We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palazzo Motor Lodge

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palazzo Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Start your review of Palazzo Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Called to advise that I would be late and was told to get to the hotel as soon as possible. Was there within ten minutes. Arrived to an angry and hostile man who lectured me about how rude it was to wake him up. I admit it was eleven thirty at night and it mustn't have been nice to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis Christo... H
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Our office closes at 9.00pm as is the case with most NZ motels. We tried to phone you at dinner time to check your arrival time. We got no reply so left a message saying our offices closes at 9.00pm and asking you to contact us if you were arriving after that time to arrange a late check in. Having...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Don't let the name fool you. Hotels with Motor Lodge in the US are not usually that nice. That is not the case in New Zealand. Palazzo is high end with a spacious room. Beautiful details including a nice tub. Very friendly staff. Easy walk to the sites. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monaiv
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be spacious. We have a great location as you say it is very close to the city centre and great restaurants. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located within 5 minute's walk of the centre of Nelson city, Palazzo Motor Lodge offers quality stylish and spacious accommodation. Laundry on site. Lovely staff. Just behind South Street....a must visit....original old houses and post box. Super market round corner and able to cook our own suppers as travelling on a budget. This was the only place we could find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say it is a great location being so close to a supermarket, restaurants and great shopping. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Sarasota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent room with all the facilities you need. The owners are on site and attentive, helpful and friendly. The breakfast served in your room and on time was a bonus. Good restaurants all very close. Only one issue preventing five stars was the carpet in the room did not match the rest of the facilities. Needs replacing. However still a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick J
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. As you say we are very close to some of Nelsons great restaurants and shops. Murray and I took over Palazzo Motor Lodge in August and have been busy making improvements to the property. We have replaced the bedding and drapes and...

Woodstock, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Palazzo is a great example of how a top-notch motel property can operate. The room was beautiful, spacious, modern, and comfortable, with a kitchenette. With opening windows on both sides, the air never was always fresh. A spacious desk top/table served for all needs. The first thing I was asked when checking in was if I wanted a bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny0654
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review of your stay with us. Our aim is for our guests to have a happy stay with us and go away with great memories of their time in Nelson. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again if you are back in Nelson. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

I'm so glad we found the Palazzo. Our host was welcoming and the standard of accommodation is exemplary. My 12 year old granddaughter and I now have a new favourite place to stay in Nelson. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felicity O
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Reviewed January 23, 2017

We had a last minute change and booked this two weeks before our visit to Nelson. We picked the two bedroom suite as there were three of us traveling. No view, but the rooms were beautiful and incredibly clean. We had to do some juggling, and the gal checking us in to the motel was so accommodating to our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolladayTraveler
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. We are proud of our great team of girls who clean and service our units to a very high standard. As you say we are very close to the church and city centre. We hope we will see you back in Nelson sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Cornwall, Vermont
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Julia at the front desk could not be more helpful with directions to the supermarket and local restaurants, showing us how the in room safe worked, etc. Rooms are mini suites with a very convenient kitchenette. Bath had large shower which was also a jacuzzi. Also lots of electrical outlets to charge multiple devices. Would stay here again if we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine426
Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewed January 13, 2017

The lodge owners, Murray and Jenny, were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. We had an early morning pickup and they arranged a nice continental breakfast as most of the restaurants don't open until after pickup. We had an issue with our tour operator pickup in the morning and Murray was right on it. Calling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dre5054543
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great feedback on your stay with us. Our aim is for our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and enjoy their time in Nelson. As you say we are very close to the city centre and the many great restaurants Nelson has to offer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your...

Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights. Lovely rooms, we have the executive one bedroom suite. It has a spa bath, 1 bedroom, a small kitchen and a tv/sitting area. The staff and cleaners are very friendly and welcoming. They have good resources for customers e.g activity pamphlets, places to eat etc. they also have a laundry you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla C
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. As we are new owners here we appreciate your comments on how we can make your stay more enjoyable. We have excellent staff who are caring and friendly. Kind regards Jenny & Murray and the team at Palazzo

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
446 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $120 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palazzo Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Two Bedroom Suite is at the back of the lodge and off of the street - very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles HolladayTraveler, Jan 23, 2017 | Read review
“We were on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 18WendyS, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“Presidential suites are top quality spoil yourself and pay the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles sukcir, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“upstairs room the only way to go unless you check that the room you are getting is not going to be affected by noisy drainage.”
 of 5 bubbles mariahU9264UM, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms on par - possibly those at rear my be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles morswazza, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question