We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Trailways Hotel Nelson

Show Prices
#7 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Trailways Hotel Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great reception, great location, great room. Staff ever so friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. 2 minute walk to centre of town. Modern layout, great restaurant [The Tides]. If back in Nelson would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Budgie51
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. It is great to hear our staff could help you and made you feel welcome. We believe that you cant get much better than a 2 minute walk to town and a great relaxing atmosphere beside the Maitai River. We look forward to seeing you in Nelson again. More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in Sept 16 and found the place to be well designed, well built and well run. the location is excellent, just minutes to the town and next to the river which has lovely trails along its banks to enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Frank L
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your positive comments. We certainly try hard to ensure our hotel is well run and our guests are looked after. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice rooms, handy walk to city centre, clean, staff were very nice. Very nice breakfast at restaurant, swimming pool would be nice in the summer. Handy to riverside gardens and parks, No problem with parking on site.

Helpful?
Thank Gaye790
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and lovely comment regarding our facilities, location and staff. The pool is lovely in summer and heated just to the right temperature. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mix up with Expedia meant the hotel was sent two bookings for me even though I only booked one room. The hotel didn't care that it would potentially financially screw the remainder of our trip and made us pay for both and chase Expedia for the refund. We were however upgraded to a suite but I wasn't fussed about that,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope that Expedia has refunded your money as they had promised. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay very close to nelson shops ect also close to the Trafalger park where the rugby game was. Very clean and tidy, friendly staff. Stayed a saturday night there was no noise had a good sleep. Very good breakfast in their restaurant. Will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank davo348
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and had a great stay. We look forward to having you stay again. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here before and not been disappointed, so it was a natural choice for my one night stay. Location is great, parking, wifi, room, staff and breakfast. Only thing this time is that the bed linen and towels smelt if stake smoke which was really unpleasant. Not sure if it's where it is stored it where it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tavuk
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are pleased to hear that you have returned to stay with us without disappointment. I can not provide an explanation regarding your linen smell, however I have ensured that your comments are passed onto our housekeeping department. We hope to have you stay again. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A friend and I went for Dinner on a Saturday evening unbooked, and were greeted immediately by a very pleasant waitress in The Tides restaurant. We chose for our meal to share the Seafood Platter and loved it! The wine selection was excellent and we chose a local Riesling. We then each add a dessert and were so full we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed dinning at The Tides Restaurant and great quality food and wine. Summer at The Tides is just beautiful with the sun and river in the evenings. We look forward to seeing you next time. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

1. Walls are paper thin I can hear the guy next door telephone conversation and TV. 2. Hairs on the pillow (not mine) 3. King bed is actually 2 singles. Was meant to stay until Sunday but managed to change the flight to Saturday and leave early. It's disappointing as I was looking forward to staying at this place.

Helpful?
Thank Clinton C
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and to receive your review. A super king bed made from two singles with a centre connector and comfort insert is stand hotel practice to enable rooms to be configured as guests require. We are sorry regarding the hair on your pillow and have taken this up with our housekeeping department.... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights. We had a two bad experiences, on the first night we pulled down our bed sheets, only to find a squashed muesli bar all through the sheets, it looked as though the sheets had not been changed, totally disgusting. The second night we had no power to our room. The staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kastokes01
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

We are of course disappointed to receive your review. We have never had such a strange situation like this before. As we explained on your check out, we were totally perplexed with the situation regarding your bedding. We can guarantee that bedding is never left unchanged. As we explained, we have systems and processes in place where sheets are stripped... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here on Sunday night. The staff were very friendly and because we arrived late they phoned to check that we were still coming. The room was lovely, very clean and we loved the heated floor in the bathroom! Amazing value for $99.00. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank caroleh246
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. It is great to read that you found your stay at Trailways Hotel Nelson "amazing" and good value. We take pride in our cleanness and customer service. We look forward to having you stay again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Motor Lodge
Harbourside Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $77 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay