The Hotel Nelson

The Hotel Nelson

Traveler (66)
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

$83
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#11 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are proud to welcome guest to this stunning place we call home, Nelson. The Hotel Nelson is ideally situated close to Nelson City Centre, locally owned and managed. YOUR ONE STOP HOTEL DESTINATION, WITH ALL YOU NEED ONSITE STAY, DINE & RELAX Graded Gold 4 Star under Qualmark Sustainable Tourism Business award, we endeavor to provide you with a welcoming and comfortable environment of international standards with different options of accommodation to suit your needs, alongside with onsite dining, conference facilities and many other amenities and services. Wind down in our outdoor heated swimming pool, cook your own steak in the BBQ area or let us cook for you whilst relaxing in the Flames on Forty Bar Restaurant after a busy day spent in sunny Nelson. As the country moves to the Traffic light system at 11.59pm on Thursday 2nd December, and we move to Orange Light – this is our requirement for access on site at The Hotel Nelson and Flames on 40 going forward; You must be vaccinated to stay or dine at The Hotel Nelson and Flames on 40 and must present a vaccine passport to be scanned upon entry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business center
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans, Portuguese

Location

40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
546Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 317
  • 165
  • 35
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TakingTheATrain wrote a review Jun 2021
Wellington, New Zealand56 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first time in Nelson as a family over the long weekend and we wanted a comfortable place close to Nelson CBD. The Hotel Nelson was great.

Booking and notifications were straightforward. I looked at the website and then booked over the phone. Prior to arrival, we received a reminder text.

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. We found it clean, tidy, and spacious.
The kitchen was really useful for us. Its a full kitchen with microwave, oven, and stove, and electric frypan. Full size fridge and freezer to use.

The bathroom was tidy and there were plenty of towels.

We didn't intend on doing any washing but we ended up doing some washing while we were here. There is a wee laundry room and it was $2 each to use the washing machine and dryer.

Plenty of carparks if you drive. Also a 5 minute drive or nice walk into the centre of Nelson.

Staff were amazing and attentive while we were here. Everyone we encountered were friendly and showed great service.

We would love to come and stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Dear TakingTheATrain, thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during the lounge weekend. You will have to come back in summer so the children can enjoy the heated pool ! Kind regards Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
128june wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very close to city.
Good locations
Very big space for 10 person of us to stay in the 4 bedroom apartment.
The bed are comfortable, just a bit of noise come from the outside street
Very reasonable price.
Very helpful staff.
Sure will be come back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Apr 27, 2021
Thank you for your review 128june! Fantastic to hear that you and your group enjoyed staying in our 4 bedroom apartment, we hope to welcome you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fullers999 wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel/motel. However when booking direct the website states "pay at the hotel". On arrival I was told the amount of our stay had already been charged to the credit card number I supplied when booking (a credit card number is compulsory as is the additional fee charged for using a credit card). The receptionist stated it was now their policy to charge the credit card on the day of arrival. We also stayed earlier this year and was told when booking direct, payment was not required until check in. If the policy remains to charge the credit card prior to arrival then I will not be staying again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Toby Munro, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Apr 25, 2021
Hello Fullers999, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Tripadvisor. On the terms and conditions page, which guests must accept it states; "a valid credit card must be provided and may be charged the full amount of the stay on the day of arrival". We apologise for any inconvenience but we do this if we cannot confirm the booking with the guest. If the guest confirms back to us that their booking is still valid on the day, then we can wait until checkout for the guest to settle their account. We do hope all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elise wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bitterly disappointed. We arrived in our room (room 85) and it stank of cigarette smoke, was musty and we noticed the smoke detector had been covered with wet toilet paper by the previous person. I went to reception and told a woman who offered to send someone over with some sort of deodorant for the room. I said no thanks, expecting she would at least offer to send someone to remove the toilet paper from the detector or shift us to another room. She did neither and instead, in a very fake and patronising tone, said that “we shall track down the very naughty person who did it”. I was caught off guard and went back to our stinky room. I looked online and there were other rooms still available so she could have at least moved us. If she had offered a refund, we would have moved on but she didn’t and we felt trapped. On a side note, it is illegal to have a covered smoke detector and I was very clear it had been covered up. The arrogant and aloof service about such an issue is something I’ve never experienced before. We told a different person when we checked out and we got much the same reaction - about as helpful as a shrug.

Absolutely horrible experience and service, the worst we have had on our tour of the South Island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Dear eliseprovis, thank you for your review, Guest feedback is vital for us to learn where we need to be better and I am very sorry to read of your experience and how our lack of attention and friendliness has left you with a very bad experience. We can improve from here and each department has been spoken to to ensure we do better going forward. We agree - it is illegal to cover a smoke detector and to smoke in rooms but unfortunately not everyone respects this and we do our best to rectify before the room is bookable again. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the rest of your tour of the South Island Kind regards Kim Rogers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lvnthdrm wrote a review Sep 2020
Perth, Australia59 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Friends recommended this hotel to us. We recently booked for 2 nights through booking.com. Upon arrival we had a ph call to say we had to return home so could only stay 1 night. I spoke to reception to explain the situation and to see if we maybe able to exchange the second night (which was paid for) for either breakfast the next morning or a credit voucher to be used on our next visit to Nelson. After numerous phone calls back and forth to booking.com and speaking with reception we were told there was nothing they could do. Like any buisness, they could of done something if they want return business, its called customer service !! It was unfortunate that we had to cancel the second night, but in these difficult times, it would of been great if Hotel Nelson could of helped us out. To top things off, when I booked on booking.com it said payment on arrival. Not true, I was told on arrival that your card gets charged the morning of your arrival ? Anyway, we wont be back, I'm sure they aren't bothered.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Thank you for your review - although I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed and will not be returning. This is certainly not the impression we want our guests to have from their stay with us and it does bother us. We strive to look after our guests and no matter how many positive reviews we receive the negatives are the hardest to receive - but feedback is also how we learn to improve what we offer. Due to your reservation being made through a third party reservation site our Front Office team are instructed to strictly adhere to the terms and conditions of the booking sites as per our Group General Managers directive. Kind regards Kim Rogers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priya V wrote a review Mar 2023
Melbourne, Australia243 contributions109 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a family room with 3 bedrooms for 3 couples and 2 kids. The kitchen was quite small for a 3 bedroom family room and one of the rooms was quite small - not even enough space to open suitcases.

It was cold and we found that the smallest room’s electric blanket wasn’t plugged in. To top it off there wasn’t a power outlet in the room either. Went to call reception but the phone wasn’t connected to the phone point either. Had to move the furniture to connect the phone and reception staff said the house keeping staff will look into it. I told them no one can add a power point in the room now and they said we can give you an extension cord and try and find an extra heater!!! We were traveling with parents and little kids - extension cord wasn’t an ideal solution.

Went up to the reception and at one point the receptionist (who was in training) said she can give us our money back and we can leave. Where were we going to go at night with the whole family??? Eventually to resolve the issue they offered us 3 separate rooms upstairs, at least they had working heating. Next morning while trying to heat up some food, we found the microwave in one of the rooms wasn’t plugged in and there was no outlet for it either!!!

Hopefully the hotel invests in making sure their appliances work and have outlets to plug them in. And provide better training to staff so they don’t put the responsibility/shift the blame on each other (reception putting it on house keeping and vice versa).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hanszindel wrote a review Dec 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, friendly, helpful, customer service with comfortable room (number 1). We have stayed here before (price reasonable, location good). Will stay here again.

One reservation which applies to busy holiday time, not so much during the year: car parking. I agree with Verified Traveller who recommended that allocated, guaranteed parking close to a guest's room should be allocated to make it comfortable for packing/unpacking a car. The Hotel staff replied by saying on Oct 19 2019, " we will definitely take into consideration allocated parking." I'm not sure if this has been resolved. I say this because my husband and I visited Nelson friends for dinner on the evening of Tues 29th December. When we came back, there was no parking available! I had to park in a place where I shouldn't have.
My recommendations are in line with Verified Traveller:
1. A guaranteed parking space should be allocated to hotel guests. My preference is for the car parks to be each painted with a number and the hotel guest to be allocated that number close to the booked room.
2. My second preference is for cones to be available for guests to place in their space. Management have provided cones before, but this is not widely known. This should be advertised in addition to "free parking" which is well-known to people booking.
I would next time I go out at night, ask for a cone to be placed in the park I am leaving from, so that when I return, I will have a space to park my car in.
3. I understand restaurant non-hotel guests can add to the problem when the hotel is busy because they take up car parks near the restaurant. Car parks should be prioritised for hotel guests rather than people from outside the hotel coming to the restaurant (or even visiting hotel friends). Is it possible to limit the number of parks available for non-hotel visitors, even asking them to park on the street, as I have seen elsewhere in busy times such as the Coromandel and the Bay of Islands?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The reception will allocate a room to meet your request e.g. a room away from road noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Dec 30, 2020
Thank you hanszindel for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments re The Hotel Nelson being reasonably priced and in a good location In regards to the car parking, thank you for your feedback. We believe our offer of complimentary car parking is unique here at The Hotel Nelson. The majority of Hotels in NZ and the World offer car parking but it is always charged at very high prices. At The Hotel Nelson we offer free parking even though having a free carpark with your allocated Hotel room [ or outside your room] is not the usual expectation of Hotels anywhere in the world. We have now taken your feedback on board and to streamline us with the other two properties in our group we are happy to offer a guaranteed cark park to our guests at a charge of $15 per night. This carpark would be coned of with the guests name for only this guests use for the duration of their stay. As mentioned, this is streamlining us to normal hotel practice and we will now look at offering this form of guaranteed car parking at The Hotel Nelson going forward to guests who wish to have a secure carpark guaranteed. If you are returning at some stage in the future you are welcome to request a carpark at $15 per night and we can offer a cone for you for your stay for your reserved park as per the above. We will still also offer the unallocated complimentary car parking for guests who wish to take the risk. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Have a Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nelson one day soon Kind regards Kim Rogers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveller#01 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, UK195 contributions89 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this place for 2 nights in November. We had a room at the end of the lot next to the road with a handy spot for parking right in front of it which was great for getting in and out. The room itself was quite dark and depressing with little natural light able to get through. The decor was dated and made it look less clean than it actually might have been. Bathroom was however a good size but beware the walk in shower floor is terribly slippery!!

Breakfast was included and on the first day was buffet which was average. The second day there was no buffet out and instead was made to order and of much better quality. Unsure why its different across two days so communication is a bit poor but otherwise fine.

Can't really call this a "hotel". All in all an average place which needs some renovation within the rooms in my opinion. Would look elsewhere if I returned.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you msgtraveller1 for sharing your feedback on your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read you did not really enjoy your time with us and the room allocated to you, although you did find the carparking handy in front of your room - which is a positive. In regards to breakfast, depending on the volume / groups in house we add a cooked portion to our buffet breakfast option on a busy morning. When the numbers in house are less then we offer cooked to order to ensure that the guest receives a freshly cooked breakfast when there is not enough people in house. This change varies to ensure we can provide freshly cooked breakfasts fast in the mornings. Kind regards Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rb_nz wrote a review Mar 2021
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is huge with lots of rooms but everything is well organised. It has a nice on-site Restaurant.

We found the Servce and Value top notch - they even have an EV plug although it doesn't seem to be installed correct for ype 2 plugs as it is slower than a standard 3 point plug.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Rogers, General Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Thank you for your review rb_tb_nz! Great to hear that you enjoyed the great service from our receptionists and dining at our on site restaurant Flames on 40. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Nelson.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dong wrote a review Feb 2020
Basay, Philippines40 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Nelson near the centre of Nelson new zealand is an excellent hotel establishment for one and all. The rooms are well appointed, modern, clean and tidy. They room had aircon and a lovely balcony to soak up the sun.
I was particularly impressed with the reception team who were full of smiles and only too happy to help my elderly parents settle into a suitable room. The swimming pool was warm and clean, with nice surroundings. As the property didn't have a gym in house, they provided a pass key to a nearby commercial gym just a few minutes down the road..nice touch. Well done team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Thank you dongdonginphil for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and that our team looked after your parents during their time with us. Kind regards Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Daniel D wrote a tip Feb 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere if you can. If you must stay here, ensure you have confirmation that you have a room away from the road, and in the new area."
Read full review
Big T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT syay at the Nelson Hotel"
Read full review
Pioneer43655425001 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't do it!"
Read full review
Tracy Jane Neal wrote a tip May 2023
Nelson, New Zealand57 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking but it is off a main road in and out of town; tricky turning right into it if coming from town at peak morning and evening commute. The restaurant is ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐"
Read full review
Poseidon A wrote a tip Jan 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont pay 200$ here find another accomodation . Youll get a better experience and a nicer room than whats in the pictures ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nelson area.
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leisure hotel nelson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn Nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOTEL NELSON $74 ($̶9̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Nelson
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Nelson?
Nearby attractions include Nelson Saturday Market (0.6 miles), Nelson Provincial Museum (0.6 miles), and Jens Hansen Gold and Silversmith (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Nelson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel Nelson?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Nelson?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Nelson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Nelson?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nysa Turkish Restaurant, Babagatto, and Hopgoods & Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel Nelson?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Hotel Nelson located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Nelson.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hotel Nelson?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hotel Nelson?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Portuguese and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Nelson?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Nelson Provincial Museum (0.6 miles).
All Nelson HotelsNelson Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NelsonHotels near The Hotel Nelson
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars