We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Pancake Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Pancake Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Great price and location. You get what you pay for and added extra was free breakfast. Shame it could do with a lot of TLC, dog poo on grass in court yard not nice, duvet had pet hair and stains, holes and damage on a few walls, gardens needed work, some plugs did not work, and beds very soft, not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacmouse9
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you did not have a good time. We no longer have those cleaners working for us and are on the road to big rennovations, better staff and services. Thank you for your feedback More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at short notice and for an amazing price. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady at the desk who instantly made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was fantastic for what we had paid, was big, clean and warm. The breakfast in the morning (which was conplimentary) was amazing. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We had a great time at the Pancake Lodge! They not only brought us breakfast every morning but were very nice and helpful when we needed to extend our trip. We would stay there again and appreciate that we could bring our little dog too. Close to everything and within biking distance to the beach. Staff was very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LULUMONTY
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

we found this place online seeing it was so cheap had to check it out and sure it was outdated but we had great service from the lady in the office so that was a plus. floor was weirdly quite sticky threw out the whole place so i had to wear my slippers and wash them once i got home.... More 

Helpful?
Thank theraritys
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Very disappointing - We kept our shoes on the whole time, covered the furniture with extra bedding we found and tried to keep a positive attitude. This place is so outdated and dirty we were more than happy to get out of there. Seeing what the rooms looked like we were nervous about having breakfast so opt out. I could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mccarthykris
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

Lovely warm welcome from Friday staff and farewell from Saturday staff. Pancakes delicious but skint on cream for two. Comfortable bed and front unit but was very little road noise to disturb our sleep. No sooner had our heads hit the pillows when the flat battery chirp from the smoke detector started. I pay expecting all H&S aspects of a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CFD20
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

I was ment to stay at pancakes for a week long trip but because it was not up to my standed i left after one night there.it was dirty with spiderwebs every where.i think you need to talk to your cleaners aswell because they do not look clean them selfs.one cleaner walking around with no shoes on at all is... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason S
MIchelle R, Manager at Pancake Lodge, responded to this review

Our cleaners remove their shoes before entering a unit, after this was requested by somebody else - they have their shoes ON while in the yard and walking from unit to unit. We are sorry you were not happy with your room, but to say there are cobwebs amoung other things is untrue and unfair (I personally checked your unit),... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016

We recently stayed here for a few days break and would happily stay again. Free pancakes for breakfast! Who could want more? The young couple running the place were exceptionally friendly, helpful and welcoming and the location for us was fantastic, literally a 5 minute walk to the beach with it's cosy cafe. Happy to recommend

Helpful?
2 Thank wendyr01
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

The hosts are very welcoming and friendly. However, the rooms are very tided. After we had dinner out [refer separate review at The Sands Brewery] we arrived back after dark. We discovered a light bulb in the lounge blown and the lamp next to the bed flicking continuously. I rang the manager, not response. When I went to have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which had space and the sleeping was comfortable. Hosts were welcoming and helpful and breakfast pancakes were delicious. Manhole in kitchen was missing a cover. Street was quiet and it was close to bottleshop and some eateries.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.2 mi away
Harbourside Motor Lodge
Harbourside Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#25 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#16 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#28 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castles Motel
Castles Motel
#29 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, spacious units and a Free Breakfast deal - Pancake Lodge Motel is the perfect choice for your personal, business or group getaway.Located just minutes from Tahunanui beach, Nelson, with local cafes, shops and family fun just a walk around the corner. We offer spacious ground floor family and single units, fully self contained all with a full kitchen, with separate living space in our one and two bedroom units. Perfect for any length of stay.On site we have a swimming pool, tennis court and large back yard area with a trampoline. Enjoy a BBQ and eat around the large outside table available for all guests.We love pets! So we offer pet friendly designated units, now the whole family can enjoy a holiday together!Perfectly located in sunny Tahunanui we are just a 10 minute drive from Nelson airport and Nelson city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pancake Lodge

Address: 33 Muritai St., Tahunanui,, Nelson 7011, New Zealand (Formerly Four Seasons Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $89 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pancake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pancake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay