was too much for them. They always had time for you. Their breakfasts were to die for - all nice and fresh and a nice selection. We will definitely go back again. Thanks again Liz and Gordon for a lovely stay.
Read more
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded Apr 21, 2019
Thank you for coming to stay with us, we loved having you and hope you will come again to our lovely guesthouse. Regards Liz and Gordon.
Read more
The new owners clearly have no experience of running a guest house, customer service, or catering. The breakfast is very low quality. If you are attracted by the breakfast reviews from the previous owner then you will be very disappointed. It was the most bizarre and worse breakfast we have ever had. The cereals are low quality, you make your own coffee, the cooked breakfast is poor. Bizarrely you can't have fruit with your cereal if you are having a cooked breakfast!! Milk is a real issue...on both morning we had to ask for milk...and then one pint of milk arrived to cater for all the guest. The owner seem to be making an issue of guest not having cereal and/or milk!! The room are not tidied or refreshed each day despite being listed on the booking.... so we arrived back to wet towels after a day's of sailing. Overpriced and poor value for money.
Read more
Response from Ounuwhao H, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House
Responded Apr 2, 2019
Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay with us but we are more sorry that you didn't come and talk to us personally at the time so we could have rectified the problems for you. We offer a full breakfast special of the day as well as a continental breakfast selection which we have had great reviews on other booking platforms and invite you to have a read of. We would certainly have offered to make you coffee or tea but we do have a Nespresso machine for coffee lovers that we invite guest to use as they please. We service the rooms daily on request, some guest prefer privacy and do not want this which we respect so maybe you left early to go sailing and we were unaware you wanted this. We hope the rest of your stay here in New Zealand was a great experience.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsRussell
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ounuwhao Harding House
Which popular attractions are close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Nearby attractions include Pompallier Mission and Printery (0.4 miles), Christ Church (0.3 miles), and Russell Museum (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ounuwhao Harding House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gables Restaurant, Hone's Garden, and Butterfish.
Is Ounuwhao Harding House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Russell.
Are there any historical sites close to Ounuwhao Harding House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pompallier Mission and Printery (0.4 miles), Waitangi Treaty Grounds (2.8 miles), and Flagstaff Hill (0.9 miles).