We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pancake Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pancake Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our 2nd stay so we knew the place to be on the older side of things. It has good access to where we needed to get to, comfy bed, and the living areas are a reasonable size which is appreciated if having a longer stay and you wish to have a day of rest in your room, plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank keithkez
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your support. The renovations are underway, walls are being taken down and the builders are in! It's a very exciting time and we can't wait to show you the finished job!! More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not impressed at all. Rooms were dirty and although updated, was cheap and nasty. Manager or owner is crazy and unhelpful and staff lied to us about some issues. Duty manager on our final day was great and made a huge difference.

Helpful?
Thank nga t
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

Well after some very interesting update on this review I am sadden to see that you did not even stay at our motel. In fact you were part of the ill behaved Under 18 Boys Waikato Basketball Team that decided to drunkenly come and trash our motel at 2am. Instead of being an adult and owning up to the appalling... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Do not even think of trying, pathetic rooms. Pathetic beds, pathetic pancakes. Not worth paying for. Creepy crawlers in the rooms and has e stench. We came for a holiday here in Nelson and booked the accommodation thru trip advisor. The place was so horrible that we had to cut short our stay and find elsewhere. We're unable to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fendi J
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, So sorry to hear you did not have a good stay. When did you stay? We do not take Tripadvisor bookings and we cannot see your name located on the guest list?? More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at short notice and for an amazing price. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady at the desk who instantly made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was fantastic for what we had paid, was big, clean and warm. The breakfast in the morning (which was conplimentary) was amazing. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We had a great time at the Pancake Lodge! They not only brought us breakfast every morning but were very nice and helpful when we needed to extend our trip. We would stay there again and appreciate that we could bring our little dog too. Close to everything and within biking distance to the beach. Staff was very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LULUMONTY
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

we found this place online seeing it was so cheap had to check it out and sure it was outdated but we had great service from the lady in the office so that was a plus. floor was weirdly quite sticky threw out the whole place so i had to wear my slippers and wash them once i got home.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank theraritys
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Very disappointing - We kept our shoes on the whole time, covered the furniture with extra bedding we found and tried to keep a positive attitude. This place is so outdated and dirty we were more than happy to get out of there. Seeing what the rooms looked like we were nervous about having breakfast so opt out. I could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mccarthykris
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

Lovely warm welcome from Friday staff and farewell from Saturday staff. Pancakes delicious but skint on cream for two. Comfortable bed and front unit but was very little road noise to disturb our sleep. No sooner had our heads hit the pillows when the flat battery chirp from the smoke detector started. I pay expecting all H&S aspects of a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CFD20
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

I was ment to stay at pancakes for a week long trip but because it was not up to my standed i left after one night there.it was dirty with spiderwebs every where.i think you need to talk to your cleaners aswell because they do not look clean them selfs.one cleaner walking around with no shoes on at all is... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason S
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

Our cleaners remove their shoes before entering a unit, after this was requested by somebody else - they have their shoes ON while in the yard and walking from unit to unit. We are sorry you were not happy with your room, but to say there are cobwebs amoung other things is untrue and unfair (I personally checked your unit),... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016

We recently stayed here for a few days break and would happily stay again. Free pancakes for breakfast! Who could want more? The young couple running the place were exceptionally friendly, helpful and welcoming and the location for us was fantastic, literally a 5 minute walk to the beach with it's cosy cafe. Happy to recommend

Helpful?
2 Thank wendyr01
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#15 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbourside Motor Lodge
Harbourside Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#31 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
0.2 mi away
Aloha Lodge
Aloha Lodge
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, spacious units and a Free Breakfast deal - Pancake Lodge Motel is the perfect choice for your personal, business or group getaway.Located just minutes from Tahunanui beach, Nelson, with local cafes, shops and family fun just a walk around the corner. We offer spacious ground floor family and single units, fully self contained all with a full kitchen, with separate living space in our one and two bedroom units. Perfect for any length of stay.On site we have a swimming pool, tennis court and large back yard area with a trampoline. Enjoy a BBQ and eat around the large outside table available for all guests.We love pets! So we offer pet friendly designated units, now the whole family can enjoy a holiday together!Perfectly located in sunny Tahunanui we are just a 10 minute drive from Nelson airport and Nelson city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pancake Lodge

Address: 33 Muritai Street, Nelson 7011, New Zealand (Formerly Four Seasons Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $61 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pancake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pancake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay