We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Trailways Hotel Nelson

Show Prices
#7 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Trailways Hotel Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed here before and not been disappointed, so it was a natural choice for my one night stay. Location is great, parking, wifi, room, staff and breakfast. Only thing this time is that the bed linen and towels smelt if stake smoke which was really unpleasant. Not sure if it's where it is stored it where it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tavuk
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are pleased to hear that you have returned to stay with us without disappointment. I can not provide an explanation regarding your linen smell, however I have ensured that your comments are passed onto our housekeeping department. We hope to have you stay again. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I went for Dinner on a Saturday evening unbooked, and were greeted immediately by a very pleasant waitress in The Tides restaurant. We chose for our meal to share the Seafood Platter and loved it! The wine selection was excellent and we chose a local Riesling. We then each add a dessert and were so full we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed dinning at The Tides Restaurant and great quality food and wine. Summer at The Tides is just beautiful with the sun and river in the evenings. We look forward to seeing you next time. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

1. Walls are paper thin I can hear the guy next door telephone conversation and TV. 2. Hairs on the pillow (not mine) 3. King bed is actually 2 singles. Was meant to stay until Sunday but managed to change the flight to Saturday and leave early. It's disappointing as I was looking forward to staying at this place.

Helpful?
Thank Clinton C
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and to receive your review. A super king bed made from two singles with a centre connector and comfort insert is stand hotel practice to enable rooms to be configured as guests require. We are sorry regarding the hair on your pillow and have taken this up with our housekeeping department.... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights. We had a two bad experiences, on the first night we pulled down our bed sheets, only to find a squashed muesli bar all through the sheets, it looked as though the sheets had not been changed, totally disgusting. The second night we had no power to our room. The staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kastokes01
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

We are of course disappointed to receive your review. We have never had such a strange situation like this before. As we explained on your check out, we were totally perplexed with the situation regarding your bedding. We can guarantee that bedding is never left unchanged. As we explained, we have systems and processes in place where sheets are stripped... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I stayed here on Sunday night. The staff were very friendly and because we arrived late they phoned to check that we were still coming. The room was lovely, very clean and we loved the heated floor in the bathroom! Amazing value for $99.00. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank caroleh246
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. It is great to read that you found your stay at Trailways Hotel Nelson "amazing" and good value. We take pride in our cleanness and customer service. We look forward to having you stay again. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was pleasantly surprised here as booked for me by a client. It turned out to be a very nice comfortable hotel right in the CBD, yet very quiet. The room had all the amenities you expect, with personal heat pump/air con, comfy bed and pillows, flat screen tv with a few digital channels and free wi-fi. Bathroom had underfloor heating... More 

Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to have a pleasant surprise and we are pleased that we were it. We hope to have you stay again next time you are in Nelson. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend. It was within easy walking distance to central Nelson. Staff were exceedingly friendly and the rooms were very nice. Good bathroom. Underfloor tiles in the bathroom which were too hot for bare feet. Maybe we could have adjusted that. The only thing I would mark them down for was it was obvious that under... More 

Helpful?
Thank na0mic
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that our overall impression was positive and you enjoyed our great location. I will certainly follow up with housekeeping regarding underneath the bed in your room and having the floor heaters, which are normally a lovely luxury, adjusted. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable room with only tea/coffee facilities, spa bath, electric blankets, table and 2 chairs, seat, aircon, balcony with table and chairs, view over the river and Nelson. Stairs to get up to the first floor

Helpful?
Thank Else B
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Trailways Hotel Nelson and we able to spend a weekend away in our beautiful little city of Nelson. You will be pleased to know that we have installing a lift on the agenda for the next year. More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great room, king sized bed, balcony, adequate tea and coffee making facilities, with real milk rather than the usual UHT stuff. The shower is to die for - six jets, and an overhead "rain" shower. Neat little floor light in the bathroom that has a motion sensor in the main room - no worries about finding light switches for that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania B
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you could enjoy the spa showers and the extra little luxuries in your room. We have very positive feedback regarding our conference facilities and service. Installing a lift is on the agenda and will be installed in the next year, however you are correct the accessible rooms are downstairs. We hope to... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Spent a weekend in Nelson and we are very pleased we chose to stay here. Great location close to cbd, excellent restaurant, spotless rooms and super friendly staff. We had problems with a very loud snorer in the next room so they not only moved us to another room but upgraded us aswell. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank tonymark1959
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read all your positive comments about staying at Trailways Hotel Nelson. We look forward to having you stay again and hope you get some quiet sleepers next time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#4 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Motor Lodge
Harbourside Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $70 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#7 Business Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay