We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (131)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (8)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Eagles Nest is a multi award winning retreat overlooking the spectacular Bay of Islands. The 75 acre estate offers five world class luxury villas. Each offering; private heated infinity edge lap pool (excl First Light Villa), jacuzzi, air conditioning, home theater system. Talented chefs prepare cuisine featuring regional delicacies matched with New Zealand wines.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
152Reviews
140Photos
3Q+A
36Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 140
  • 5
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A pricey place to stay, alluring in pictures, but doesn’t match up at all to expectations 1 difficult to find by car which should/ could have been preempted 2 poor attitude of on-site manager and inadequate description of how to operate climate control, doors, shades 3 lack of
Read more
Response from rahimoana, General Manager at Eagles Nest
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you kindly for your review and I am very sorry to hear about the time you had with us here at Eagles Nest it was never our intention and I will personally be looking into some of the matters you have raised as you are completely right these should have never happened. I have proceeded to look into the points you have made and would like to address these individually; 1. We completely understand that we are difficult to find. From time to time our guests can struggle even with a GPS but our Road Name and Number is clearly marked on our website and throughout the internet inclusive but not limited to the 3rd Party Website that your booking was made via. The reason we do not have large obtrusive signs on the front of our driveway is to ensure the security and privacy of our guests as it is a public roadway so unfortunately we are unable to gate it. 2. My sincere apologies our onsite manager did not explain the Air Conditioning adequately, Doors or the shades so I will be looking into this for you. 3. I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy any of the furniture on Ground Level which we have never had a complaint about or did you advise any of my staff that this was no adequate as Im sure we could have organised something different for you. Please do once again note the reason our Native Bush is allowed to grow to that height on Ground Level is purely to allow Privacy. As we want to ensure all of our guests do not at any stage feel like they are being viewed from another one of our villas. We also make it very clear on arrival that the majority of our Native Bush is left to grow as is to maintain the idea of being alone in the New Zealand Wilderness as we are Luxury Private Villas not a Luxury Lodge. 4. I am unsure as what you meant by "Private" Jacuzzi a joke above ground. This is a very private Jacuzzi as you have Native New Zealand Bush directly behind you up to about 5 meters in height, also a thatched wall and the fact the nearest villa is about 20 meters away from you means that no one can see you, including a large set of steel gates that offer the only road or walking access to your villa, of which the key is left in your villa. 5. I have investigated this and once again as one of my staff advised we can not offer our apologies enough that this was not up to standard especially as we send so many of our guests there. We pride ourselves on recommendations and I have passed on what happened to the owner of this establishment so we can ensure this will not happen again. 6. As advised when you check into Eagles Nest the following items are complimentary Free Range Bacon, Organic and Free Range Eggs, Salmon, Greek Yogurt, flavoured Yogurt, 3 different Cereals, Nespresso Coffee, New Zealand Plunger Coffee, Eagles Nest Branded Water, Local Cheeses, Tomatoes, 3 different fruit juices, Butter, 2 Different Styles of Bread, Complimentary Nespresso Martini and a Fresh Fruit Bowl. This is all in your private villa for you when you arrived and I have checked with my staff and this was never raised as an issue. 7. This is completely unacceptable and I have changed our policies and procedures to reflect this as I can't apologise enough. 8. Upon booking your villa via your 3rd Party Website inclusive of on our own website you see extensive imagery of this villa as it has glass throughout it which offers our guests spectacular views. The top row of glass is slightly tinted but once again I have followed this up and this was never raised as a concern throughout your stay. Whilst there is a simple blind system in place on pulleys, I will be investigating as to why this was not advised. 9. I have followed up with my staff in regards to this as this was extremely concerning but they did advise is that they only time they came to your villa was at a confirmed pick up time to transfer you to your dinner reservation and the 2nd time apart from departure was at 10.30pm after you had called one of our Managers that you had no power and he advised you this was a Russell Wide power outage which unfortunately is out of our control. Our Night Manager came to your villa once the power was back on to reconfirm all systems were working correctly and to apologise about the inconvenience that was caused, as to which point non of these other issues were raised or advised that you were so disappointed with your villa apart from your unfortunate experience at the restaurant. Unfortunately, you had not mentioned to us that you had not been enjoying your stay whilst being here at Eagles Nest. If so we would have moved heaven and earth to ensure that you left happy, as we pride ourselves in exceeding guests’ expectations. If would like to contact me directly I would love to hear from you and rectify hopefully any issues so that we can host you again and provide a better overall experience.
Read more
+2
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Amy who was professional and friendly. We were lucky enough to have the personal chef cook for us. Beautiful food, cooked with passion by Shaun and served by Graham. This is not our usual accommodation choice but we
Read more
+2
I suppose the first thing to point out about Eagles Nest is that it's not a hotel. I noticed on Google it's listed as a Hotel and that probably causes some confusion. It's a small collection of some very exclusive villas in a fantastic area on the side of a head. You get to it
Read more
We just stayed 3 nights in the First Light villa at Eagles Nest, Russell, NZ... well, words cannot begin to describe this place; it has to be experienced. Even saying it was "amazing" doesn't seem enough... so here goes, it was absolutely stunning, beautiful, outstanding,
Read more
The moment you get there you are spoilt with the spectacular views over the Bay of Islands and across to Waitangi. The villas are amazing and have everything you need for some quality r’n’r . We had a personal chef cook our meal, it was delicious and a delightful way to spend
Read more
Response from Waimania, General Manager at Eagles Nest
Responded May 9, 2018
Dear Guests, Thank you kindly for your message and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our piece of paradise! Thank you for mentioning our our Personal Chef team, they will be very happy to hear they aided in making your stay a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back to Eagles Nest soon. Kind Regards William Hudson General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Sunset
View from room
First Light Villa by night 2
Sonnenuntergang 2
Sonnenuntergang 1
PreviousNext
12345610
Do you provide poolside towels ?
I didn't use the pool, however, in the main house at the top of the hill where I stayed, I believe there is a closet out side with towels in it. If not, there are plenty in the suites close by.
0 votes
Are pool side towels provided ?
All of our Villas have both Poolside towels and also Bath towels for guests to use during a stay at Eagles Nest
0 votes
Hi. What is the weather like end march/ early April?
Best to Google the weather there to get a good idea. I was there in September and it was perfect weather for me, but others were a bit chilly!
0 votes
"Every villa has stunning views and accoutrements."
"Any of the villas are a stunning choice"
"Best Views and Luxurious Modern Facilities"
"We were in the large 'home' at the top of the hill with the views. No minibar, but a full bar."
"The Eyrie Villa is the perfect choice for a couple to luxuriate in or for 2 - 3 couples or a family stay. "
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
$873 - $2,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eagles nest hotel russell
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsRussell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing